We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small,disappointing room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small,disappointing room.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Although staff were friendly and the hotel was clean, we are so disappointed with the room. On the third floor and the lift only goes to the second floor! The room is tiny with a three quarter bed tight against a wall because there is so little space. Pool £5 per person. Never written a poor review before. So disappointed, wanted a restful night before our flight...no chance, feel penned in.

Room Tip: Check you're not on a floor with lift access and that you have at least room to swing a mouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    304
    317
    251
    304
See reviews for
260
520
89
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We needed somewhere to stay before an early flight, this seemed ideal as we would be able to leave the car and use their taxi transfer service. The room was ok, clean and comfortable - served its purpose, as did the bathroom. Take your own shampoo and shower gel as only little bar of soap is provided - rather mean. As other reviewer has said. the staff do an awful lot of chatting amongst themselves but were pleasant enough if you could attract their attention! We booked transport to airport for 7 a.m. and made the effort to be downstairs with our luggage in good time, but the minibus did not arrive until 7.10, and did not leave until 7.25 after unexplained faffing about and waiting for numerous other passengers who arrived in dribs and drabs. EXTREMELY ANNOYING. No explanation, no apologies. On our way back the taxi stopped a little way away from the drop off point as some considerate person was waiting there in a car - we didn't know where he would stop or what the vehicle would look like but did the driver leave his seat to call us? Not a chance. I don't know what would have happened if we hadn't asked. Again, no apology, totally charmless. We had the right number for the exits from the carparks, though the bloke in front hadn't - we were able to tell him the numbers we had.
I don't think we'll be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norton850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington (uk)
Level Contributor
172 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I had stayed at this hotel a few times over the past few years whilst it was a Holiday Inn and it was always OK for a one night stay and parking. It seems the hotel has gone into a bit of decline over the past year or so and has been taken on by Britannia, and from my experience Britannia appear to take declining hotels and then let them decline further squeezing out the remaining profit. This did nothing to change my opinion.

On arrival the check in was not too good, the gentleman behind at reception gave me my room key, but explained nothing about the car parking or airport transfer service until I prompted it. I asked for a wake-up call at 4.00am which never came until 4.30 (thankfully we were up anyway, had we relied on that we may have been cutting fine to get to our fight) and the car park exit code he gave me never worked on my return.

The room itself served its purpose but was well worn as is the hotel in general, as I say on a downward spiral.

We went to the bar and I wish I hadn’t bothered as the bar staff are clearly not properly trained either, after ordering a pint of beer the guy went to the tap which just sprayed out froth and instead of going to get another glass simply filled the half frothy glass up from another tap swilled the beer around and filled it again (I realise this may appear to be a pointless moan but the fact is it does rather spoil the beer).

Throughout I found the staff to be rather dis-interested in the customers and happy to stand around talking about the night out with their mates and so on. This was certainly true on my return when I got stuck at the car park barrier and went in to ask for the code, I must have been invisibly stood at reception for a good few minutes whilst the two receptionists finished gassing about celebrity mags and so on.

On the whole this was a decent hotel at one point but I won’t be returning and indeed will avoid Britannia hotels until they sort out they race to the bottom approach to business.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Luckily booked via Expedia Deep Discount otherwise I would have been somewhat disgruntled.

Clean place but room a bit small. Staff friendly but disorganised. Check in slow and wrong.

Didn't have my details correct although it was prepaid.

Bar food good but a bit expensive and staff didn't know how to use a debit card. To be fair the girl was friendly and in her first week so where was her supervisor.

Good location and parking. OK for one night but that's about all

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at this before our 1 week holiday to tunisia ,we had an early flight so it was ideal able to park the car in the price enjoyed a fantastic meal in the restaurant will definitely use the hotel free taxi to and from airport check it out

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Chaos at check in - first impression was the the last impression. Receptionist let two people push in front of me in the que whilst not even acknowledging people were getting frutrated - when the phone rang she answered it Holiday Inn (the previous occupant of the site) when it was eventually our turn the hotel had no confirmation and it apparently wasn't her fault that I booked third party and it was my issue to sort, not great service. Thankfully after being in the line for nearly 45 minutes the Reservations Manager (who should come out more as her presence would undoubtedly improve the FOH experience!) came to the Receptionists rescue and promptly checked us in and offered to sort everything out. The rooms are very tired and with a bit of TLC the hotel could be something really nice. Yes the room rates are good - but for the similar price the Premier Inn's on the Cargo Centre are cleaner, fresher, more up to date and better value than this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
158 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

From a fairly cheerless "welcome", a tiny bathroom and a problem with my bill on check out - and over £7 for a lukewarm glass of wine in the bar - nothing would induce me to come back here.

Room £85 b & b - quite cheap - £8 taxi to airport also ok.

There are better options

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuwariahBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.7 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
1.9 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Property: The Airport Inn Manchester
Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn
The Airport Inn Manchester Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing