We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Horrible. ”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Possibly the worst hotel I've ever stopped at.
Booked to park our car for a week before returning for an overnight stay.
We arrived at hotel to find cars parked everywhere and anywhere. I asked reception where we should park & they said to try and park on the grass which I think is disgusting as we had paid money to park our car here whilst on holiday. The reception staff didn't seem to know anything about the parking situation and a porter had to direct us. We had to use the exit gate to enter the 'secure' car park. There are no cameras anywhere to be seen and staff didn't seem bothered when I asked if they needed my car registration or any details so I'm not sure how they know whose parking.
On return from our holiday we arrived at hotel at 2am. Our room was tiny and due a refurb. There were stains on carpets and walls. The bathroom was dirty and the glasses in the bathroom were smashed.
When asked if we could get a drink we could only gave water. There was no where to get a snack or soft drink which you'd expect in an airport hotel when people are arriving at every hour.
I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    311
    331
    257
    312
See reviews for
272
534
94
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,046 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 654 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Last night in Manchester before tripping back to Australia. We didn't have a car so parking was not a issue. The check in and out was ok, but this was mid week so weekends may differ. Rooms clean and beds comfy. The food was a bit expensive for pretty bland affair.
Overall OK, if you fly in then don't pick up a rental till the next day so parking no issue.

Room Tip: not near the noisy elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked a Park and Stay package here in May 2014. We holidayed first and stayed overnight at the end of our holiday. We arrived to find long queues in Reception as the car park barriers had broken down and customers trying to both enter and leave were unable to do either. Fortunately, we found an area of car park where the barrier had stuck at open.
We returned at midnight from holiday, only to be told that we'd have to be transferred to a different hotel! After a chat with the desk clerk, we realised that this applied only to incoming customers. Britannia had greatly overbooked the hotel's parking spaces, with cars parked on every available grass verge around the building. It was chaos. The desk clerk kindly found us a room, despite orders to move us to another hotel, and we managed to get some rest. On both occasions, the desk clerks tried their best to solve a problem which wasn't of their making, and deal with some very fractious customers.
Oh to have Holiday Inn in charge of this hotel once again! We have stayed here on many occasions, using Holiday Inn's Park and Stay facility -but not any more! Get your act together, Britannia Hotels!
We won't return.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yorkshire_Lass2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked this hotel on holiday extras, one nights stay with secure parking what a joke. We arrived just after 2 pm a friend was following us we got the last 2 parking spaces at the front of the hotel. We booked in which took a while as only one member of staff on duty. Her attitude was anything but helpful, we asked about moving our cars to the long term parking area we was told its full as we have a big conference on at the hotel and when they leave at 5pm then space will become free. We went to our room on the third floor, the lift only goes up to the second floor. The room was small but clean, our room was at the rear of the hotel which overlooked the secure parking area, we could see it was jam packed full with people driving around with no where to park. When I booked the hotel I looked it up on Google earth and saw a small parking area right at the back up a small incline so I moved my car and found this area, it had 2 spaces left so I parked my car. When I got back to reception about 10 people were all compiling about no parking being available, they got told the same as we did that they had a big conference on at the hotel. I went to reception at 5pm to book a table for our meal and for the transfer in the morning. I saw the big conference leave a total of 8 people left they created all of 4 parking spaces at the front of the hotel. So much for lots of spaces becoming free at 5pm, no cars came out of the secure long term area. When I asked I was told oh we are told to say that if customers are complaining we are always over booked for spaces.
We went down for over evening meal and got told no booking had been made and we would had to wait 30 to 45 minutes despite tables being free, I did at this point complani, suddenly the member of staff could not understand English. I went to reception and made my feelings known, the restaurant supervisor came to see us thank the Lord she was at the hotel when it was owned by Holiday inn not Brittana, so we so polite and very helpful, we got a table.
The service was very good and the food was excellent we had a very meal with wine.

The staff at breakfast were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, when we booked it stated breakfast from 4am with hot at 6am this is not the case cold came out around 5.15 and hot at 6am. The food was good.

Transfers to and from the airport we OK. When we got back to collect our car the parking was even more full with one side of the road to the long term area being full of cars, car parked under the rear barriers, on double yellow line areas, When you think it can't get any worse it looked it did.

So beware parking is not garrenteed and staff Lie too you.

Room Tip: Don't use parking is not garrenteed and very hard to find a space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire uk
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

There are so many comments on here about the parking situation at the hotel, that I felt it was time to add our own. As regular, paying gym members we have had several weeks where we have been unable to park anywhere near the hotel due to Britannia now selling the car parking spaces to people going on holiday. We raised this issue with Britannia' s area manager and sent her several photographs illustrating the problem. (Attached) Her only response in two weeks has been;

‘thank you for your input'.

Gym staff are great and it is not their fault, but what was once a lovely 'Holiday Inn' hotel has now become, very suddenly, like every other Britannia hotel, a hotel that has little regard for its customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheshireUkNero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed one night with free parking very good price compared with meet and greet option I normally take. This could be a superb hotel but lack of staff means long waiting times to be served especially when checking in and out. Rooms clean and beds comfy did not use restaurant as seemed expensive for simple meals.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royboy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in a lot all over the world. Initially, parking was a nightmare, overcrowded carpark and cars just dumped everywhere.
The hotel itself is dated and unloved, the floor was stained in many places, the bathroom was tiny, almost hazardously tiny and the facilities were as basic as they get. Thankfully at least the bed was clean and comfy.
The final straw however was that for some reason that they couldn't or wouldn't explain we weren't able keep our car there for the week we had paid for, and had to drive to the airport carpark (jetpark plus) in the morning and get the bus in from there.
This was not the relaxing start to a holiday I was looking forward to and will never even consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.9 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#66 of 118 in Manchester
1,298 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Property: The Airport Inn Manchester
Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn
The Airport Inn Manchester Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing