We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great takeaway, lovely chicken” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghandi Tandoori

Ghandi Tandoori
Ranked #22 of 42 Restaurants in Portishead
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great takeaway, lovely chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This is our go to takeaway in Portishead. Always consistently great chicken and lamb. Staff very friendly. Can't comment on drinks as have never had drink there

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank johncuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    31
    14
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best curry ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. Best curry we have had and we had tried many places. Staff VERY friendly and helpful. Only negative would be the coke a little flat. We can't wait to return!

Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Always great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We try to go here often, because in my opinion it is one of the best Indian restaurants I have been to. We take friend when they visit and they generally feel the same. The shashlik dishes are great, not greasy and a good quantity of meat. Naan is light and fluffy. You can request a balti or other dish to a specific heat e.g we like vegetable balti and have it madras. Good service, wine reasonable price and always well chilled





Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ghandi Tandoori Left Me Flat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My friend and I went in Ghandi Tandoori last Saturday evening, We both ordered Coke Cola drinks, one half Pint = £1.80 and a Pint £3.60. Both drinks certainly were not chilled and came from under the counter and not the fridge, the drinks were completely flat and tasted horrid.
When i complained they did take them away and told us they only had coke served from the 3 Litre family bottles.When I saw the size of the bottles they were massive, I have been told you can pick them up at Iceland for £1.98 a bottle so they get £18.90 that is over 800% mark up,they are more interested in making big profits and quite happy to serve loyal customers flat Luke warm drinks,the bottles of coke are so big they don't even fit in the fridge.
I told the manager he should be ashamed of himself and he looked sheepish when he realized i new what they are up to.
I do business in Bristol 3 or 4 times a year and love Indian food this restaurant is near the Travel Lodge so was ideally placed for us.This is the second time i have been to Ghandi on the first Visit it was very busy and they forget our side orders of 2 Bombay potatoes and Mushroom Bhaji, it was so hard to catch the waiters eye, so we just ate our curry's and done without the side orders.It's really sad when restaurants blatantly rip people off, they are well aware that coke does not serve well from already open big bottles and coke should be served chilled.
The curry was nice but they won't be seeing me again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Very accommodating as we were a group of 12. Food was piping hot and generous portions. Everyone was served at the same time instead of in dribs and drabs. Waiters very attentive but not intrusive. Ambience not brilliant but it's what you make it. Will be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sipwhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghandi Tandoori also viewed

Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 
Portishead, Somerset
 
Portishead, Somerset
 

Been to Ghandi Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing