We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stanneylands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stanneylands
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed at The Stanneylands Hotel. we had afternoon tea, a 3 course evening meal, breakfast and also treated ourselves to massages in the treatment rooms. We had a fabulous weekend and all the staff were incredible polite, helpful and professional. The food was gorgeous and i cannot recommend it highly enough. Fabulous hotel with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSchmee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    177
    101
    60
    27
See reviews for
121
274
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were married in september 2013,we had our ceremony and reception including afternoon tea and evening meal and stayed for two nights overall.The bridal suite and all other rooms were excellent,the people we employed through the hotel were just what we expected they included flowers by Helen Claire and musician/magician Peter Owen.The overall cost for the Stanneylands for all the above was good value for money,everything about our weekend reached our expectations to very high standards. We would also like to say that all the staff were most attentive approachable and just very helpful. We would like to make a special mention and extend our thanks to Eamon (The Manager) who was just fantastic. Eamon was the epitome of calm quiet efficiency clearly obtained through vast experience of organising wedding events. Eamon was approachable, flexible in is approach. Our day wasnt just treated as any old wedding it was very much tailored to what we wanted. Eamon worked tremendously hard, nothing was too much trouble and he put all our guests at ease. All guests commented on this. Well done Eamon. :) :)

Room Tip: if your getting married the bridal suites are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaynePhilip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Lovely room and very nice bathroom.
Stayed for 1 night but wish could have stayed longer.
Staff were very nice and helpful especially Eamon the manager who was so lovely and dedicated.
Would rate the hotel a 5 star.
Breakfast was amazing, would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to my friends .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badboy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at Stanneylands again last weekend following many successful previous visits in recent years. As always, the level of service was excellent - Nicola, Aysha and all the members of staff we encounter really friendly and efficient. We instantly relax on arrival, enjoying the country house feel of the hotel and the subtle contrast between the older and newer décor - our bedroom is always very clean, comfortable and quiet, despite weddings/parties coinciding with our stay. We have tried various other hotels in the area over the years but we keep coming back to Stanneylands because it is simply superior to the rest, and we'll be booking into Stanneylands again the next time we visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed night before an early flight, very friendly staff, nice bar area, clean comfortable room. Transfer to airport was a taxi, included in cost, booked through Holiday Extras, this was on time, quick journey to airport. On return,when we landed I was texted by taxi driver, asking me to ring him when clear of customs, and he was waiting for us outside terminal, excellent service. Will definately use the Stanneylands hotel when we fly from Manchester again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Held my daughters wedding reception here and filled the hotel rooms. What a weekend! First class service, excellent value, superb staff, Yes rooms maybe a touch tired here and there but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Sally and Eamon deserve special mention, thank you very much!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our band were asked to play a charity gig at Stanneylands on a Saturday night and, as it was our wedding anniversary on the Friday, we decided to make a short break of it. From the minute we checked in, to the moment we checked out. Nothing was too much trouble, and the staff even helped us cart our band equipment ( a not inconsiderable task!) up to the room were we were performing, and out again on the Sunday morning! Eamon was a fantastic host throughout our stay, and we always felt he was there to help, but not 'too much in your face'. I loved the way he used our first names every time we saw him. It always makes me feel 'at home' when the manager and staff not only remember your name, but feel relaxed enough to use first names. The meal we had in the restaurant on the Friday was excellent, and the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, but not too 'overpowering' The only criticism I would have of the restaurant is a very limited choice of dishes on the menu, but there was meat and fish and vegetarian choices so we didn't find it a problem for our stay. It was beautifully prepared and presented, and the plates were hot (a real PLUS for me). It could become quite boring if you were staying for a few days however, I felt. Breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of items on the menu, and very well cooked. The room we had was very comfortable, with a four-poster bed and very pleasant views, and a nice bathroom. The TV was an antique Grundig, but we weren't bothered about that too much.The hotel offers a 'Park and Ride' service for Manchester Airport, and we'll probably take advantage of that when we go away in January. Prices were very reasonable for this service, we felt. The hotel is a typically 'tired' English establishment, with over-painted woodwork and single-glazing to the windows, but it has a lovely character which would be lost if it suffered the usual 'Corporate Makeover' that the big chains seem intent on. We would certainly stay here again, but ask that the heating be turned down a touch! As I said to Eamon,"We've stayed in cooler hotels in The Gambia"!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula&Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.3 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
3.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,445 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanneylands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanneylands

Property: The Stanneylands
Address: Stanneylands Road, Wilmslow SK9 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stanneylands 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please bear with us as we undergo our transformation. The doors will re open Easter 2017 at which time the red carpet will be out to welcome you to the next chapter of The Stanneylands Hotel. Bookings are being taken for guests wishing to stay with us, dine with us, drink with us and celebrate weddings or gatherings from the 10th April 2017. The award-winning 4 Star Stanneylands Country House Hotel Cheshire is the perfect place to stay with 54 comfortable bedrooms including suites, executive accommodation and fine dining in our 2 AA Rosette Restaurant plus the contemporary Lounge & Bar offering all day dining and afternoon tea, plus Sky & BT Sports for those not wishing to miss out on the "Big Event." Stanneylands is the epitome of style and service. Located in tranquil countryside only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and offering a unique combination of comfort and relaxation along with first class hospitality. The Stanneylands boasts a variety of event space ideal for conferencing, presentations, private dining and family celebrations, not to mention the ideal location for an unforgettable wedding. Our experienced event staff will take you through every step ensuring the smooth running of your special event. Our Cheshire country hotel is renowned for its décor and attention to detail. Tastefully furnished with classic elegant décor, each room is designed to achieve maximum comfort and style, in addition to meeting modern requirements, such as direct dial telephones, Freeview television and complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel ensuring our guests return to us again and again delighted with the level of service, high quality rooms and award-wining cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stanneylands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanneylands Hotel Wilmslow
The Stanneylands Wilmslow, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing