We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good and Fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Big Fish

The Big Fish
Ranked #20 of 88 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good and Fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I just ordered some chips but they were amazing very hot and tasty and more importantly not greasy or too salty which is a nice change !
If I am in the area and I need something to eat again I will go back and try some fish to next time.
Was nice and clean in there too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLiz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    14
    4
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
139 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Quality deteriorated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We used to regularly visit this place but the last two visits were very disappointing. Slimy batter and mushy fish. Go the extra mile to Fosters, Alderley Edge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ddi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ecellent Chippy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have call to the Big Fish now on several occasions never been disappointed with the quality of the fish, puddings or chips quick service great food what more can you ask of a small local chip shop

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davros97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
225 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Chirpy Chippy Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fish and Chips are perhaps the best here throughout the Manchester area. Fish is meaty and fresh with minimal batter n grease. Chips are big sized-tasting great with curry sauce. Open 1130-11:00 pmbut closed between 2-430-so it could be a bummer if you get hungry during this time. They serve with a smile too-and are quick. The fish and chips are best I have had in a while. A very clean place, I am told it is an award winning take away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wineguyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our first choice chippy. No question about it.
Always consistent, Always fresh, Always enough!
Tried Fosters in alderley once and it was not a patch on The Big Fish.
Wouldnt go any where else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilmsloAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Fish also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to The Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing