We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average! GOOD for a Monday night”
Review of Aqua

Aqua
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Portishead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Better than average! GOOD for a Monday night”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Lovely surprise meal out in this Aqua. I had forgotten this location now open and thought our driver was going the long way round to Bristol! We had just missed the early bird menu which I do think should run all night early in the week. We shared a starter of pulled duck...delicious. I enjoyed my pasta dish main but too much pasta, the sea bass main was superb. Very good service and half full on a Monday, which is very impressive, so plenty of atmosphere. Good view of the marina but not sure I would want to eat outside as looking towards Waitrose car park. Will be back to try a lunchtime and early evening menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorganLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    142
    56
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not a quiet place in the evening”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Used this place for lunch on a couple of occasions and it's been fine. Went on Friday evening for a birthday meal and it is definitely not suitable for a romantic evening.
I think the problem is that it has a bar and people use it before going out on the 'lash'. Had to ask to turn the music down as it was way too loud for a restaurant setting.
The food was okay, not bad not special.
The service was so efficient that we felt rushed, almost like dining in a London restaurant where you have a set time to eat your meal, in fact our starters arrived before we had finished our small plate of cheese and salami which we had ordered as an intro, thinking we may have to wait some time, as we were already hungry.
Tables seem much too close together, and you needed to talk in raised voices to hear each other over other people,s conversations and the noise coming from the staff clattering the cutlery around by the kitchen.
Not as enjoyable as I had hoped.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlokeinBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“top of the marina”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

we use most of the restraunts on the Marina and this is the best,their steak is by far the top in the whole area an good value for the quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDYPORTISHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast when visiting the marina. The setting is nice and the decor is pleasing to the eye. We were serviced promptly although the food and drinks took a while to come out. I had poached egg on toast which was very soggy. Clearly when the egg was taken out of the water it was put straight in te toast without draining. This made the toast sloppy and unpleasant. When my husband mentioned it to the staff the response was "oh". No apology or offer of a price reduction. On that basis I wouldn't return.

Helpful?
Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“average - needs more oomph!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stopped off for a quick breakfast overlooking the marina - choose your table carefully so you aren't overlooking waitrose car park! Pleasant place to stop on a sunny day. Sausage sandwich was fine but was literally sausage between bread bereft of any garnish at all. Coffee was fine, service was fine. Overall there was nothing to make us want to go back or sample the evening menu, just need to make the overall experience and the food a bit more impressive. For breakfast they aren't offering anything that you cannot get at a few other places in portishead and they weren't busy despite the location so clearly there is room for them to just put in a little bit more effort and give the place some oomph!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua also viewed

Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 
Weston-in-Gordano, Portishead
Portishead, Somerset
 

Been to Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing