We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick spa break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quick spa break”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Spa facilities very good, had a luscious time being pampered. Hotel good, clean, welcoming and easy to find. Staff very helpful but food only average, chicken rather dry and frozen chips...not good enough for £15. Room fabulous and facilities all I could need

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    311
    329
    256
    311
See reviews for
270
533
94
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nice enough for an overnight before an early flight but in general the condition is poor both in the rooms and the general areas. It could do with a good refit for the price that they charge. The staff are very helpful. The breakfast tasted like everything was fried in fish oil and was pretty ropy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This is the best stay and fly airport hotel in the area in our opinion. It is clean, staff are friendly and it's location is good.

The best part is, that you do not hear aircraft flying over the top of you like you usually can in airport hotels so we had a really good nights sleep.

The pool area is really nice to. An added bonus!!!!!

Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caraandpaul2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Maybe it was my fault for booking through Olotels.com but many things accounted for this terrible review.

1. Upon arrival, we check in no problem but then couldn't find our room. When we finally do, we have to drag a ton of baggage up a flight of stairs because there is no elevator that reaches our room. Talk about being out of disability law compliance. (We had a lot of luggage from traveling for 2 weeks)

2. We get into the room to see 2 twin beds, when I specially asked for a standard room. There was nothing the front desk could do (and apparently simple customer service solutions like free wi-fi or room service was out of the question.)

3. Not only we're we in a twin room, but worst of all. It was 29 degrees c or close to 85 degrees F in there when we got there... And the radiator was broken. My husband had to get out my nail kit and a toothbrush in an attempt to fix it as, of course, the front desk person's solution to the problem was a fan and a "I'm sorry" and still no offer to switch rooms.

4. The least of the issues was the appalling lack of amenities in the room. Want a hair dryer? Ask the front desk? A q-Tip? Same. I wasn't expecting the world at the rate we booked at but I was expecting more than signs littering our room saying "Call the Front Desk for..."

All of these issues and a hotel that calls itself an "airport" hotel despite no shuttle and being 15 minutes away is not worth your time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Booked a one night’s stay and must say with some trepidation reading reviews here. Our first choice was the Crown Plaza which was unavailable, however now having stayed at both properties would choose the Holiday Inn over the Crown Plaza.

Met with a very warm welcome on what was a very busy time for the hotel lots of people about, but the receptionist was cheery and professional. Welcomed as a Platinum member and told our room had been upgraded, good start all round.

Our room which was on the ground floor was spacious, if on the chilly side but soon warmed up. Furniture a little dated but overall in good condition, all you needed in what was clearly a refurbished room (but could perhaps do a little more), clean apart from the carpet maybe benefiting from a change/deep clean. Bed/pillows and bedding fine (better than the Crown Plaza) and a good nights sleep was had. WI/FI free to Platinum members which was a bit slow.

Bathroom, although mentioned by others could do with some TLC was on the whole clean and tidy with plenty of amenities available and good supply of large towels, shower fine as well.

We spoke again to the helpful reception staff regarding a place to eat, and gave us directions. Upon return we went to the bar for a drink, but must say some of the staff here were less than friendly without even speaking to me at all or even looking at me when serving drinks, perhaps a language problem?

Our room cost included b/fast which for the price paid was fine, if you just wanted basic fodder and a drink, had much worse for a lot more money at other HI properties. But again the serving staff here were friendly and welcoming.

Not much noise from other guests which was good but as expected near an airport early traffic noise and comings and goings but overall quiet.

All in all we were very happy with our stay and would use again especially considering the cost and would choose over the Crown Plaza at the airport itself based upon value for money comfort and a nice warm welcome!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hotel is decent and has friendly staff. Free wifi is only available to the members. Hotel is not on the airport complex and Airport transfer is not free. Food is good. Park & fly offers are available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajpal157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MULLINGAR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I had the serious missfortune to be booked in to this hotel by a colleague who had arranged a meeting close by. On arrival, all seemed good with e freindly, helpful desk manager however, as soon as we headed for our third floor rooms, it was apparent that the place is old and very 'tired'. The room was cramped and despite a large radiator, was still too cold for comfort. The bathroom was reasonabley clean but with paint flaking arounf the bottome of the bath panel.

The place is clearly run for the convenience of the staff as opposed to the guests as my next two points highlight. Firstly, the restaurant claims to be open until 10pm however, at 9 30pm we were hassled by a waitress to pay as, 'they were chashing-up'. After this a visit to the bar revealed that no draught beer was available as the staff were engaged in clening the lines, at 10pm on a busy night??

These is no way this hotel should be branded as a Holiday Inn as it gives a totally missleading impression of what to expect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Jon L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear your positive feedback on our front office staff. The Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Wilmslow is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I am sorry that the condition of your room and the restaurant service did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.9 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#66 of 118 in Manchester
1,296 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Property: The Airport Inn Manchester
Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn
The Airport Inn Manchester Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing