We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silver Wedding Anniversary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Silver Wedding Anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a wonderful celebration recently at Norton Grange. From the receptionists through to the caterers and cleaners we were met with friendly and very professional people. For those who took special care of us a Big Thank You to Rama; Preston; Claire and the two young ladies called Chloe. Despite a very busy week-end full of celebrations we were made to feel very special and even the kitchen staff catered for our every need.
Have already booked up for another visit very soon. Veronica & Eddie

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. I will let the staff who you mentioned know about your experiences.
See you again soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    304
    186
    111
    72
See reviews for
194
316
39
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

If your looking for a stay where doors bang all evening - you have a wedding party right outside your window no air conditioning and the corridors smell extremely pungent then you've found the perfect hotel. If not - then don't stay her

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rochdale hotels

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my spa break we stayed one night. The attention to detail was excellent. On arrival the receptionist had noticed we were giving a room near the function suite and as there was a party on that evening it would be rather noisy. Without any fuss she allocated us a better room away from the noise. the food was marvelous staff very friendly. The only thing that bothered me was paying £9 for a glass of wine. When we came down to breakfast there was quite a few people having breakfast in their pyjamas, it is a restaurant not a family dining room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your great review of the hotel. It’s always nice to receive such nice comments; I will pass them on to the team and look forward in welcoming you to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have just had our wedding at the norton grange. Everything from start to finish ran so well all the staff where great especially Preston who ran our wedding he did a fantstic job and was always making sure everybody and everything was ok. the food and service was brilliant.Me and kyle would like to thank you all for helping to make our day perfect. Thank you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly congratulations on your wedding! It’s so nice to receive such great reviews regarding weddings at the hotel I will ensure that all staff are aware of your thoughts.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wanting to go to Coronation Street tour we booked with a local coach company who were absolutely brilliant. The weekend was completely ruined because the hotel we stayed at had two wedding receptions on both nights we stayed. The majority of the coach party were trying to change rooms but whichever room you had the noise would have probably been as bad. Our only evening meal left a lot to be desired and so did the service provided by the dining room staff. Would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are nowhere near the function rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suearthstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately from time to time we do have events on that make noise within the hotel and spoil the experience for other guests. Your comments have been taken into consideration and we will strive to ensure that guests not attending events are not situated near the noise.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My father and I stayed here from 26/06 - 29/06. I chose Rochdale as I had never stayed here before and it was easy to get to Manchester from here. I make a lot of trips to Manchester and as this was a last minute trip, I wanted somewhere with guaranteed (and preferably free) parking.

Firstly, do make sure you have the right postcode- I basically took the one off the website and it turns out that they have two postcodes, one is for their main office and the other is for the hotel. I called them when my Sat Nav took us to a funeral home!!
Eventually we got there and there was plenty of parking.

The lady at the front desk was polite and helpful and showed us how to get to our room.
I had booked a twin room (for obvious reasons) and upon arrival into the room I noticed that the two single beds had been pushed together to form a double. I know this might seem petty but when I am travelling with a family member that isn't my husband, I do expect there to be a bit of knowledge about the type of room that I had requested. We even put in the booking that we were father and daughter.
I know this might also seem trivial but when a room is a twin, I really dislike the fact that it's basically two single beds pushed together- plus the fact that the beds are on wheels means that any turn in the night will make you feel like you're on a magic carpet!!

Once we had separated the beds and unpacked, I also noticed that my side of the room didn't have a reading light. My father's side did.

There was also limited plug sockets for charging phones, iPads etc. I had to use the two sockets on his side of the bed to charge my devices. There is free WiFi in the hotel which my father and I made use of.

On the first night it was rather warm and there is no air conditioning in the rooms so I called down for a fan. I was assured that one was on it's way and half an hour later, still no fan.
My father made the decision to go downstairs to get one.

When the fan was upstairs, we had to move furniture around to get it to a place that it would be effective. We unplugged a light in order to do this.

The room itself was clean, quite large and comfortable (aside from no air conditioning but the fan did the trick). I did enjoy my stay here but I just think that the basics should have been thought of prior to us arriving.

I stay in a lot of hotels and I mostly book separate rooms for my father and I but on this occasion it was more cost effective to stay in the one room.

I enjoyed our lunch that we had on one of the days. I had the Salmon sandwich which was delicious and well prepared.
We also had dinner here which I cannot praise enough- well cooked and delicious food.

Overall I liked this hotel, it's a lovely building with friendly and polite staff, clean rooms and free parking/WiFi.
I would however have liked to have had a reading light by my bedside, a couple of extra plug sockets in the room and perhaps leaving fans in the room throughout the summer months would have saved a bit of bother trying to get one sent to the room.

Rochdale itself I cannot really comment on other than we drove out to find a restaurant one evening and ended up eating at another hotel. There doesn't seem to be much the way of restaurants there (unless I drove to the wrong area- in which case, apologies). We spent most of our time in Manchester and met up with a friend just outside.

I would probably stay here again. It's a good location for where I usually go in Manchester and when I meet up with friends. Free (and lots of) parking attracts me to a hotel so I will no doubt research here before booking my next stay in Manchester.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SillyBabyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent comments following on from your visit to the hotel. Your review is appreciated and I will ensure that extra lighting is added to the room you stayed in.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pleasantly surprised by value of our stay with breakfast and use of pool and gym. Upon arrival it was obvious a wedding was taking place, at check in we we retold there were two weddings taking place. We were apprehensive but as it turned out our room was allocated no where near the function rooms and our stay was not disturbed at all. The gym and pool are of high quality.
All of the staff in all areas we used were friendly professional and efficient.
The breakfast was excellent buffet style and regularly replenished. The price of our stay was the best part. £62.50

Room Tip: We were in 304 on the main road, away from the wedding/function rooms. But if no functions chose one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissProssecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following on from your recent stay. It’s nice to see that you enjoyed your stay, your review will be shared with the rest of the team and we look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing