We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and delicious!”
Review of Shalimar Bar Restaurant Lounge - CLOSED

Shalimar Bar Restaurant Lounge
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Shalimar experience has always extended far beyond a simple meal. Pioneers of an authentic food revolution offering traditionally prepared Indian cuisine not previously attempted in the Cheshire area.At Shalimar we are determined to offer nothing less than the genuine article, the best authentic food possible with a menu that reflects the true culture and tradition of Indian cuisine.The stylish, contemporary and sophisticated decor creates the perfect atmosphere for visitors to indulge in an evening of excellence.So if you are looking for a relaxed and chilled out dining experience, head for Shalimar!
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I am usually picky with indian food and go to a handful of places. Tried this place on a whim as i live close and was not in a fit state to travel to my favourite place in manchester!

I was very impressed. Lovely decor and clean. Very friendly and respectful staff. The food was fantastic. Could not ask for anything more.

Will most certainly be going again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbroadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    1
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking. Do not visit”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We visited the shalimar and had a lovely meal.. A warm welcome from the waiter, and good attentive service. The moment we said we had an offer from the website Onionring this all changed. the manager changed from friendly to rude. He wasn't even aware of the offer which was clearly stated in a partner website!! We left soon after feeling quite undervalued in the restaurant yet being the only customers! We decided a week later to get a takeaway as the food was good but we wanted to avoid the service. Having ordered the food and stating a clear shellfish allergy we waited for the delivery being told half an hour. We ate our pops and dips (lovely!) whilst the main food was being kept warm. I then ate the mixed tandoori and found two thirds of the way through I was eating a king prawn. Needless to say I was very ill through the night. My parter called the restaurant and was practically abused on the phone.. Denying all knowledge of the shellfish allergy and refusing to do anything about it.. As we were told it had been to long after since the order had been delivered. We explained we like to relax enjoy our meal not rush straight in and was told tough luck. SHOCKING. I will be eating at other much better indian restaurants in the local area soon. This restaurant doesn't deserve anyone's custom. It's a shocking example of how not to run a business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyandarchieeatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food still great service getting better”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We returned last night and again had some lovely food. The great thing is that the service is getting better. The courses were less rushed and they asked if we were ready for our main courses. We had a slight issue with a voucher we had but this was dealt with very professionally by the Manager and we left very happy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahinwilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“5 star food, 2 star service”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Went as a couple in conjunction with a groupon offer, this was £20 fo 2 starters, 2 mains and poppadum and chutney dish, however there were exceptions on the menu where a surcharge was applicable.
The food was great, mixed starter for 2 was lovely, the Hyderabad ghosht was also lovely, the chicken tikka was also lovely.
In fact food was faultless, the place was clean modern and uncluttered, again couldn't fault.
The only criticisms were directed at the staff, the waiters were abrupt and to a point rude, one whilst clearing the table reached right over the front of us to clear the plates that we had literally just finished eating from,the main arrived literally as the starter was finished.generally a little customer service skills to be worked on there.when we asked for the bill it took over 15 minutes , we eventually got up and went to pay at the bar, the place wasn't busy and there were plenty of staff wandering about so I don't understand why getting the bill ready was so time consuming.
To summarise, great food , below average service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely staff great food”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The restaurant and bar area and nicely decorated.
The food was absolutely delicious.
The staff were attentive and polite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shalimar Bar Restaurant Lounge also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing