We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a night”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed for one night before an early flight from Manchester Airport. Free parking was available for one night without prebooking. Good value and location for the airport although the airport transfers at £6 per person were pricey in my opinion, because the airport is so close. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff nice and friendly. Bar area and restaurant looked nice although we didn't eat here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenleeparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    311
    331
    257
    312
See reviews for
272
534
94
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Several of my friends and I stayed at this hotel for the night.
The FD staff has very helpful and quick to explain all of the hotel amenities.
My room was very large and well decorated; this hotel is new or recently went under a major renovation since everything in the room looked top quality and very new.
The bed was very comfortable and lots of towel in the bathroom.
One of friends got a Jacuzzi suite and it was beautiful and large. I wanted one but they were sold out. Breakfast the next morning was well received, with lots of pastries and fruits, a few hot items but I did not have any.
The breakfast room was large with a double sided fireplace and lots of chairs and sofas to enjoy the food or for us the Winter Olympics.
Great place to stay for the night or a weekend, very affordable as well.

Room Tip: Stay at a jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely garbage.
Dirty rooms
Dirty corridors
Over priced
Wouldn't recommend unless you were absolutely desperate
By the time you have your cases in the room, you can't move
Bathroom okay if your less than 5 foot and a size zero
All in all.
Rubbish

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MC_Yorkshire50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a family room for 4 before early flight and can not complain about anything. Fast check in. Great pool. Ate in restaurant 2 courses for 2 including glass of wine £30. Airport transfers quick and trouble free. Secure parking. Would we stay again... Yes and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobytykeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I booked to stay at this hotel in January 2014, via the Holiday Inn website. A few days later it became a Britannia Hotel, so we stayed there just as it had changed over. The room was on the ground floor and was really nice - massive bed, sofa, good size bathroom, clean, airy. The breakfast is self serve cooked & continental with a reasonable range of food. All in all a good stay for 1 night.

On the second occasion we stayed there in February, and were located in a room on the second floor. As others have said, some of the rooms are very small indeed. The double bed touched the wall on one side of the room in order to fit it in. There was a chair to sit in, but you couldn't do anything in the room other than sleep. Unfortunately it was also really really hot. This part of the hotel was at complete odds to where we had stayed in January - like a different hotel. It seems as if one part is modern and refurbished, whilst the other is dated and cramped. As it is a Britannia hotel now, you have to pay for breakfast separately. Breakfast was the same as in January.

Room 1 would be great for a multi-day trip, room 2 is only ok for a quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is now a Britannia hotel for the last month or so. We got a good deal for 1 night dinner/ bed and breakfast plus leisure club for ourselves plus 6 yr old grandson. Unfortunately the reception/restaurant staff didn't seem to know of this offer and kept trying to charge us for meals and entry to leisure club. Good job I had printed the deal out to show them. The room was ok, although they at first gave us a room with one big bed, soon moved us to another room with sofa bed which they came and put out for us. The room was disappointing, in that it did not resemble any of the professional photos(surprise). For one night it was ok although the high level shower head was not working, but there was one from the taps lower down, but couldn't stand up and shower unless you held the shower head. Big bath towels. The food was ok, the grandson enjoyed choosing from the childrens menu, which was on the back of a monkey mask to colour in, although we had to ask for crayons for him to do so. It didn't seem particularly child friendly and I think our grandson was the only child in the hotel. Restaurant staff weren't at all friendly. Restaurant was very pleasant surroundings. We enjoyed going for a swim even though half the pool was cordoned off for childrens swimming lessons. I understand there is now a £5 charge to use the leisure club. We booked on line directly with the hotel and got a very cheap deal, wouldn't have liked to pay any more. It needs money spending on the rooms and to improve the unfriendly restaurant staff. We then went off to visit LEGOLAND at the Trafford Centre, although as this is an airport hotel, I suspect most people would be catching flights.

Room Tip: In our experience they took no notice of our special request for a room suitable for grandparents an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50something3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Cannot remember the last time I stayed in a room so small, we dined in the restaurant at night shame the food was not a match to the service wine in the bar is priced as if you were in one of the top london hotels not on the side of a road near an airport, eat and drink before you stop here wish we had

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank thedon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.9 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 118 in Manchester
1,299 reviews
5.2 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Property: The Airport Inn Manchester
Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn
The Airport Inn Manchester Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing