We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family meal!!”
Review of The Wilmslow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wilmslow Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited here recently on a Friday evening. We had booked a table as unsure how busy it would be, it was busy but still some tables available. The waitress took our drinks order and gave us the menus. We were spoilt for choice and took our time choosing what to have. We all had starters and main courses and the food was lovely. Very nice meal and looking forward to visiting again soon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aloc1n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for The Wilmslow Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here prior to flying next day from Manchester Airport.
Convenient location, good beer and wines.
Very good bar menu with adequate variety for most people. Restaurant option if you want.
Rooms were a good size and well appointed. Clean and well maintained.
Reasonable value and price. Friendly staff.
Far better than the primer inn type options. cannot fault it.We will stop here again.
Tip; contact them direct for a better price.

Room Tip: Keep as far to the back of the hotel as possible to avoid noise from the main road. Its not too bad...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YouManinWarsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed one night before flying out of Manchester airport. Easy to find, next door to a large supermarket, good parking, straightforward check in and good size room, reminded me of a Premier Inn. Tea/coffee facility, hairdryer etc. Nice size bathroom all very clean. Wilmslow has some lovely shops, bit disappointed with the meal we had in the Coach and Four, bit pricey too I felt, for what we had but very handy for a drink before bed. Staff very nice both in the pub and the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Would not visit again. Not a solitary smile from the staff upon our arrival. Nice decor and ample seating but no atmosphere. The mezze starters were great, the main courses were not so. Ordering from the 'specials' menu I chose the barbecued ribs. They arrived with no flavour, they were dry and they were only warm. Accompanied by a handful of previously frozen French fries and a dollop of coleslaw I sent them back. The chicken burger that arrived in its place was equally disappointing. Served in a bun that dwarfed it, the burger had no flavour and no salad accompaniment. The friends I was dining with were similarly unhappy with their
main courses. With most mains being in the £10 -12 bracket, it's not cheap, neither is it good value and I felt cheated on service and quality. Please also address the drinks ordering system that you have. You can be provided with a tab but once seated if you require another drink you have to go back to the bar to order it yourself. If the bars busy you can be waiting five minutes for a drink whilst your poorly prepared and presented meal goes cold. If the people serving on the tables aren't permitted to serve alcohol then simply let them give the orders to the bar staff to collect the drinks later. Get the simple things right and this could be so much better but on yesterday's experience that's a long way off.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Steve045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Steve,
Im sorry you were disappointed on your visit to the coach and four. This is actually the Hotels trip advisor page and if you take a look at the pub page on trip advisor you will see you experience is not a normal one. I can only apologise about your ribs, I'm led to believe your meal was replaced immediately with a chicken burger. Our french fries are Mcains fries and are bought frozen, like most pubs and restaurants in the uk. We do offer hand cut chips which are made daily on site should you return. Our burger buns are made by a local bakery especially for ourselves.
At the coach and four you have the choice of sitting in our restaurant and receiving full table service or finding a table in the bar and ordering your food and drinks at the bar. This is all explained at the top of the menu.
I hope you do return as this is not a normal experience for our customers.
Should you wish to talk further please email me at matthewabbott@hydesbrewery.com
Matthew Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have been staying at the Wilmslow lodge for the past 5 weeks, Mon-Fri while down in Manchester on business.

The rooms are great, spacious and have what you need. The staff are lovely too. With staying for such a long time they get to know your face and it is great to chat with them! They are very open to feedback about the hotel too.

There are 2 downsides in my opinion, the reception isnt always staffed and in these instances, you have to wait quite a while for someone in the resturant to come through to help. The showers in one of the rooms I have stayed in was not that great and loose pressure (room 26)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleigh128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi there Hayleigh,
Thanks for you're lovely comments on your stay in the lodge. We did have a problem with the shower in 26 and had it fixed immediately. Each room has its own pump to make the showers so powerful and yours had failed.
On reception we have a member of staff from 7am-7pm daily, these are our peak check in times, out of this time all our hotel trained staff can be called to reception by picking up the phone on reception and the will be with you in a moment. By doing this it helps us keep our room prices to the lower level in comparison to other hotels in the area.
Hope to see you again soon.

Matthew Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we have used this accomadation on a number of occasions as it is close to family, you cant beat the venue for value for money on a weekend break. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean there are large comfy beds and it is close by to anything you need in Wilmslow. I wouldnt stay anywhere else when we needed a Wilmslow 'stop over'!
only quibble is that since they have refurbished the pub the coach and four the prices for drinks are higher than you would expect even for this area!

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABFIFTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi there

Thanks for the lovely comments you have made about the lodge. I sorry you think we seem more expensive than before we closed. We haven't increased our prices by more than 5p in 2 years on all our draught and spirit products. Our wine prices only went up in line with the chancellors budget increase this year. I hope from me telling you this you don't think we have put up the prices with the refurbishment.

Hope to see you soon

Matthew Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The accommodation is in a block behind a pub. When we got there, the reception area was empty. A sign told us to pick up a phone so that someone would come from the pub. The call drew a rather short response from someone who gave every impression of our call coming at the wrong time. 15 minutes later (I know this because a text arrived shortly after our call, so I was able to time it) a different employee arrived, with no hint of apology or regret at our wait. Luckily the room was very comfortable and well appointed, but the welcome was distinctly poor. Over the three days, we hardly ever saw anyone at the reception desk. It leaves the impression that the hotel aspect is an afterthought. Breakfast is served in the pub. Very friendly service (and the pub looked very pleasant), but the quality of the food varied over the visit. I would go back, because the room was good and for the price, you really cannot complain, but something is missing in the service.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelling_Owl_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslowlodgemanager, General Manager at The Wilmslow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hit there,
Im sorry you had to wait at reception when you arrived, as it was a bank holiday most of our guest had arrived on the thursday and we only had a few check in on the friday and saturday as most were staying for the weekend. Our receptionist was on holiday and I'm sorry you were inconvenienced by me not replacing her.
Im glad you enjoyed you time in your hotel room and in the pub.

Hope to see you soon

Matthew Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,582 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmslow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmslow Lodge

Address: 69-71 Alderley Road, Wilmslow SK9 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilmslow Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, 18th century coaching house pub offering delicious freshly cooked food, a wide range of fine cask ales, speciality lagers,bottled ales & fine wines & a growing, enviable spirit selection. We are perfectly situated in the centre of Wilmslow, offering breakfasts, lunches & evening meals with fresh & home cooked food being served throughout the day, every day. We have ample, free parking for guests & our hotel residents and two outside terraces. We offer corporate & personal events packages in both our orangery & upstairs, private, function room, complete with fully stocked bar & a space to party all day & night. Breakfast or all day meetings & team building events can be catered for & personally structured. Please call us for our rates & packages - we look forward to welcoming you to The Coach & Four and we of course welcome your reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wilmslow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And 4
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And Four Hotel Wilmslow
The Wilmslow Hotel
The Hotel Wilmslow
The Wilmslow Lodge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing