We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Reviewed 25 May 2014

So this review may not be a valid one as we were forced to cancel before we actually got there. We booked for one night pre-holiday with 2 weeks parking on site back in March. As we are travelling with four children we couldn't be bothered with the hassle of finding a space in the hellish airport car parks, bundling kids and luggage on and off busses etc, so it seemed perfect. Until yesterday, when we are told that they have 'overbooked' their car park so we would be required to park in jet parks plus. They even managed to make it sound like they were doing us a favour by not charging us extra! Cheeky beggars! How exactly can a hotel overbook their car park? I n fairness, reading the most recent reviews I'm actually quite glad I cancelled.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank paula1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay with ten nights parking, to catch an early flight. When arrived there were cars parked on double yellow lines outside the recption and all parks full.
My wife went into the reception to ask about parking, and was told that there was a confrence on untill 5pm, there would be plenty parks after that had finished, Not so. Every 45mins i drove round the car park down into the woods behind the hotel where there were more parks in a flooded area but all full. People had parked up anywere on the grass verges and on corners, which made it nearly impossible to turn round.
Eventually i got a park in the short stay park at the front of the hotel after being there 3 hours.. Told the recption they asked me to use the long stay park !.More hassle, then they agreed i could leave the car there.
Then we went for a meal which we had booked when we arrived, the resteraunt had not had the information passed to them from the reception,we were asked to wait for 30mins as they were full.
After hassle we were allowed in. Meal poor, wine cheap,service slow.
Glad to get away next morning.Taxi transfers good and on time. Rooms average, staff horrible, don't even think about staying there. It all got better when we left the hotel and had a great holiday.
On our return just got into the car and drove away, how secure was that car park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is now a Brittania Inn hotel and I unfortunately had to stay here 2 nights for a training workshop and would have been as well in the departure lounge at Manchester airport. The hotel offers deals to holidaymakers to stay and park their cars before going on holiday. As a result the coming and going is non stop,taxis minibuses arriving throughout the night with doors banging and tired kids. They have leisure facilities but don't tell you it costs £5 to use them ! I used the pool and was horrified when the girls taking the swimming class drop a bottle of shampoo which spilled out them walked away and left the poolside slippy. The bar lounge was full both nights with people waiting with luggage for buses or taxis.
As a corporate customer I won't be back the facilities are ok but the staff were nowhere to be seen you had to hunt them out. Who wants to hold an event where delegates can't get parked. Shame, as a previous Holiday Inn it was well ripen.

Room Tip: As far away from reception as possible and def not above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougiedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

..seems i'm in a minority for this hotel, however I speak as I find - booked 2niights b&b midweek for work purposes, £100 special late discount on t'internet. No probs with any car parking & good check in. Room met expectations for price we paid, early start 1st morning but at least some cereal & toast available, juice very nice too. Transfer to airport on time using voucher system & arrived promptly on return after ringing supplied number on ticket. Bar had shut when I got back but young lad on reception sorted me a couple of pints;-) I was able to have the proper hot full English the next morning, lovely fresh tasting sausages, good quality back bacon, m/rooms etc.. Would happily return & recommend for price paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-roy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Having booked several months ago and reading the reviews previously although not perfect it was reasonable. we were looking forward to a relaxing evening before flying early next morning.however on arrival at the hotel and with no parking anywhere I went inside to query where to park only to be told that because of a visit by the local fire officers we were being moved to a sister hotel due to being overbooked.no apologies just a piece of paper and a postcode. We then put sat nav on and went to the address. on arrival we were told not this hotel it's our other one. by this time were ready to abandon hotel and book elsewhere. finally arriving at the hotel we were met with several irate guests checking in so guess
this is the norm. If they had taken the courtesy and sent a text or rang prior to arrival it would have been much appreciated but obviously it's a ploy to over book then they can send the rest to their sister hotels. next time will definitely book a more professional hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank yfs360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked this hotel with a weeks parking only to arrive to be told there were no spaces available. After two hours we managed to get in the short stay car park but only because we drive an I10. The customer service in the hotel is non existent. It took 15 minutes to be served at the bar despite us being the only ones there and three staff were stood about doing nothing. The restaurant was full despite reception saying we could go in when we like. A gentleman on reception booked us a taxi into Wilmslow however when club cars asked if it was through them the lady on reception claimed they had not called one for us. Finally on returning to the hotel we were advised we could obtain a drink if we preauthorised a credit card, however, they shut the bar whilst we were arranging this. Would also like to point out this is not secure parking as the barriers are always up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Not a good way to start a holiday!!!

A busy car park is often the sign of a good establishment ......but here we were met with a chaotic car park with cars effectively abandoned everywhere which actually summed up this place pretty well.

Lots of young staff really trying their best but with no real management to be seen results in chaos in every part of hotel

The rooms themselves were fine but the soundproofing isn't so if you want a quiet nights sleep this isn't the place to stay

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range: £47 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn
The Airport Inn Manchester Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing