We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stunning outdoor heated pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portishead Open Air Pool

Portishead Open Air Pool
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Portishead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning outdoor heated pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

What a great location for a family trip out. Great views on the terraces, lovely clear swimming pool, a good length 33m, nice temperature and a separate lane for serious swimmers. Lovely paddling pool for toddlers too. Even good for the environmentally conscious with a wood burning boiler heating the water.

Great cafe/restaurant next door with a view. Overall an excellent trip out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiejuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    6
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely reviving swim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

It is such a lovely place to swim outdoors. The water is kept at a temperature that suits serious swimming and playful time. The kiosk is priced right for the fuelling hungry children. You can picnic on the terraces, enjoying the view. There is a seaside feel to the place, especially with the views out over the water. I love seeing the ships moving up and down and the smaller sailboats whizzing around. It is a strange feeling doing a length because I am used to a 25 m pool and this is slightly longer.
There is a cafe with a view out over the water - it is a lovely place to watch the shoreline. The cafe is under new ownership (2012) and I have on good authority that it is much improved - I will be trying it out this summer. I live in Bath, so I have to make a bit of a trek to get to this swimming hole - but it is worth it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank GSandKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klosters, Switzerland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Warmer than you might expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

For an open air pool a few meters from the actual sea, you might think this place would be windy and cold. The water when we were there was 28 degrees, very pleasant and the high sided walls protect swimmers from the wind.
Friendly staff, cafe attached and plenty of free parking.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank zaplocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glorious swim in the rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Swimming in this country is normally a sanitised, stuffy, chlorinated experience at the local pool. Not here! A breath of fresh air to be able to swim outdoors in the rain no less! The kids loved it (especially as it's heated) and finished it off with hot chocolates all round for 50p. Brilliant!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portishead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Places like this are closing and they shouldn't. Important part of our heritage. Fab place, good value. Only criticism was the weather but not their fault! Will be back for summer.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portishead Open Air Pool also viewed

 

Been to Portishead Open Air Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing