We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Term Stay”
Review of The Wilmslow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wilmslow Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Long Term Stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have been staying at the Wilmslow lodge for the past 5 weeks, Mon-Fri while down in Manchester on business.

The rooms are great, spacious and have what you need. The staff are lovely too. With staying for such a long time they get to know your face and it is great to chat with them! They are very open to feedback about the hotel too.

There are 2 downsides in my opinion, the reception isnt always staffed and in these instances, you have to wait quite a while for someone in the resturant to come through to help. The showers in one of the rooms I have stayed in was not that great and loose pressure (room 26)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleigh128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi there Hayleigh,
Thanks for you're lovely comments on your stay in the lodge. We did have a problem with the shower in 26 and had it fixed immediately. Each room has its own pump to make the showers so powerful and yours had failed.
On reception we have a member of staff from 7am-7pm daily, these are our peak check in times, out of this time all our hotel trained staff can be called to reception by picking up the phone on reception and the will be with you in a moment. By doing this it helps us keep our room prices to the lower level in comparison to other hotels in the area.
Hope to see you again soon.

Matthew Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    129
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
59
118
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we have used this accomadation on a number of occasions as it is close to family, you cant beat the venue for value for money on a weekend break. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean there are large comfy beds and it is close by to anything you need in Wilmslow. I wouldnt stay anywhere else when we needed a Wilmslow 'stop over'!
only quibble is that since they have refurbished the pub the coach and four the prices for drinks are higher than you would expect even for this area!

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FABFIFTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi there

Thanks for the lovely comments you have made about the lodge. I sorry you think we seem more expensive than before we closed. We haven't increased our prices by more than 5p in 2 years on all our draught and spirit products. Our wine prices only went up in line with the chancellors budget increase this year. I hope from me telling you this you don't think we have put up the prices with the refurbishment.

Hope to see you soon

Matthew Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The accommodation is in a block behind a pub. When we got there, the reception area was empty. A sign told us to pick up a phone so that someone would come from the pub. The call drew a rather short response from someone who gave every impression of our call coming at the wrong time. 15 minutes later (I know this because a text arrived shortly after our call, so I was able to time it) a different employee arrived, with no hint of apology or regret at our wait. Luckily the room was very comfortable and well appointed, but the welcome was distinctly poor. Over the three days, we hardly ever saw anyone at the reception desk. It leaves the impression that the hotel aspect is an afterthought. Breakfast is served in the pub. Very friendly service (and the pub looked very pleasant), but the quality of the food varied over the visit. I would go back, because the room was good and for the price, you really cannot complain, but something is missing in the service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Owl_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hit there,
Im sorry you had to wait at reception when you arrived, as it was a bank holiday most of our guest had arrived on the thursday and we only had a few check in on the friday and saturday as most were staying for the weekend. Our receptionist was on holiday and I'm sorry you were inconvenienced by me not replacing her.
Im glad you enjoyed you time in your hotel room and in the pub.

Hope to see you soon

Matthew Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in the Wilmslow Lodge the night before travelling out to LA and we couldn't have asked for a better place. The room was super clean, huge, (two sofa's, bath shower, large desk, 40" tv etc.) and has air conditioning.

I'm surprised at some of the negative feedback here, they mustn't have stayed at the same place or had a bad day :-/

I'm kind of a Hotel connoisseur and snob having stayed in more than I care to admit and I believe above having to be SUPER clean, (which Wilmslow is) it's in the details. Shampoo, extra towels, telephone with direct contact with reception, luggage holder, shower cap, information sheet, FREE wifi!! (a must for me) etc.

Great stay.

We also ate in the pub attached... grade A food for grade C prices. Round the corner from Pizza express and tons of other restaurants too.

Room Tip: Room 37. Largest room in the place with two sofas and it's huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi there

Thanks for the great feedback and hope you trip to LA went well.
We hope you will visit again on your return home

Matthew Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on business. I wasn't left for wanting in the restaurant, the menu was varied, and the steak was especially good.

The rooms were nice, clean, Wifi was fast and free. I didn't have breakfast as the hotel is next to a supermarket and a pastry from there suited me just fine each morning.

I found the hotel to be one of the better ones I have stayed in around the area and certainly up there with some of the nicest places I have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for you're lovely comments and hope to see you soon.

Matthew Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently and found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and very quiet. The rooms are spacious with flat screen TV, iron and ironing board and free WIFI. Bathroom is basic enough but again spotlessly clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant attached but did have a few drinks on the Friday night. Atmosphere was great with a very good live band. Overall, a good hotel which is very reasonably priced. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walsher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for you're lovely comment and we hope you stay with us again soon.

Matthew Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have kept meaning to visit the Coach and Four since the re-vamp as it looks quite appealing from the outside. Finally visited on Sunday and was sadly disappointed. For 2pm on a Sunday afternoon I expected it to be a lot busier, the restaurant and pub were dead meaning there was absolutely no atmosphere. Starters were nice enough but the Sunday roast maincourses were so disappointing. We weren't asked how we'd like our beef cooked which I thought was odd, when it did come it came well done and quite thinly sliced. The roast potatoes were soggy and the pitiful portion of vegetables were dry and tasteless. Service was ok, staff just 'got-by', we won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SapphireBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi there,

Im sorry you were disappointed with your lunch with us. It was quiet that sunday, as there was a rather big football match on at that time. Im glad you enjoyed your starters. Our beef is cooked pink as stated on the menu, we don't ask, as the joint is cooked that way as we don't cook joints especially for one person, unlike when you were ordering a steak. I hope you will return and re try our sunday lunch as we see it as one of the best in the area.

Please contact me so we can arrange this.

Matthew Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
324 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmslow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmslow Lodge

Property: The Wilmslow Lodge
Address: 69-71 Alderley Road, Wilmslow SK9 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilmslow Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, 18th century coaching house pub offering delicious freshly cooked food, a wide range of fine cask ales, speciality lagers,bottled ales & fine wines & a growing, enviable spirit selection. We are perfectly situated in the centre of Wilmslow, offering breakfasts, lunches & evening meals with fresh & home cooked food being served throughout the day, every day. We have ample, free parking for guests & our hotel residents and two outside terraces. We offer corporate & personal events packages in both our orangery & upstairs, private, function room, complete with fully stocked bar & a space to party all day & night. Breakfast or all day meetings & team building events can be catered for & personally structured. Please call us for our rates & packages - we look forward to welcoming you to The Coach & Four and we of course welcome your reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wilmslow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And 4
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And Four Hotel Wilmslow
The Wilmslow Hotel
The Hotel Wilmslow
The Wilmslow Lodge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing