We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bottelino's

Bottelino's
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Portishead
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A favourite Italian proverb is "A tavola non si invecchia" - at the table one does not age - so relaxed meals are the key to a long life. That's a proverb that we hold onto at Bottelino's, traditional Italian resturants. You will find our menus are a wide choice of traditional dishes as well as popular classics like Pizza and Pasta ideal for a lazy lunch or evening out with friends. Check our Facebook pages for all the news, latest offers and events at your local Bottelino's.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
402 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Relaxed meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good place for a relaxed evening overlooking the marina. Service was prompt and food arrived quickly – in fact we hadn’t finished eating the bread with olive oil/vinegar before the pizzas arrived. Ideally located if staying at the Travelodge opposite. Friendly, attentive staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    142
    74
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Currently sat in the restaurant. We have enjoyed the food so far, I had a pizza and friend had pasta. Decent size for price and very tasty. We have then waited 20 minutes for them to remove our finished plates. Once plates removed we then had to wait over 10 minutes before almost shouting across the quiet room for a desert menu. Being a quiet tuesday evening, with only 5 tables actually taken up, the service has been shockingly slow. Yet the waiters have time to slowly walk around watching the chefs, and wash the windows...completely ignoring their paying guests!
Despite the food being nice, i certainly wouldn't rush back - god knows what its like on a busy night!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanndann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good ambience, tolerable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visited for a bite of lunch last Saturday. The location is good, with views over the marina, and the basic price at lunchtime is good. (£10 for two courses.) On arrival we were asked to wait for a few minutes before being shown to a table by the window. We walked past the long bar behind which is the kitchen. Quite appetising being able to see food in preparation.
I started with a simple, but tasty and well presented, mozzarella and tomato. My wife had garlic mushrooms which were pleasant enough. For the main courses she opted for Penne Arrabiatta and I went for a pizza. Neither dish was brilliant. The base of my pizza was a little too thin and the crust dry. I don't think the cheese topping was mozzarrella and the anchovies were a little scarce. Still, for the money and the ambience it was enjoyable.
Service was pleasant and efficient.
My main gripe would be the price of wine. I think the cheapest bottle was £17. We had a very ordinary Merlot at £18. (Almost the same price as our food!) You can buy better stuff for £4 at Lidl. I suspect the restaurant paid less, and this mark-up is too much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad way to run a business”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Food mediocre. We ordered pate, the amount of pate and bread ratio was not proportionate, so asked for more bread which was supplied. What i didn't realize was this was added to the bill! Although the cost is minimal the impact was massive. Not worth another visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Potty144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, awful service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

About a year ago, we would go to Bottelino's about once a month. The food and staff had always been excellent. So, as we had not been in a long time, this evening for my partner's birthday he decided that this was where he wanted to go. We were a party of three - two adults and an eleven year old.

Upon arriving, we were asked to take a seat while a table was found for us. This was not a problem as, being a last minute decision, we had not booked. We waited for at least ten minutes before being shown to our table. In this time, only five people left the restaurant (clearly all one family) and nobody else arrived. When we were finally seated we were amazed to discover that less than half of the tables in the restaurant actually had people sat at them.

We assumed that the rest of the tables had been reserved and that this was why we'd had to wait so long to be seated. Alas, we were in the restaurant for nearly two hours and nobody else arrived. We also could not understand why we had been seated right in the middle of the restaurant, when so many window seats were available.

It took nearly ten minutes after we'd been seated for any waiting staff to appear and take our drinks order. We ordered food at the same time, having had plenty of time to read the menu. Our starter was served nearly 35 minutes after we first sat down. One of our starters arrived, while the other was delayed for a long time in the hands of a waitress who I observed happily chatting away to the kitchen staff.

On a positive note, the food was still as great as we remembered, and our main courses arrived not too long after our starters had been cleared away.

However, the side dish we'd ordered didn't arrive with our mains. We politely told the waitress that we were waiting for it, but she got sidetracked on her way to the service point and only remembered five minutes later when walking back to our table. It turned out that our side dish hadn't been put through on the order, so we had to wait for it to be cooked.

Despite asking for our bill when our plates were cleared, that too seemed to skip the mind of the waitress and another five minutes went by. I should add that at this point there were four waiters/waitresses and only two other tables to tend to. In fact, there were three or four waiting staff all evening, with no more than seven tables of people, and most of the time the waitresses were stood chatting to the kitchen staff, often with plates of food they'd been holding for some time (something clearly visible to everyone, thanks to the open plan of the restaurant).

I am aware that I can be critical, having spent years working in customer service. However, it was my partner who the poor service really annoyed, and this was his birthday meal with his partner and daughter (who was starving by the time food arrived and exhausted when we eventually left, just past her bedtime).

We are extremely disappointed with our evening, especially as we'd had such high hopes for a relaxing celebratory meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Minismurf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bottelino's also viewed

Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 
Portishead, Somerset
Weston-in-Gordano, Portishead
 
Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 

Been to Bottelino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing