We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cake”
Review of Cook and Baker

Cook and Baker
Ranked #42 of 89 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe and bakery serving handmade patisserie, sandwiches and salads
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Cake”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What a lovely place, so much cake to choose from, I have been here twice now and I intend to try every cake they sell ! The only negative is maybe some of the staff could be more friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rozee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    22
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst customer service ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Rude and argumentative staff - such a shame as the coffee, cake and surroundings are lovely. Staff need basic lessons in courtesy.Atmosphere not at all welcoming. We were enticed in by the lovely window display.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“coffee”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Unusual decor and nice looking cakes in the window but coffee quite expensive and not very large cup and the drink not hot enough.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 958christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We visited this great little cafe in Wilmslow town centre today. The interior decor, the staff and the food isn't in the least bit pretentious, unlike most of the surroundings and some of the inhabitants of this small Cheshire enclave.

From freshly prepared and very varied salads, to sausage and bacon baguettes I don't think anyone could be disappointed at what is presented.

Prices are reasonable and in my view represent value for money.

Parking is available on the large car park attached to Sainsburys, which is a two minute walk from this cafe on the opposite side of the main road. Street parking is also available if you can squeeze your car in between the plethora of Range Rovers and other forms of large SUV's (a necessary accessory when you live in the relatively flat topography of Cheshire), Bentleys and Aston Martins.

I recommend this excellent cafe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RADCTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best cafe experience outside of London and it is in Cheshire”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I am not sure why I could not find this café listed on Trip Advisor. My husband and I have been visiting 2 or 3 times a week since it opened last year. The selection and quality of food is outstanding. At breakfast there is freshly made bacon or sausage baguettes with home made sauces, or toast or meusli. Coffee is top quality and leaf tea is served in pots. Lunches include a choice of soup, a selection of individual quiches, crispy baguettes filled with a selection of fillings, ciabatta filled with hot pulled pork or beef brisket, caramelised onion and mustard mayo, or the most tasty huge warm sausage rolls in the lightest of puff pastry. To accompany these is a daily selection of three sophisticated vegetable salads which can be mixed. All of this is available to take away and parcelled to the same exacting standard as service in the cafe. Then there is the difficult decision of which cake to chose - a selection not seen in Cheshire anywhere to my knowledge.

The décor is simple and modern with an outside area, the staff are most welcoming and efficient, the display and presentation of the food is an art which the owner ensures is always at the highest standard.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ysor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cook and Baker also viewed

Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Cook and Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing