We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nobody does it better ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stanneylands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stanneylands
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Poynton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nobody does it better ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We got married and had our Reception at Stanneylands and could not fault the location, service and atmosphere created for our special day. Eamon and Liz helped us plan and personalise our day and nothing seemed too much trouble for them in meetings in the run up. Liz ensured no detail went amiss and everything ran smoothly on our big day, with Eamon at the helm - guests were shephered, timings were kept to and his calm manner meant our nerves were soothed.
Our ceromony was held in the Oak Suite and it was perfect for our small family wedding of 30 people. While photos were being taken in the beautiful wooded grounds, the room was transformed into a beautiful reception room. One oval table seated us all. The food and the service was fantastic.
We do not hestitate in recommending Stanneylands as a venue for anyone's wedding.

Room Tip: Bridal suite was amazing. Lots of room to get ready for the bride and her entourage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneTrickPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Stanneylands Hotel. We are all delighted to read your comments we have a fantastic team here at the Stanneylands and to read your review makes it all worth while.
I look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your anniversary next year.

Kind Regards
Sarah Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    177
    101
    60
    27
See reviews for
121
274
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have recently been planning our wedding and decided to hold it at the stanneylands due to the helpful and friendly staff, and the wonderful bright clean atmosphere. We have been planning our day with Liz and eamon at the hotel for the past 12months and we could not ask for anymore from them. They have always been helpful and any request was completed without question. Our stay at the hotel has been amazing,beautiful rooms, excellent food and a service like no other. We would not hesitate to recommend the hotel or to return, and even if we won the lottery we would not change a single thing about our day, including the venue. The staff offer a very personal service and we cannot thank them enough. Don't hesitate,go and see Liz and eamon and you will understand,they are The best!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l13wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review of the Stanneylands Hotel. I am delighted you had such a wonderful day, we pride ourselves with the attentive service that matches our happy couples and their family and friends. I will of course pass on your lovey comments to Liz, Eamonn and the rest of the team.
I hope to see you back at the hotel for your anniversary.

Kind Regards
Sarah Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A little tatty around the edges. Doesn't really live up to it's 4* listing.
One of those places that when you look at the carpet you can see that the vacuum cleaner hasn't got to a strip around the skirting board about 10mm wide and nobody has bothered to rectify this in recent weeks. Empty milk container wedged on the radiator pipe in the bathroom. Very draughty old fashioned windows and flaking paint on the bedroom windowsill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor. I do value all feedback and take on board all comments you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel in a double room on a saturday evening for a relaxing night away ,had a lovely time!

The room was modern and lots of space. Breakfast was a treat, plenty of choice and cooked breakfast served fresh to order ...much better than canteen style!

Bar staff very nice and the set eveing meal was DIVINE! me and my husband were suprised at the quality of the food and the choices! Felt like in a posh resturaunt!

Would Recommend and will be back !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisamaryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Stanneylands Hotel. I will ensure your kind words are relayed to my team.
Thank you again and i look forward to welcoming you back to the Stanneylands soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

A throughly enjoyable 2 night stay! The hotel was very welcoming and accomodating to our needs, 1 infant, and three dietary requirements! The accomodation was very clean and roomy, even with a travel cot! The breakfast had a wide variety so all dietry requirements were met! On a previous visit we have also had a 3 course Sunday Lunch which was fabulous and again, catered easily for an Infant, a Vegetarian and a "fussy" eater! We have on all visits been made to feel welcome - which is not always easy with an active infant! We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted you enjoyed your family get together.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Yet another example of a hotel that charges a great deal of money, describes themselves in glowing terms and two seconds through the door you know you've wasted your hard earned money.
This is not a country house hotel, it is not four star and there is a chasm bewtween the web site description and reality. I am fed up with being hood winked.it is not acceptable.
My initial ground floor room smelt very strongly and was very dark. I requested another room that was better but still woeful, depression set in.
It is about time that the bodies responsible for starring stopped awarding stars to hotels that give you 10ml of cheap shampoo and look at the decor, ambience and atmosphere. They need to be on the customer's side not the side of the hoteliers.


I agree with other reviewers, the lady on reception was very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback it is good to hear your comments regarding our reception team. How ever it is disappointing to hear of your dissatisfaction with your bedroom and the hotel. We are only sorry that you did not bring this to our attention during your stay to allow us the opportunity to rectify the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanesborough, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Istayed here for a night, it is advertised as a four star hotel but im afraid all that four star is the price. bedroom was simular to my local two star room, cramped and old fashioned, extremely noisey from corridor. Reminds me of a b and b in southend. food was edible but not great, i know im irish and the level of hotels here is far superior to england but i was expecting a lot more. Think ye need to do the simple things right and ye may improve.

Room Tip: ask for the new section of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtomflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
3.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanneylands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanneylands

Property: The Stanneylands
Address: Stanneylands Road, Wilmslow SK9 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stanneylands 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please bear with us as we undergo our transformation. The doors will re open Easter 2017 at which time the red carpet will be out to welcome you to the next chapter of The Stanneylands Hotel. Bookings are being taken for guests wishing to stay with us, dine with us, drink with us and celebrate weddings or gatherings from the 10th April 2017. The award-winning 4 Star Stanneylands Country House Hotel Cheshire is the perfect place to stay with 54 comfortable bedrooms including suites, executive accommodation and fine dining in our 2 AA Rosette Restaurant plus the contemporary Lounge & Bar offering all day dining and afternoon tea, plus Sky & BT Sports for those not wishing to miss out on the "Big Event." Stanneylands is the epitome of style and service. Located in tranquil countryside only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and offering a unique combination of comfort and relaxation along with first class hospitality. The Stanneylands boasts a variety of event space ideal for conferencing, presentations, private dining and family celebrations, not to mention the ideal location for an unforgettable wedding. Our experienced event staff will take you through every step ensuring the smooth running of your special event. Our Cheshire country hotel is renowned for its décor and attention to detail. Tastefully furnished with classic elegant décor, each room is designed to achieve maximum comfort and style, in addition to meeting modern requirements, such as direct dial telephones, Freeview television and complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel ensuring our guests return to us again and again delighted with the level of service, high quality rooms and award-wining cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stanneylands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanneylands Hotel Wilmslow
The Stanneylands Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing