We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a diamond of a find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fernhill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
newry co down ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a diamond of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is my second stay in fernhill,first time was last year for 1 night stay over booked by my cousin who lives in rochdale.first time was summer and there isn't words to explain the fabulous view and the farm itself with the stables .this time we stayed over the weekend in winter,it's snowed and it felt so much more special looking out the window onto the stables ,I love this place,it's spotless ,friendly,trusting,Jennifer is lovely and can't do enough,I lost all my flight documents she let me use computer,we had baby the first time,we were allowed to stay longer than checkout with baby ,what you need if it can be done they will help,I can't recommended it highly enough,I'm coming back in summer with my mum and baby and I can't wait..this is a special find.

Room Tip: Oak room looks right over Rochdale and can see the beautiful horse as soon as you open curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 311Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
21
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Fernhill for our annual treat to Nutters restaurant and it was just as good as the first time we stayed.

We asked for some directions to a local pub that we could walk to before we booked and sure enough when we arrived a hand drawn map was provided for us to walk across all the local fields to the local pub.

The rooms are clean and it is nice to see a hotel operate on an old fashioned trust system.

Brilliant hotel for a nice relaxing night away in the hills. Will certainly stay again.

Thanks for your hospitality, Darren and Claire

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Fernhill is on a working farm and accessed by the farm road.
On arrival our keys were waiting as promised. Our family room was immaculate. Modern and clean. Beds were comfy and bathroom had everything you could need.
The view was stunning over Rochdale. Stabling is available too, which meant we had 3 of Santa's reindeer grazing outside our room in the morning!
I have recomended it to friends and family.
The only thing that would make it any better would be the option to have a cooked breakfast. However the breakfast room was excellent and we had more than enough to eat.

Room Tip: The Oak Room was perfect for Mum and Dad and one child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I didn't stay here myself but booked on behalf of a friend who just needed the one night's accommodation in Rochdale. I took him there from the station and had a good look around. What a lovely feel to the place! It's a farm on the edge of the moors with a fantastic view of the Manchester skyline. There's no 'reception' but, as arranged by 'phone, an envelope, containing keys, had been left with his name on it. The room was clean and comfortable with TV etc. and a modern en-suite shower room. An adjacent room had a microwave, sink, and fridge for communal use. The room-only price was a very reasonable £30 and, for an extra £2.50, drinks, cereal and toast were available for you to prepare yourself in the breakfast room. Excellent!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 'Stables' appeared to be newer and possibly larger but I'm not 100% sur...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank suzannef112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Fernhill offers superb very comfortable rooms at an excellent price. Very clean and modern practical bathrooms. A cereal, toast and juice / coffee / tea breakfast for 2.50 open 24/7. There are horses right next door and sheep just the other side of the fence ! The staff smile smile smile and are a pleasure to meet. The location is so quiet one can hear a pin drop and the view is terrific. So - whether you are a traveling salesman, 3 day visitor to Rochdale as I am, need a good value break with your lady, or simply just some fresh air and peace and quiet I highly recommend this place. After my review I hope I can get in next time !!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy030754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

we stayed at the Fernhill bed and breakfast earlier this year for 2 nights with our little boy whilst visiting family in Rochdale and Heywood. This was our first bed and breakfast experience in Rochdale and we were really surprised at how lovely it was, we had been given a large double bedroom in the converted steading overlooking Rochdale. It is so peaceful and very much like home for us. The room was pleasant and bathroom really nice, we were left to our own devices with our key left in the box for us, we met Jennifer the owner when we were leaving, she is lovely. we didn't have breakfast here as we were with family but I am sure it would have been fine. The place can book up quickly in advance as we found out this weekend as we stayed somewhere terrible as Jennifer had no rooms left and we kept comparing it to Fernhill.. we will definitely stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Overnight stop with my daughter. Arrived early evening and key left in key box with instructions. More than adequate and greeting person not essential. First impressions very good. I knew I would like it from just parking up. What a view! Ontop of hill looking down to Rochdale. Room was first class. Very clean and tidy. I liked thr wet room too. View from window were sheep. So peaceful.

The breakfast room was lovely. Very clean with wooden furniture. Breakfast was cereal, juice and toast, all for £2.50. I could have stayed there forever! Next time I will. Shops and Rochdale just down the road. Jennifer the landlady came the following day at 9.00am and she was lovely. had a nice chat before leaving.

Would recommed Fernhill to anyone.

Room Tip: None. I told Jennifer that I would like twin beds and this was done (The room was a double) at no ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_salmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
6.5 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fernhill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Fern Hill Lane | Lanehead, Rochdale OL12 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill is a unique bed and breakfast nestled amongst some of the most tranquil surroundings in the North West. It is situated in a small hamlet accessed by a private lane and surrounded by serene, breath-taking views. We have a large private car park so parking is never a problem. Double rooms at only £50 (£25pp) Fernhill is just a few minutes walk from the Mary Townley Loop on the new pennine bridleway at Rooley Moor, making it an ideal stop-off for horse riders and cyclists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernhill Bed And Breakfast Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing