We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and comfortatble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Toby Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have stayed here quite regularly over the years and we feel we get good value and a good nights sleep when we do stay.

The suites are nice as are the executive rooms, although they only have Velux windows so no view.

The other rooms are a little dated and need improving a little.

The breakfast used to be really good but now a buffet for hot food not cooked to order, and tea with water form a flask, so ask for a pot from the kitchen otherwise it is not too good

Staff are always helpful and friendly and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the executive ones on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badger1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Badger1953

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and we are delighted you always get a good night’s sleep. With regard to the breakfast, we offer table service during the week and a buffet service at the weekend, this is due to the hotel being occupied by leisure guests, quite rightly they want a leisurely experience so they do tend to all come down to breakfast 5/10 minutes before breakfast closes, this would make cooking to order impossible, however, we still expect our breakfast to be of a high quality, and if you receive any product that you are not happy with we will be more than happy to change it for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night on the 28th December 2013, as both my partner and I were going a family party nearby. This was very much a spur of the moment decision as the cost of one night’s stay (including breakfast for two) was very reasonable.

We had a had meals at the ‘Toby’ restaurant, including the ‘Fallen Angel’ Italian restaurant many times, although we have found the food/service at both these restaurants to be good, in the recent past the standard of service and the quality of the food in ‘Toby’ restaurant has declined,(see comment from Traveler208_10) so we both wondered what the hotel would be like (neither of us had stayed before)

We arrived at the hotel at approx 17.30 and first impressions were very good, we were met at the hotel reception by a lady who was helpful and efficient, and we were checked in no time.

When we got to our room, the room was bigger than expected with a double bed, and a single bed. The room was clean with lots white fluffy towels - excellent start!!!!!! (The only negative point was the view from the window, - nice view of the wheelie bins at the back of the hotel, quickly rectified by closing the curtains)

After we returned that night (early hours of the morning) we were met by a security guard who let us in with no problems (didn’t even ask who we were or proof we were stating at the hotel!) and then we went to bed.

The bed was very comfortable; in fact I’d go as far as to say it was probably one of the best hotel beds I’ve ever slept in, needless to say we had a good night’s sleep. In the morning went down for breakfast at approx 09.00 (breakfast during the festive period is between 08.00 -10.00), had no problem finding a table, was able to help ourselves to tea/coffee/fruit juice (as much as you want) and also cereals (there was also a choice of fresh fruit, yogurts etc) sat down at the table and the waitress was very quick to come to our table and take our order (good choice of cooked breakfast also toast)

I would described the breakfast itself as OK (I’ve had better and I’ve had worse) my partners beans were cold, and the bacon was a bit fatty to say the least, but there was nothing wrong with the service.

Left the hotel at approx 10.30 with the minimum of fuss.

Overall a very good experience and we would defiantly stay again, overall service was good, standard of the room was good, a few minor points with breakfast (as previously stated), the edge of the bath could have done with resealing as it was a bit mouldy with mildew, the curtain rail was rusting, and the view from the window wasn’t good, but as I said these were minor points.
For the price paid excellent value I think!

One last point, for some strange reason the numbering of the rooms does not corresponded with the floor level, so for example if your room number starts with a 3 (310 for example) you would expect this to be the third floor, conversely room 210 on the second, no it’s not, 310 is on the second floor and 210 is on the first floor – confusing!!!!!!!!!! (There is a sign in the left explaining this, and the lady on the desk may have also done so, if she did and just wasn’t taking any notices, sorry!!!) But why not just change the numbers on the rooms?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterUKAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear ManchesterUKAndy

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning. Your comments regarding the room have been passed to our maintenance team.

Regarding the restaurant, it is very disappointing to read, but I have passed your comments to the Manager who will discuss with his team as we take our standards of guest service very seriously

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Having dined here for many years it is disappointing to report that over the last 3 months the service and quality of the food is not of the standard we have expeienced from the Royal Toby.
Today for example we had to wait 20 mins whilst seated at the table to be served. Our drinks did not arrive within this time and when we asked where they were we were told they had lost the order.
When the starters arrived there was more lettuce than prawns. The steaks were either tough or had more fat than meat. The vegetables were beyond description, under cooked and poor selection.
The restaurant was obviously under staffed, and the girls need training on how to serve a table, ie: Ladies first.
There never used to be any doubt about the service and food at the Royal Toby, but something has obviously changed.
If any of the Deckers management team are reading this review I would suggest they visit the hotel as soon as possible before other regulars choose an alternative venue to dine.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Traveler208_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Traveler208_10

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve what we do. Having investigated your concerns I have to say that we did make some errors on the day for which we are deeply apologetic, however, having spoken to the team and to yourselves the team did everything they could to put things right. As you can see from many of our other reviews, this is a very rare occurrence and we will work hard to ensure it is not repeated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on fri 13th after dining at the Crimble. The room we had was in the lodge,it was a lovely room nicely decorated. Tea, coffee etc plus good sized tv, also hairdryer and trouser press. It was a very quite room which was fab. Breakfast was plentiful self service, staff were very pleasant.We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear LancashireJas,

Thank you for your kind words. I'm really delighted to hear that your stay at The Royal Toby Hotel was most enjoyable and that our team looked after you so well. It's great to hear that you'll definitely stay with us again and I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Enjoyed our stay here yesterday 08/12/2013. Staff fabulous in dining room Rhydings. Reception and bar staff very helpful and cheerful. Breakfast very good and a good choice of items. Only tidgy criticism was the level of lighting in the bedroom, a tad dim.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdaviesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear cadace1

Thank you for your kind review and I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were fabulous. I have passed on your lovely review to the team and hope that we can welcome you to The Royal Toby Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Just returned from a two day stay. We booked to see a show with Joe Longthorne and saw the offer of a dine and stay the night before the show. It was excellent value. The menu had lots of choice, the restaurant was very cosy, warm, and nicely decorated. The staff were very good.
The rooms were clean, large, comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
The show was fantastic, with a dinner before the show. The food came out hot, which can be difficult to achieve when catering for a large crowd.
The service was good throughout the evening.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a stay or just a visit for a meal.
Their own website will give you as good or better deal you will find on any booking website.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Terry,

Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay at the hotel and enjoyed the show with Joe Longthorne. It's always an extremely popular show and it's great to hear that you thought it was fantastic.

It's also really great to hear that your room was clean, large & comfortable and that you enjoyed the pre-show dinner too. I'm really pleased that you would recommend The Royal Toby Hotel and I do hope that we can welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lovely hotel with a lovely atmosphere , excellent value for money . We ate in the restaurant in the evening the staff were most helpful and friendly and the food was lovely , Bedroom was clean and comfortable ,and breakfast was one of the best we have had delicious . Overall a really pleasant hotel will defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenharrrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear karenharrrigan,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Royal Toby and it is great to hear that you had a lovely stay and that our team were helpful and friendly. I have passed on your kind comments to the team and am delighted to hear that we will be welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.3 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.3 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
225 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Toby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Toby Hotel

Address: Manchester Road | Castleton, Rochdale OL11 3HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range: £54 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Toby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Success of the Royal Toby is in our commitment to consistency and high standards. Our spacious en-suite bedrooms are designed with flair, style and luxury. For that ultimate indulgence choose from a range of Superior rooms, some feature four poster beds and in others marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Toby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing