We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Toby Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A great Hotel to meet up with our friends. Staff very kind and helpful. Room very clean but décor a little dark. Food excellent and catered very well for a diabetic and coeliac in our party.
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Anthony L

We are pleased to receive your review and we are very happy that you found your visit a good one and that you found the team very kind and helpful. We take allergies very seriously and are able to accommodate almost all food allergies as our food is made fresh to order. Your comments have been passed on to the team at the Toby Hotel & Restaurant who look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a stay& dine deal £79, absolute bargain! Sunday 23rd feb.Rooms are lovely clean&comfortable. Staff are fab breakfast is ccoked to order.cant think of a single criticism.no need to upgrade rooms are great wherever you are. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Adele b

We are so pleased to hear that you can highly recommend the Royal Toby Hotel and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have passed all your comments on to the team who are delighted with your comments. We do hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed on the 23rd February left 24th in the morning. Arrived to a really welcoming greeting by the receptionist who went and checked our room was ready for us. Gave us the key an told us if there was anything we needed to let her know. Got to the room an it was of high standard. Went down to the bar where we were dealt the same friendly service by the staff as the receptionist earlier. We then went onto the fallen angel where our service was just as good. The waiters and waitresses couldn't of done anymore for us always polite and friendly. Food was also amazing. Had a great night and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommi_H0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Tommi HO

We are delighted to read that you had an "absolutly top" stay on your recent visit to the Royal Toby Hotel and that the food in the Fallen Angels was amazing. We have passed your comments to all the team who are really pleased and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When we arrived at about 4.00pm, we were greeted with a smile and a warm friendly welcome by a lady receptionist, (Nina), who is a very valuable asset and a credit to your company.
We unpacked, found the room to be of a high standard, then went to the bar. The staff on the bar were of the same nature, as the receptionist, friendly, smiling, happy and helpful, again a credit and more than an asset in these times.

A taxi was ordered for us and we had a lovely meal at Nutter’s, returned to the Hotel about 9.50pm the same smile and friendly welcome awaited us. She then said, “ Next time you are here, try our restaurant facilities, which you will not be disappointed with”, she said, “as they are fantastic, and also a very high standard”. I said we would look at it.

Next morning we came down to breakfast. We were surprised to find that all of the staff associated with breakfast and cleaning were all happy, smiling and helpful to me and my wife. Plus the full breakfast was very good to a very high standard.

On returning to our room the same helpful friendly receptionist was there, I enquired if the Hotel was privately owed or part of a large chain, I was informed that you were private. What does show is that many of your staff have been there 10,12, 13 and in some cases over 20 years. What a credit your staff are to you and something that is rare. They obviously enjoy their jobs, they have a pride in what they do, they are happy, smiling and really want to help customers.

Our stay with you was on the back of a cancellation by another Hotel, that will be there loss, as we will come again to stay and eat in your truly amazing happy Hotel. Please keep up the good work.

We would be obliged if you would pass on my wife’s and I’s congratulations to all your lovely unique staff.

Thank you for our experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Bill A

Thank you for spending the time to submit such a lovely review. We have taken great delight in passing on all your comments to the whole team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and do hope you manage to try out one of our own restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband & I spent the evening on the sleep & dine experience, we were upgraded to a more superior room as our entry fob would not work the door.
The room was well equipped & very warm the four poster bed was great.
The meal was really good a great steak that was cooked to perfection.
Breakfast was really nice with lots of choice that would suit all.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Dam65

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent sleep and dine experience. Your feedback has been passed through to the whole team and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday for our wedding anniversary & went to the Mr & Mrs night, we had a fantastic night with Leroy Lurve & a fantastic stay at the hotel. All the staff where lovely especially the reception staff who mades us really welcome. The room was fab & really clean and the food in the evening was great as well as breakfast in the morning. The only problem was it wasn't long enough. Can't wait to come back. Thanks again Barbara & Bob Dale xxx

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Babs804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Babs804

Happy Anniversary. We are delighted that you chose us to help celebrate your special occasion.. We have passed your feedback to the team who are totally thrilled with your great reviews. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times, most recently in January.

We had a four poster room, which was lovely. The staff are pleasant and friendly, and very helpful.

Although we didn't have an evening meal, we had breakfast which was very nice.

The location of the hotel is only a short taxi ride to Rochdale centre, where there is plenty of shopping, eating and drinking choices.

We will definitely return, in fact planning a trip as I write!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Jayne W

We are thrilled to receive your fantastic feedback which has been passed over to everyone at the Toby. We do look forward to welcoming you again very soon and hopefully we can tempt you to dine with us in the Royal Toby Restaurant or the Fallen Angels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
2.4 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
243 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Toby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Toby Hotel

Address: Manchester Road | Castleton, Rochdale OL11 3HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range: £53 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Toby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Success of the Royal Toby is in our commitment to consistency and high standards. Our spacious en-suite bedrooms are designed with flair, style and luxury. For that ultimate indulgence choose from a range of Superior rooms, some feature four poster beds and in others marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Toby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing