We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, double booked our room and put us up in an even worse hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked to stay in this hotel in Feb 2014. When we arrived the staff advised us that due to a computer problem that day our room had been given to someone else. We did not arrive until the evening as we had been at work.

What we did not believe is that if the computer had only gone faulty that day random, people would not be coming up to what is primarily an airport hotel without a booking. A number of other people were in the same predicament as us.

What we think happened is that some flights had been cancelled and as a number of rooms had not been taken by the evening, as we were still travelling there, ours and a few other customers rooms had been given away.

They had to organise a number of taxis to ferry us to one of their sister hotels, the Brittania. This was awful, small rooms, dodgy shower, torn seats in the bar area. It was alot further away from the airport.

I complained when I got back and wanted a refund of the difference in price and they refused to do so.

I would avoid these hotels and this chain, they might be cheap but its just not worth it. I would spend an extra £20 and get a much better value hotel.

Room Tip: There aren't any at The Brittania
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Si17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Bedroom was boiling hot with heating on full in May. Restaurant was pub food standard and they hardly had anything that was on the menu. Staff didn't bother to give us our wake-up call neither did they bother to order our taxi to the airport; even when asked again to book the taxi 20 mins before we were due to get picked up the staff didn't bother and I had to book it myself. Apparently it was my fault because the staff didn't know which room I was in- in spite of the request being in writing along with my name, email and phone number!!! Pay the extra £30 and go to the Marriott instead- there they understand the concept of service.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stopped here for one night prior to our flight. We had a pleasant night and had parking included and a taxi to/from airport included in price. Staff were polite, can recommond and will return on our next holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelJo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for one night as wedding guest and something was wrong at every turn. The bride had to book our room for us as they never answer the phone. The room was lacking in cleanliness, big mold patch above the window and the bathroom light was stuck on, better than it being stuck off I suppose! But the biggest problem with this place by a mile was the food. If its not the full sized fish that was served to a two year old that shocks you, how about the stone cold beans at breakfast? Don't bother trying to complain as the staff don't give a damn, I imagine they have heard it all before. Last but by no means least, it took us half an hour to leave because they kept giving us the wrong code for the car park barrier! AVOID!!!

Room Tip: A tip for a better room? Yeah, find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Brides to be, if you are thinking of booking this hotel for your dream wedding, beware of the following before and during your big day. This is only a small edited list of the problems we had.

Telephones that are never answered. Phone calls that are never returned if you are lucky enough to get to speak to someone. Staff who say one thing but mean something totally different. Waiters who spend time texting instead of serving. Ordered meals that don’t appear. Cold cups of coffee and dishwater tea. Wedding co-ordinators (who are really just sales reps) who say they are going to be with you throughout the day then disappear. In reality what you get is a waitress in a grubby Britannia hotel uniform for the day.
Also be aware that the price of the room for your guests to stay over will be much higher than the price you were originally quoted for your block bookings (that’s assuming reception staff can even find the code guests were given to use in the first place).

All in all far from the stress free wonderful day advertised in the hotel’s wedding section.

While some complimentary wine was available at the evening by way of an apology (we had to ask for glasses to go with it), it by no means made up for the many things that went wrong that marred the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 844JHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Booked a double and a twin, got two doubles, had to change one room. Very small rooms, lots of noise all night from other guests. Returned after holidays to find damage to car. Still trying to get answers and reimbursement weeks later. No response from them at all.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the front entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Water3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

"It's only 1 night for airport convenience..." were the thoughts of my wife and I after reading the negative reviews on here and booked one night stay and a weeks parking at the Airport Inn (formerly the Holiday Inn). When we arrived it looked nice enough from the outside - and the check in desk all seemed fine, clean etc. It was only when we took off to find our room that the hotel takes a dramatic turn. Leaving through the reception doors into the corridor is like a different hotel, the corridors smelt really damp and moldy and the decor was dated, dirty dark carpets etc. Upon finding our room down a very narrow dark corridor it was absolutely tiny. You could only get in and out of the bed from one side, and the bathroom could only hold one person at a time. The curtains and furniture were dirty, but the saving grace was that the bed seemed clean enough, despite being uncomfortable. Neither my wife nor I slept well and wished we had spent the extra £15 going elsewhere!
Small saving grace was that pool area was nice - although this is an extra £5 per person to use.
There is a lovely pub a 10 minute walk up the hill, called The HoneyBee, don't waste your money at the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room not on the 3rd floor, as the lift only goes to the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.9 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 120 in Manchester
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range: £51 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn
The Airport Inn Manchester Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing