We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Expected Better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stanneylands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stanneylands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding party and I really would have expected more. Finding the main entrance was a little confusing to start with, and once we got in the staff could have been a little bit less familiar and a little bit more professional. The room was cold and the decor dated. We did get to see the bridal suite and a could of the other "important guest" rooms in the newer extension to the building and these were of a better standard, although really (for the cost of a room) even they were what I would expect as standard not as an upgrade. Considering as a party how much we brought to the hotel I would have expected a more welcoming and gracious approach from the staff and I certainly didn't expect to get charged twice!! We did get our money back quite quickly when we highlighted the mistake however it really is not what you expect. Unless invited to another wedding, I will not be going back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i12sneeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    175
    101
    60
    24
See reviews for
118
269
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
-
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had a discounted deal for the champagne afternoon tea on a Saturday, andB and B via 'TravelZoo', but we also booked evening meal. The staff were very friendly and obliging.
We had a very pleasant room overlooking the driveway and the wooded garden - no problems with room.
We enjoyed a very relaxing afternoon with the champagne tea,and papers on a very wet Saturday. The hotel was very quiet. We bumped into local resident 'Ken Barlow' ( Bill Roach) who was there as part of his 80th birthday celebrations. He was very friendly.
We enjoyed a very tasty evening meal in the restaurant, which was reasonably busy, with a good atmosphere. Breakfast on the Sunday was also very good.
I'm not sure that we would have splashed out on the full price for the stay, but the TravelZoo deal was a lovely treat, and I would definitely stay there again.
( On Saturday nights there is an excellent pianist in the restaurant, playing the old Sinatra and Swing tunes while you dine - very pleasant indeed)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookends_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Nice hotel stuck in a G plan era , Staff wonderful , food superb, rooms very good little problem with disable access but staff couldnt do enough

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Stanneylands in the future.
Kind Regards

Sarah Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Driving up the lane, the hotel looked lovely, Reception area, nice and clean, staff was lovely.

Bedroom first appearance looked nice, however, the wardrobe door did not close, It needed a new bath, you could see the steel!!!!!!!, the Towel rail had not been dusted in weeks, neither had the windows.
We had Champagne Cream tea, which was wonderful, and the Breakfast was lovely.

If the room had had a good clean then i would not fault the stay at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwenan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor, it is so important that we recieve guest feedback good and bad.
I have passed your comments onto the housekeeping & Maintenance teams to rectify the issues you had with your room.
I hope to see you back at the Stanneylands Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sarah Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We got married and had our Reception at Stanneylands and could not fault the location, service and atmosphere created for our special day. Eamon and Liz helped us plan and personalise our day and nothing seemed too much trouble for them in meetings in the run up. Liz ensured no detail went amiss and everything ran smoothly on our big day, with Eamon at the helm - guests were shephered, timings were kept to and his calm manner meant our nerves were soothed.
Our ceromony was held in the Oak Suite and it was perfect for our small family wedding of 30 people. While photos were being taken in the beautiful wooded grounds, the room was transformed into a beautiful reception room. One oval table seated us all. The food and the service was fantastic.
We do not hestitate in recommending Stanneylands as a venue for anyone's wedding.

Room Tip: Bridal suite was amazing. Lots of room to get ready for the bride and her entourage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneTrickPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Stanneylands Hotel. We are all delighted to read your comments we have a fantastic team here at the Stanneylands and to read your review makes it all worth while.
I look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your anniversary next year.

Kind Regards
Sarah Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have recently been planning our wedding and decided to hold it at the stanneylands due to the helpful and friendly staff, and the wonderful bright clean atmosphere. We have been planning our day with Liz and eamon at the hotel for the past 12months and we could not ask for anymore from them. They have always been helpful and any request was completed without question. Our stay at the hotel has been amazing,beautiful rooms, excellent food and a service like no other. We would not hesitate to recommend the hotel or to return, and even if we won the lottery we would not change a single thing about our day, including the venue. The staff offer a very personal service and we cannot thank them enough. Don't hesitate,go and see Liz and eamon and you will understand,they are The best!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l13wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review of the Stanneylands Hotel. I am delighted you had such a wonderful day, we pride ourselves with the attentive service that matches our happy couples and their family and friends. I will of course pass on your lovey comments to Liz, Eamonn and the rest of the team.
I hope to see you back at the hotel for your anniversary.

Kind Regards
Sarah Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A little tatty around the edges. Doesn't really live up to it's 4* listing.
One of those places that when you look at the carpet you can see that the vacuum cleaner hasn't got to a strip around the skirting board about 10mm wide and nobody has bothered to rectify this in recent weeks. Empty milk container wedged on the radiator pipe in the bathroom. Very draughty old fashioned windows and flaking paint on the bedroom windowsill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor. I do value all feedback and take on board all comments you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanneylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanneylands Hotel

Property: The Stanneylands Hotel
Address: Stanneylands Road, Wilmslow SK9 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stanneylands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4 Star Stanneylands country house hotel Cheshire is the perfect place to stay with 54 comfortable bedrooms including suites, executive accommodation and fine dining in our 2 AA Rosette Restaurant plus the contemporary Lounge & Bar offering all day dining and afternoon tea, plus Sky & BT Sports for those not wishing to miss out on the "Big Event" Stanneylands is the epitome of style and service. Located in tranquil countryside only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and offering a unique combination of comfort and relaxation along with first class hospitality. The Stanneylands boasts a variety of event space ideal for conferencing, presentations, private dining and family celebrations, not to mention the ideal location for an unforgettable wedding. Our experienced event staff will take you through every step ensuring the smooth running of your special event. Our Cheshire country hotel is renowned for its décor and attention to detail. Tastefully furnished with classic elegant décor, each room is designed to achieve maximum comfort and style, in addition to meeting modern requirements, such as direct dial telephones, Freeview television and complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel ensuring our guests return to us again and again delighted with the level of service, high quality rooms and award-wining cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Stanneylands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanneylands Hotel Wilmslow
The Stanneylands Hotel Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing