We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the family welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Unicorn

Unicorn
Ranked #12 of 88 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockport
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“All the family welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Good food, service friendly, childrens menu good- same quality as main menu just smaller portions. Dogs welcome and given their own bowl of water. Would recommend for a family meal out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    45
    13
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We went for a four course Valentine's day meal. For £19.99 we weren't expecting it to be such good food and such great value for money. The staff were attentive and very friendly. The chef, Pat, gave us an unusual and well put together meal. Apparently the Unicorn is doing a 'buy one get one free' on Sunday roasts so we will definitely be going very soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loobyloo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiz night blues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have been visiting this pub on quiz night for 5 years. Initially, they regularly had 20+ teams, sometimes as many as 30, simply because Garry’s quiz was that good. They then sacked Garry, and lost loads of custom. 18 months later, they got him back, and regained some of their custom, but never more than 12 teams. They then sacked him again towards the end of 2013, and, you guessed it, they lost even more custom. As a quiz regular, we now average 5 teams.

The new manager Gavin is a breath of fresh air, and seems keen to get the pub back to its best, however, I feel too much damage has already been done.

The new quiz master is ok, but still learning the ropes. However, tonight, he was not here, and the manager stood in. Sorry, I like the guy, but it was poor. The music round was good. I think people underestimate the skill involved in running a good quiz. It is very easy to make a difficult quiz, hard to make a fun, yet sustainable one. “How many Ford Fiestas were sold last year” was a typical question!

Anyway, I cross my fingers that they will get Garry back, advertise the fact, and get the quiz back to the way it used to be, but I imagine Garry has moved on, as we probably will.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Unicorn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear pgtracey

Thank you for providing us with your review

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments about your visit to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Unicorn who would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that they have taken your feedback on board and passed it to the relevant teams.

We do hope to see you soon in the Unicorn soon.

Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic and homely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

First impressions from outside we're not brilliant but nice inside wow. We had a group meeting here and the while experience was first class. The staff were attentive and very polite.
The food was very good.
Big car park at the rear and they are dog friendly except in the restaurant.
Well worth a visit full marks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

A great meal and wonderful service. The food was exceptionally good with the bubble and squeak beeing just what the doctor ordered after a long day. Service could not have been better, attentive but not intrusive. Thanks to Brodie for the great service and fab reccomendations they were spot on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unicorn also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing