We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was fortunate to stay at this hotel during a business trip to Manchester. It was very quaint and very well appointed. The bathroom was extremely clean (a plus for sure). My only compliant was that the hotel weekend staff was not very attentive. We waited about 1 hr. for someone to take our dinner order and we had to fetch out drinks at the bar, rather than someone bringing over. During the week the service was better. No real grounds to walk around, however, there is a really nice path that runs behind the hotel (can be accessed a short walk away by nearby pub). Good breakfast. Lovely area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, it’s always pleasing to receive such great comments. I will pass on your thoughts to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back soon. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the service at the weekend which I will investigate.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    317
    195
    115
    76
See reviews for
206
329
41
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed last night at this hotel and I must say that the service we received was as good as you would expect at any 5 star hotel!

Myself and my husband had never stayed at the hotel before so were both left feeling content when the friendly receptionist advised the location of all the amenities within the hotel.

The restaurant team again were very friendly and couldn't have done any more to have made us feel as welcome as we did, particularly Rama and Preston.

There was a good choice on the menu and the food was excellent with decent size portions.

Claire from the bar was very friendly and made us feel as though whatever we asked, nothing would be too much.

The service we received from all of the staff was excellent and we will be recommending the hotel to our friends and family.

Sophie from the Spa rounded up the perfect weekend by making me feel so welcome and relaxed after the Spa treatments I received.

We both can't wait to return! I'm already talking to my friends about returning for a pamper weekend...

Room Tip: We stayed in a privileged room for a few pound more and received extras like bath robes and slippers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Wow what a fantastic review, it’s so nice to receive such great comments especially about our great staff, I will pass on your thoughts to the team.

Look forward in welcoming you back; let’s hope you get your Glastonbury tickets!

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire, england
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night after attending a friends wedding. The staff are friendly and thoughtful. We had a ground floor room which was large and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had no trouble with noise from other guests. The carpets in the hotel are showing signs of wear in places, but the remainder of the décor was pleasing on the eye. The wedding venue was excellent and the wedding breakfast delicious, as was the evening buffet. The breakfast the following morning could not be faulted, lots of choice for everyone.We did not get the opportunity to try the spa but heard other guests praising the facilities. The only downside to our stay was the price of drinks at the bar. I know several people left the celebrations early because of the high cost. £5 for a kopperburg is more than excessive, I don't pay that when drinking in Manchester town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, it’s always pleasing to receive such great comments. I will pass on your thoughts to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back soon.

We do try and look after all our guests especially those attending weddings, congratulations to the new Bride & Groom.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

visited Norton Grange on a college trip and had a great time. The staff and service are excellent. The spa facilities were great quality and there was fantastic choice. We were provided with a buffet lunch as part of our package and the food was good quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, its always pleasing to recieve such great comments. I will pass on your thoughts to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Only went for 1 night, but got there about 4, enjoyed a swim, sauna and full use of facilities, then had evening meal, and sat in the bar. Was a fantastic, relaxing and chilled night and day, the food was good, the staff were helpful and very nice, going to go back for the weekend with the hubby.

Room Tip: rooms in the courtyard are very village like
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louienfrankofLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, its always pleasing to see that our guests enjoy the facilities. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here in December but unfortunately had to make a complaint to the manager. Unlike other managers who try to fob you off Mr Yoxall the manager was a credit to the company and offered outstanding customer service.

We have just returned from another two night weekend break at this hotel and have nothing but praise for the standard of accommodation, the friendly, helpful staff and quality of food on offer, both at breakfast and in the restaurant where we had our evening meal on both nights.

We went for a spa weekend and the gym, pool and spa facilities were great, which included fresh white robes and towels. Having stayed at quite a few spa hotels we can definitely say this is certainly one of the best. I wish all establishments offered this quality of customer service, we will definitely be returning and have recommended it to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor near the spa which was great for easy access for an early dip in the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue3728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed on many occasions, as we find it relaxing.
Rooms, clean, tidy, bathrooms nice, tea/coffee ok, could do with updating, no biscuits this time, maybe an error.
As a late check in & late booking, they accommodated us well, dinner served in bar as the grange suite was booked up, meal was nice, and was efficient , had a lovely evening.
Spa, has ice room, 2 steam rooms and 2 saunas, all very nice to relax in, the heated hydro/ spa pool is a favourite , and sure to please you. The pool, clean and quiet, overall, nice.
The spa upstairs we didn't use on this stay
We had slight problem with breakfast ordered via room service coming upto our room cold. This did annoy, as didn't want to go down to dine for breakfast, we did however go down, and got an apology, we had lovely breakfast, although poached eggs cold served on cold plates too.
It's minor niggles, and none of this spoilt our break here.
We will return as we like this hotel.
I'd reccomend to friends and to people reading this review

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. It’s great to see people returning to the hotel on a regular basis, I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
208 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing