We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling!!!!!”
Review of King's Croft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Croft Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pontefract
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Appalling!!!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed for a wedding, 3 members of my family all booked same standard rooms.
Checked in only 2 rooms booked, girl asked if mum and dad could sleep in double bed with son and kids in family room!!! Sister had double room, patio and seating area we got put in a tiny room where there was less than half a foot between the door and the bed, next to outdoor freezers and beer kegs! Showers flooded, brother asked by a staff member sarcastically if he had enough salad on his plate! No food out at breakfast and smart price coffee/orange juice served! Had to wait 20 minutes for fresh food! Emailed owner and got absolutely no joy out of him! Totally crap value for money, shocking service, poor management, even worse owner! Wouldn't give them my money again never mind book a wedding there! Loads better value at premier inn 2 mile down the road! Do not waste your money on this shambles of a hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodydavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun I, Owner at King's Croft Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
I do not normally respond on line as I prefer to deal with customers personally. I think this review is completely unreasonable. I have received and responded to 4 emails re this complaint with the later ones being abusive. The lady was annoyed that her other family member was upgraded to a executive room FOC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    59
    62
    22
    14
See reviews for
85
47
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at Kings Croft for a family wedding and had room 3.

Firstly the good news. The wedding breakfast was excellent with large portions and food tasty. The evening food was good quality and the breakfast reasonable.

And now the Bad news
Room 3 was small and the bathroom very tiny needing to leave the door open to be able to use the sink and mirror. The cistern dripped all night and needed door to be closed to reduce noise.

On arrival at the hotel, the bar is immediately inside and caused a bottleneck for staff serving food to private function suites at the front of the hotel. There was two weddings and two smaller functions on the day.

A duty manager put on a red coat and pretended to be a "Toastmaster" but it is obvious that no training has been given as the wrong uniform was worn, the announcements were rubbish with no emotion, and the use of a gavel was pathetic. He was not helping the photographer outside during the afternoon and was not seen during the meal when one guest was missing a bread roll and drink for the toast, which would have been dealt with by a competent Toastmaster. Suggest training is taken or stop wearing the red coat, he is not a Toastmaster rather a MC.

Overall this venue should look at improving the room layouts and possibly move the bar, and look at giving a better service to a smaller number of events as the food is great but the rest has a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Room 9 better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight in one of the family rooms, which was situated outside in the still being built block.
The room is very modern but very small for a family room. The bathroom is very well finished, however, the biggest gripe we had with this is that there is nowhere to put the towels, even the towel radiator is only big enough for very a very small hand towel.
Several items were missing...no bath towels...no glasses...no phone!, I had to contact reception from my mobile.
The steak meal was quite well cooked, however, the table had side plates and cutlery missing, although the restaurant was very smart.
The breakfast was probably the most disappointing.
It is served in several rooms surrounding the bar area...I ordered a full English, but it appeared it had been cooked earlier and warmed up...my egg was solid.....not a good standard at all.
I think the breakfast would be better served in the restaurant.
On the whole, I think the hotel could be improved greatly, because it's not quite there as far as standards are required.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank StChristopher_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We've eaten in this hotel many times when visiting family in the area. On this occasion we decided to sleep here as most of the buses which use Wakefield Road travel direct to the OAP complex where my mother lives. However, we will not be staying at Kings Croft again despite the fact it is set in beautiful grounds with commanding views, and the staff are, overall, a friendly and approachable group of people.
We had three causes for complaint: The condition of the mattress we were expected to sleep on; plumbing malfunctions and the poor selection available at breakfast.
We were warmly welcomed by the receptionist when we arrived who, it has to be said, also offered us tea and coffee before allocating us Room Nine.
The room itself was spotlessly clean but very hot due to the fact we were visiting in the middle of a heatwave. However, it had patio doors opening on to a flat roof, a portion of which had been decked to provide a patio area. As there was no climate control in the room we were provided with a fan.
We left to visit my mother shortly after checking in and returned just before 10.00pm. The first problem manifested itself when we began to get ready for bed. The basin barely drained. Just running water to clean our teeth or wash our hands was enough to fill it up. It took some time for the water to finally run out,
The shortcomings of the mattress became apparent as soon as we lay on the bed. There was a dip in the middle and we could both feel uncomfortable lumps. Neither of us slept well.
In the morning we discovered the sink's drainage problems extended to the shower. The tray quickly filled up and overflowed at points on to the floor. The shower cubicle itself had no surfaces above floor level on which to place items such as shampoo, soap or razors. As one of us showered, the other had to stand outside and pass in toiletries as they were needed.
The breakfast selection was poor. Yes, there was the option of full English, various forms of egg with toast or porridge. The only other option, however, was cereal in individual serving packets. There was no fresh fruit, yoghurt or different types of breads. Coffee was served out of a large teapot.
Once again, the receptionist proved very helpful and happily printed out flight boarding passes for us. She also took a note of the problems we encountered with the plumbing and the mattress, promising to pass them on to maintenance.
However, we will not be returning to Kings Croft as overnight guests.

Room Tip: As we can only outline the problems we experienced in our room, we cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopingtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is old traditional building that leads straight into a Bar not a reception. The reception is behind the bar and is very old fashioned and cluttered and when we arrived had workman chatting to receptionist someone else standing around and had to prompt the young receptionist to acknowledge we were waiting to book in. We had a Family executive suite which was two rooms with a bathroom. There have been attempts to upgrade it but furniture is old, there was curtain pole covers in fabric but no curtains. The Bed was only a four foot bed and my husband is very tall no-one notified us of this fact. The bathroom was small with a broken toilet push button, half shower glass and half curtain overall looked shabby. I had business the next day but the worst part was no sleep from what sounded like a compressor outside vibrating the room all night then the kitchen generator went on about five in the morning. Also sun started to come through the blinds from both ends of the room so no sleep at all. When we informed the hotel receptionist on booking out she just said oh no-one has mentioned it before and that was that. We had lunch and the portions as stated by others are good value for money and good quality and the staff pleasant and attentive. We ate there twice in the Croft bar & grill restaurant the young waiter was friendly, helpful and attentive if not a little overfamiliar at times with his humour. Again large portions of food and good selection. The second meal was good other than one complaint about our daughters pitza that had no cheese on it and when the waiter notified the chef he was criticised and then we overheard the chef call him a "Bell end" which was unpleasant and not acceptable when he was correct in this instance. A new Pitza was promptly served with cheese on it. There are nice gardens to sit out in and walk around and generally the whole place is clean and tidy if not a bit dated where new meets old. The breakfast was large and plentiful but did not have any fruit or healthy options and to piled on the plate for my liking.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dundrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

stayed here for two nights for sons wedding, from arriving to leaving the staff where brilliant they could not do enough for you the food is excellent first class and the biggest breakfast we've eaten or in my wifes case tried to eat, and if you could eat more the staff were happy to oblidge, the grounds are beautiful and well maintained, we stayed in a premiere room separate from the main hotel excellent room even down to the fluffy shower slippers provided.
although they were catering for a meeting in one room a funeral in another and getting ready for a school prom night the staff still had a smile for you and time for a quick chat, the main room was ready the next morning for my sons wedding and they really done him proud, what an hotel.

Room Tip: try to get a bungalow premiere room because the hotel can get noisy if your not involved, there wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have eaten here many times and every time the food has been delicious. I recently attended a wedding which was well catered for and the staff were very tentative to the bride and groom and also the guests throughout the day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank taz15485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontefract
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
5.8 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
962 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
6.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Croft Hotel

Property: King's Croft Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pontefract
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Croft Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King's Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing