We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old fashioned hotel”
Review of King's Croft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Croft Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pontefract
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed recently on a business trip, the room was large and cool,we were grateful it was a hot day and I can,t stand hot bedrooms! Breakfast was great, not loads of dried up breads, dried fruits and other continental junk, the bacon, eggs, sausage and mushrooms were well cooked and great. A couple of skandinavian business men were having a bit if a moan , but I thought the choice was limited but good and uncomplicated and very British.The views are lovely ,the hotel homely, the food in the restaurant in the evening was vey good. Overall enjoyed our stay and would be happy to go again.

Room Tip: Summer I would choose h bungalows, however I would say they would not be that comfortable in the win...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for King's Croft Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked an overnight package for a tribute act, which included a meal. Food was really good for mass catering, I expected it to have limitations, but was very happy with the quality provided. Our room was great, with a four-poster, huge bath and great views. All of this provided at a very reasonable rate. I would recommend this to anybody who is planning to visit the Pontefract/Castleford area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Made a late booking for a single room at what I thought was a decent price, on arrival found I have a large double room with four poster bed and large bathroom with very large bath. Excellent room with lovely views of the hotel gardens. Breakfast was satisfactory, although served in the bar at pub tables and stools. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel is beautiful, very very clean & has had a small fortune spent renovating it, the the layout is appalling and the staff poorly trained. We arrived in a thunderstorm, couldn't get through the door as there was a wedding reception on in the porch and bar. We had to ask directions to reception, booked in, given no welcome at all. We had to go through another function room to get up to our room, the door from this room to our staircase is locked between 2am & 6am and you have to ring a mobile number if you want it opening between those times!!! Upon reaching the landing we were greeted with the smell of cigarette smoke! Our room (21) was small but exceptionally clean and well decorated. We had to fight our way back through the wedding party, go outside in the rain to get to the restaurant as there was another function on in the room which leads to the restaurant internally. Our meal was perfect and the waiting staff fantastic! Back in our room we were greeted by a dog yapping in the room below us! Woke up in the night to the smell of cigarettes as the smoke had drifted under our door. Can't complain about the dog or smoke, as there is no phone in the room, no signal on my phone to ring out and don't forget we are locked in and can't get to reception! Breakfast is laid out on a platform in a function room, you have to eat it on small stools at low tables in the bar - there is no service and you have to find where to sit and where the food & drinks are youself. When checking out I asked if our earlier complaint about the smoke had been investigated - it hadn't! Staff were aware a guest had a dog with them, but didn't know whether they had permission to have it in their room or not! I didn't pay the bill, and asked for the Manager to ring me to discuss - they haven't as yet, remains to be seen whether my credit card gets deducted or not! The website stipulates no dogs, why didn't the smoke alarms go off - a real worry when you are locked in!

Room Tip: Don't go!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice location, staff very friendly. We had a meal in the Restaurant next door! We were told no need to book - correct there, as only two other tables being used. Food ok - very, very average. Room was very basic (room 18) which was not located in the old hotel. Constant drone of aircon fans which was awful and kept us awake all night. Thought we would have a cup of tea in middle of might, next challenge how to fill kettle from tap in minute sink. Answer ..... Use water glass and fill. Breakfast was good in old hotel and cleaning staff extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Just don't go to Room 18!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allotmentgirl838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We choose this hotel for a business trip as the reviews were good and it was cheaper than the local premium in!. Hotel has lovely views and is clean & well maintained... We has a 'standard' room plus a suite which was lovely. Got gifted the honeymoon suite and it's just a shame I was travelling on business!. the room was large, clean with a roll top bath and walk in shower. Lots of bedding and towels provided presumably for the honeymooning couple!. The only downside was the 'rain' shower which only provided scaldingly hot water which made washing in the morning slightly problematic. My work colleagues room was however very small and hot and smelt rather disturbingly of vomit. For the price difference of £29 a night I would thoroughly recommend taking the superior rooms. We ate in the hotels restaurant whilst we were there and the food was exceptionally good value with good portions (probably a little too much if anything). The staff were all helpful and friendly and really make this hotel a good place to stay. Overall liked this hotel and would return if coming here for work again.

Room Tip: Take the cheap superior rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielI0474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A hidden gem of a hotel, very reasonably priced, cottage was great and food very good. Very polite staff and owner chap even allowed me to use their PC when my laptop packed in... well done !!!!!
Watched the champions league semi final with a Dortmund fan, good locals, and a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontefract
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
3.6 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
986 reviews
2.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
6.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Croft Hotel

Address: Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pontefract
Price Range: £71 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Croft Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King's Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing