We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Portishead”
Review of Gotha Villa B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portishead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gotha Villa B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Portishead B&B and Inns
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Portishead”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The Villa might seem slightly run down at first glance but once you walk in and are greeted by the very friendly owner you get a different perspective. The room was full of character and the views of the sea and marina are fantastic. The B&B is located just a few minutes away from the village core as well as the modern marina.

PS - the B&B has no signs on the outside so it is difficult to find.

Room Tip: The double room with the view is fantastic. Unfortunately the room wasn't en suite however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
7
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed at Gotha Villa for 4 nights when i was on a course in Portishead - what a delight! beautiful house in stunning location, with views to die for. such a personalised and helpful service throughout. Delicious breakfasts everyday (really were fantastic), super comfortable room, and such a nice host. Elizabeth couldnt have made me feel any more relaxed and comfortable throughout my stay. It really was fantastic and i would reccomend for anyone who likes good service, high level of satisfaction with a welcoming feel for very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsalvage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Gotha Villa for quite a few weeks, and was treated like family by Elizabeth and I do miss Bramble (Bonnie Lad ) Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Portishead

Room Tip: all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Thank you is the best title title I could think of. My short stay at Gotha Villa was very pleasant, I was made extremly welcome, ( very spoilt with my coffee, my very own jar !). From the moment I arrived and met Elizabeth and Bramble ensured I was comfortable. My room at the very top at the back looked out over the garden was peaceful, the bed was comfy, a double all to myself and the room had everything I needed.

Room Tip: The front of the building has wonderful views across to Wales but the peaceful views from the back i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stopped at Gotha Villa on a walking tour of the Severn estuary. We were surprised by the gorgeous views from the bedroom we stayed in. When we checked into our bedroom, the sun was setting over the Bristol Channel and the room was bathed in golden light!

After having stayed in several overly-stuffy B&Bs along the way, we found the relaxed atmosphere and the characterful house a pleasant change, as well. Being vegetarian, we were also pleased to find a full vegetarian cooked breakfast was available.

Nice dog, too!

Room Tip: Go for the 'sea view' room. Great views out to Wales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Firstly I love old houses, the proprietor Elizabeth told me that Gotha Villa dates back to the 1830's. Elizabeth is sympathetically restoring the house and there are plenty of original features with a lot of rustic charm.

During my visit I found Elizabeth to be very warm and courteous and could not do enough to ensure my stay was enjoyable.

Having viewed both bedrooms I chose the one on the first floor, the other bedroom is situated on the second floor which is served by a bathroom whilst the other is served by a shower room both have toilet and wash-hand basin, in my opinion both rooms are light and airy and has uninterrupted views out across the Bristol channel to the Welsh hills beyond. The bed I had was firm but comfortable.

Breakfast is served in the front lounge (great views from the large windows) when there are only one or two guests staying and for multiple guests they are served in the room to the rear of the building where there is a much larger table; there is plenty of choice for breakfast and when I asked for rooibos tea Elizabeth produced it for me.

Obviously reviews of this kind are subjective and different people will have different expectations but I feel that this B&B offers good value for money, a very enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stopped here whilst working in the area, great location for the town of portishead and surrounding areas. A nice home wth wonderful views from the front, Very friendly but new to running a guest house which showed slightly, but we all have to start somewhere and the owner i thought was moving in the right direction with her plans. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portishead
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
617 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Berwick Lodge
Berwick Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hallen
373 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
3.1 mi away
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Walton-in-Gordano
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotha Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotha Villa B&B

Property: Gotha Villa B&B
Address: 39 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Portishead
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portishead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotha Villa is a characterful Victorian property in Portishead. Its enviable location means that it enjoys dramatic views of the Severn Estuary, whilst being within easy walking distance of local shops and the High Street. There is an onsuite double bedroom available to guests. The house has a lovely position over the Severn Estuary looking out at the remote Denny Island, to the Welsh hills beyond and the lake grounds and fields below. The bedroom overlooks the Victorian walled gardens. The room has a TV . There is also internet access. Off-street parking is available. We cannot take pets as we already have our own friendly Golden Retriever. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gotha Villa B&B Portishead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing