We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our married life.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Last weekend my new wife and I had our reception at the Norton Grange hotel in Rochdale. We had a small reception in the Springhill suite, one of the smaller reception rooms in the hotel. Despite this, from the start we were made to feel special. Michelle, the wedding co ordinator went out of her way to calm the fears of my bride, who was nervous that the day wouldn't go to plan. From the start the day went so much smoother than either of us expected it would and this was especially the case with the reception. We have Michelle's planning and preparation to thank for that.
I would also like to commend the duty manager Ben, who, on the day made sure that our every requirement was catered for. He was very attentive, polite and professional ( even when he had to deal with my most raucous guest ). His attention to detail made sure that the reception proceeded without any problems and he was reliably aided by the other members of staff on duty, who made sure that the meal ran smoothly and that our guests were catered for.
I have had quite a bit of feedback from our guests about the food. Everyone has said that they enjoyed their meals. Apparently the cheesecake was " to die for " ( but I had a very generous helping of Dutch apple tart, which was also very nice ). The other courses also received very favourable comments, especially the lamb.
Right from the start we were very pleasantly surprised by the level of service including the complementary room on our wedding night and the months membership of the spa.
i would like to end by thanking everyone concerned at the hotel for their contributions towards making our wedding day one to truly remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald_Stewart, Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear Stuart
Thank you for your comments regarding your wedding at Norton Grange, I would like to wish you and your wife best wishes for the future.
I have spoken with Michelle and Ben and thanked them for looking after you so well before and after your special day. I will also pass your comments onto the kitchen team who delighted your guests with the desserts!
Hope to see you again soon at Norton Grange.
Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

Would highly reommend the hotel, for a rate not far above very basic hotel we were really impressed. Room was modern and very clean with all the usual facilities.

Well worth a trip to the pool and Spa as while the pool was very standard (and too cold) there were several different saunas and steam rooms and also a very large jacuzzi half of which is outdoors but plenty hot enough, unusual and works really well!

We ate in the hotel and again the food was superb, prices pretty normal and standard of the food above average.

Finally every member of staff we met was helpful far beyond any expectation, on each occasion they not only did they're job but were friendly and went out of their way to help, if one of the managers reads this I hope they fully appreciate what an asset the staff are.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoju19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald_Stewart, Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I really appreciate your comments and will pass them onto the staff concerned. Staff are the most important part of our business as we are in the business of making people happy and I am glad we have achieved this with you.
We do have a great Spa at the hotel and have so many great reviews.
I do hope we will see you again soon at the hotel.
Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed for a week while attending a training course, and was pleasently suprised, much better than other places I have stayed in similar circumstances.This was a very good venue and the facilities were great. Don't be put off by the rather dark, old fashioned wood reception area!
The hotel rooms are not large but more than adequate. Everything well maintained, through out the hotel. Friendly staff. The food was very good both during the course, and in the evening. The food felt like someone had actualy taken care to cook it and not just stuck it on a plate; well presented and tasty.
The confernce facilities were clean, bright and well serviced.
The Spa facility attached to the hotel is very good, nice pool and sauna/steam room/hot tub. Though I did not use the gym, there appeared to be planty of machines and it was not overused, so again a very positive impression.
I would defiately use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald_Stewart, Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear 7SAT

Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent conference with us at Norton Grange. Its so important especially when you are staying away from home all week that you recieve great service and good wholesome home cooked food. I will pass your comments onto the staff concerned, the chef will be happy!
We do have great conference facilities and its always good to unwind later on in the Spa or Gym as you did.
I hope you can return on a personal note next time away from work!

Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

we had a late booking for 6 at a party night. we were accommodated without fuss and given
a table in a good position for all the evenings fun and entertainment. the food was excellent and served by friendly staff. the dj was good fun and kept the dance floor full until 1pm.

definitely a place for next years christmas party

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald_Stewart, Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear David

I am so glad you had a great Christmas party at Norton Grange. I will pass your comments onto the staff and the DJ who kept you all up on the dancefloor.
Its great to recieve good reviews about the hotel it really helps our business.

Look forward in inviting you back next year for your Christmas cellebrations.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here one night, was ok nothing to boast about really, rooms were modern and clean. Bar service was slow, the guy couldn't of gone slower if he tried, waited 30mins for someone else to change beer barrel, drinks were quite expensive too. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald_Stewart, Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Kaleboo

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay especially the bedroom.
I am sorry that the service you received in the bar was unacceptable, it’s really not on that you had to wait to be served and I will speak with the Bar Manager regarding the issues surrounding the barrel change.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for a 2 night break which we got off a daily deal site, it was an utter bargain! the hotel has an inviting and cosy feel, it is a old country house which has been turned in to an hotel in the 60's. The hotel has a spa in which you can have treatments, we found it very expensive so didn't bother but did make use of the pool, saunas and fantastic jacuzzi which is open to the outside and is so relaxing! The rooms are very nice and have a nice bathroom with a fab shower. the bed was amazing and so comfy. We ate in the hotel both nights and thought the meals had a ala carte feel to them and was quite expensive but what you get is nice food, we had steak which was cooked to perfection! you can eat in the resturant or the bar area which is a bit more relaxed, The brekfast was beautiful with the sausage and bacon been of good quality and a good variety to choose from. The staff are accomadating but not all are warm and friendly although one lady in the resturant was lovely, very down to earth and honest about what we chose to eat! The wine is very expensive if you choose from the wine list or you can get a house wine for £18 which is nice, but we thought the bar area was nice so we sat in there both nights and enjoyed the wine and cheese and biscuits!!. The down side was we went on a Monday so the hotel was full of business people so changed the atmosphere abit. Manchester is about a 15 min drive away and easy to find, Rochdale town is a 5 min drive away! All in all a positive and happy stay!

Room Tip: for £20 a night you can upgrade to a bigger room and get free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clancabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald_Stewart, Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Clancabel

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay here at Norton Grange. I will let the chef know that you were over the moon about your steak with it being cooked to perfection.
The showers are really great and give you a good head start for the day. We really do have a great Spa and we receive so many great comments about the Jacuzzi, you could stay in there for hours.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Last Saturday (26.11.11) we held a Gala Dinner at the Norton Grange! The service from Michelle, the events manager was wonderful and what a great night everyone had!
The food was piping hot and delicious, (93 people!), the service excellent and any request we had the duty Manager Mike, sorted it quickly!
Breakfast food was just as good, with plenty of choice!
Thanks everyone at the Norton Grange, we will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald_Stewart, Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Alison

It is always nice to receive such great comments about the food and the staff. I will pass your comments onto the team especially Michelle and Mike who looked after your booking. It was a pleasure having you all in the hotel and look forward in welcoming you back to Rochdale next December.

Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
474 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
235 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range: £59 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing