We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Having booked several months ago and reading the reviews previously although not perfect it was reasonable. we were looking forward to a relaxing evening before flying early next morning.however on arrival at the hotel and with no parking anywhere I went inside to query where to park only to be told that because of a visit by the local fire officers we were being moved to a sister hotel due to being overbooked.no apologies just a piece of paper and a postcode. We then put sat nav on and went to the address. on arrival we were told not this hotel it's our other one. by this time were ready to abandon hotel and book elsewhere. finally arriving at the hotel we were met with several irate guests checking in so guess
this is the norm. If they had taken the courtesy and sent a text or rang prior to arrival it would have been much appreciated but obviously it's a ploy to over book then they can send the rest to their sister hotels. next time will definitely book a more professional hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank yfs360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked this hotel with a weeks parking only to arrive to be told there were no spaces available. After two hours we managed to get in the short stay car park but only because we drive an I10. The customer service in the hotel is non existent. It took 15 minutes to be served at the bar despite us being the only ones there and three staff were stood about doing nothing. The restaurant was full despite reception saying we could go in when we like. A gentleman on reception booked us a taxi into Wilmslow however when club cars asked if it was through them the lady on reception claimed they had not called one for us. Finally on returning to the hotel we were advised we could obtain a drink if we preauthorised a credit card, however, they shut the bar whilst we were arranging this. Would also like to point out this is not secure parking as the barriers are always up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Not a good way to start a holiday!!!

A busy car park is often the sign of a good establishment ......but here we were met with a chaotic car park with cars effectively abandoned everywhere which actually summed up this place pretty well.

Lots of young staff really trying their best but with no real management to be seen results in chaos in every part of hotel

The rooms themselves were fine but the soundproofing isn't so if you want a quiet nights sleep this isn't the place to stay

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked a one night stay here, intending to leave our car while away on holiday. We arrived late evening - tired - to be told that because of some health and safety problem the long stay car park was not operating. However, "if we could find a parking space outside we could stay there, if not we had to relocateto another (specifed) hotel. Needless to say there was nowhere to park so we had to set off late at night to find the other hotel. (We were given instructions).
My grumble is the lack of concern that they were just casting us adrift. They took no resposibility for the cancellation and did not inform us beforehand that there was a problem. Obviously, they hoped we'd find somewhere to park so they could collect the money.
I shall be complaining to the Travel Agent which booked us in and seeking a refund for this, particularly as the hotel we were sent to was inferior.
Won't stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

No sleep all night. Small double - leg touched wall. Noise up and down the corridor all night. Staff seemed nice and willing but totally overwhelmed. Understaffed. Rip off breakfast!!! The worst of all is the lack of manager to complain to - he was obviously off somewhere enjoying his bank holiday weekend. Still no response to complaints so no recourse but to write here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LRBH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

When we arrived we could not see any parking spaces. Went to reception who advised us to park anywhere we could. My husband had to park on a curb with the intentions of moving it in the morning before we set off to the airport.
The check in process was quick for us as we arrived at around 4pm. Rooms were ok, we had a double bed and the children were sleeping on a double sofa bed.
We booked into the restaurant for 8:30 but as soon as we were seated we were told the food would be 45 mins as they were so busy. Our kids were bored we asked if they had any crayons for the children to colour in the menu they gave them, but they didnt have any.
When the food came it was average and not worth waiting 45 mins for.

In the morning my husband went down to move the car in to a parking space to find even more cars scattered anywhere possible in the car park. The transfer is provided by a local tax firm which was fine.

My husband was worried about his car all holiday. I presumed that there must be a flight returning the day we fly out to allow more spaces. But on our return we found the car park in just the same state as when we left. Luckily our car was ok and not damaged by other cars trying to park.

I booked this hotel thinking as it was specific for guests going on holiday and needing parking they would meet these requirements. But next time Ill book a hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedubya20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

having stayed at this hotel before when it was Wilmslow Moat House and then the Holiday Inn we booked again to stay the night before flying on holiday and leaving our car their for the duration of our holiday in the past cars left for holiday parking were parked at the back of the hotel behind security barriers but when we arrived we joined a que of other cars all looking for spaces cars were parked or should I say abandoned anywhere we ended parking in a little lane next to the Hotel and their we had to leave it while we were away not very secure I must say on our return today we just got in our car and drove away I will leave you to decide how secure parking that is but we will not be going again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.9 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn
The Airport Inn Manchester Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing