We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

visited Norton Grange on a college trip and had a great time. The staff and service are excellent. The spa facilities were great quality and there was fantastic choice. We were provided with a buffet lunch as part of our package and the food was good quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, its always pleasing to recieve such great comments. I will pass on your thoughts to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    308
    189
    111
    72
See reviews for
197
319
40
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Only went for 1 night, but got there about 4, enjoyed a swim, sauna and full use of facilities, then had evening meal, and sat in the bar. Was a fantastic, relaxing and chilled night and day, the food was good, the staff were helpful and very nice, going to go back for the weekend with the hubby.

Room Tip: rooms in the courtyard are very village like
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louienfrankofLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, its always pleasing to see that our guests enjoy the facilities. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here in December but unfortunately had to make a complaint to the manager. Unlike other managers who try to fob you off Mr Yoxall the manager was a credit to the company and offered outstanding customer service.

We have just returned from another two night weekend break at this hotel and have nothing but praise for the standard of accommodation, the friendly, helpful staff and quality of food on offer, both at breakfast and in the restaurant where we had our evening meal on both nights.

We went for a spa weekend and the gym, pool and spa facilities were great, which included fresh white robes and towels. Having stayed at quite a few spa hotels we can definitely say this is certainly one of the best. I wish all establishments offered this quality of customer service, we will definitely be returning and have recommended it to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor near the spa which was great for easy access for an early dip in the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue3728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed on many occasions, as we find it relaxing.
Rooms, clean, tidy, bathrooms nice, tea/coffee ok, could do with updating, no biscuits this time, maybe an error.
As a late check in & late booking, they accommodated us well, dinner served in bar as the grange suite was booked up, meal was nice, and was efficient , had a lovely evening.
Spa, has ice room, 2 steam rooms and 2 saunas, all very nice to relax in, the heated hydro/ spa pool is a favourite , and sure to please you. The pool, clean and quiet, overall, nice.
The spa upstairs we didn't use on this stay
We had slight problem with breakfast ordered via room service coming upto our room cold. This did annoy, as didn't want to go down to dine for breakfast, we did however go down, and got an apology, we had lovely breakfast, although poached eggs cold served on cold plates too.
It's minor niggles, and none of this spoilt our break here.
We will return as we like this hotel.
I'd reccomend to friends and to people reading this review

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. It’s great to see people returning to the hotel on a regular basis, I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here and was very disappointed!

The service was poor and the food was even worse cold dry and tasteless it looked like it was thrown on the plate.

There was a manager around that we overheard him speaking to his staff like they was dogs he cane across as very rude!

The room was standard and In need of a paint!

Would not return

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank loganbear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, please do give me a call at the hotel to discuss the issues you have mentioned, I am sorry that you encountered so many problems during your visit and I would like to address them with you.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rochdale hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in the suite for 1 night and from the moment we walked into the hotel we were made to feel extremely welcome, the receptionist was friendly and very informative, the room itself was really good with a separate lounge with desk table and chairs, settee and flat screen TV, through the archway into the bedroom which had a king size bed with another flat screen TV and a door leading to the en suite, a bath and separate shower with a selection of toiletries here. There was plenty of space and luxury in the room.
We ordered room service for dinner which was superb, we could not fault the food at all nor the room in fact when we went to breakfast the choice was immense and not only do you get to choose the usual breakfast you would expect but you can order items from the kitchen to order as well....... faultless!!!
I would like to be able to advise on the spa but unfortunately we didn't use this due to an injury and were advised by the doctor not to, I could only say that if the spa is based on the same standard as the hotel then this would be superb as well!!!
I would recommend this hotel as we had an amazing overnight stay and the staff and environment were so relaxing we came away feeling that we had been away for longer, the hotel and its staff are a credit to Damon the manager. Thank you for a fantastic stay!!
Terry

Room Tip: Ask for the Bridal Suite room 108 it is as described
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel overnight and had a meeting there the next day. My room was great (although the reception staff did admit it was one of the best in the hotel) and the evening meal was very good.
The swimming pool was clean, a good temperature and slightly longer than many hotel pools.
The meeting facilities were excellent, a good sized room, coffee on tap, snacks during the day and a good buffet lunch in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent meetings, it’s pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will be passing your comments onto the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing