We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place to stay”
Review of Moss Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moss Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Myself and my partner attended a wedding at Moss lodge on Saturday 26th October 2013, right from the moment we arrived we were welcomed and treated like royalty by the staff, it is a really lovely wedding venue and everything was perfect, we stayed overnight in a beautiful room and had a lovely cooked breakfast the following morning, it is a family run business and the lady that introduced herself as Aunty Pauline is an asset to Moss Lodge, nothing was too much trouble.
I highly recommend this lovely venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 851JanetH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I had a meal here some 18 months ago and rated it very highly.
On Saturday 19th October as part of our 50th Wedding Anniversary celebrations we chose to
return to Moss Lodge for evening dinner together with overnight stay.

What a great choice this was. We had booked the four poster bedroom and it did not disappoint. It is exceptionally well appointed, with high quality furniture and fitments. Cleanliness is outstanding. There is an imaginative dinner menu, augmented by a number of Chef's specials, all home made and sourced from local produce of the highest quality. They have a good selection of decent wines that will not break the bank together with most liqueurs, spirits and a range of beers. Breakfast is one of the best you will get anywhere.

The management and staff are truly wonderful. The chef is magical. From the welcome you get upon arrival, the service they provide throughout your stay, right through to your departure; service with a smile does not come better than this and we cannot praise the hotel team highly enough. They are fabulous.

We will most certainly visit again next month to sample their amazing culinary delights and outstanding hospitality, also in December for their Special lunchtime and evening festive treats.

Thank you Pauline and everyone at Moss Lodge for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good. The four poster room is well worth the small extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It's not often that I would use words such as amazing, wonderful and fantastic in the same sentence but this is how I would describe the service from the team at Moss Lodge. It started before we arrived with and email asking would we require evening meal as I was arriving late, so after a phone call advising they could provide a lovely seafood platter if we were going to be late was a pleasant experience, not one I have experienced before, anyway we arrived in plenty of time and were greeted by Pauline and chef Steve who are two of the nicest people you would want to meet. Steve cooked up a lovely meal while Pauline introduced us to the hotel and showed us our room which was a Deluxe room lovely and comfortable. The hotel itself is set well of the road in it own gated grounds and is very well maintained. I would not hesitate to recommend this to family and friends. It has been a long time since I received a fantastic welcome to a UK hotel like this I cannot give you enough praise on you friendly approach and it was not just to us it was everyone in the hotel. a big well done. You will be definitely seeing us again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The room was really romantic and the staff made us feel really welcome. We had a few rooms booked out and they let us stay up really late drinking at the bar with no complaints. The breakfast was great in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My girlfriend and I had an amazing night here on September 14 as part of a group of friends celebrating my girlfriend's birthday. We needed somewhere fairly central as the rest of the group were travelling from various directions and Moss Lodge was perfectly located. Although Rochdale may seem an unlikely destination choice at first glance, the reviews for Moss Lodge made it an easy decision and, as the hotel is set in it's own private grounds, you almost feel like you could be in the middle of the countryside! It's actually located on the edge of Rochdale with easy access from J21 of the M62 less than 5 mins away. There was a wedding ceremony taking place at the hotel on the afternoon of our visit but the reception was at another venue and our group were never made to feel second best in the slightest. We opted for the deluxe rooms which were warm, comfortable, well appointed, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. In the evening we enjoyed the 3 course set menu (superb value at £30) - a good selection of dishes along with a few specials and, as other reviews have mentioned, the chef came out to discuss the menu and ask for any particular requests - a lovely touch. Essentially, you could pretty much have whatever you wanted, cooked however you wanted it cooking! The whole meal, for 8 people, was, outstanding - beautifully cooked, good portion sizes, and served in the lovely dining room. A birthday cake, which I'd dropped off earlier in the day was brought out by the staff after the meal, complete with candles and a rendition of 'Happy Birthday'! After dinner drinks in one of the gorgeous lounge areas rounded off a perfect evening. After a good night's sleep we were served a delicious breakfast cooked to perfection. My only slight criticism, for a hotel of this calibre, is that it would have been nice to have had the option of a fresh fruit selection. To sum up then - this is a wonderful hotel serving top quality food. What really made the difference though was the outstanding level of service we received from start to finish - attentive, professional but not excessively formal which can be the case at some higher end hotels. Moss Lodge have definitely got the balance just right. Many thanks to Pauline and her team for a memorable stay and we definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The staff were genuinely interested in both customers and the place they work at. Made it a pleasure to stay. The food was excellent and above average for this type of establishment. The service and style of moss lodge made my stop over both pleasurable and comfortable.

Moss lodge staff appear to care about their working environment which makes the hotel welcoming as well as well kept - which is important.

overall I will return if ever in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lovely room, warm welcome. Felt secure, as a lone female traveller it is important, access points are secured after a certain hour, you need your room key to even access the car park. Nice little touches like fresh milk in the room rather than the usual UHT pod things. Didn't have dinner here but breakfast was great, I don't have a big appetite in the morning but felt tempted to go further than the usual bowl of cereal. Would stay again without a doubt.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank DebbiesamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochdale hotels
2.3 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
3.7 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 2 in Whitworth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Lodge

Address: Moss Lodge Kings Road, Rochdale OL16 5HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range: £78 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moss Lodge Hotel. Preferred by both business executives & leisure guests and only minutes from the M60 & M62 motorways and the centre of Rochdale. Built in 1841, this former mill owner’s residence stands majestically in its own landscaped grounds, providing an intimate country house atmosphere that is relaxed yet sophisticated; offering our overnight, conference and wedding guests, quiet luxury and individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Moss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moss Hotel Rochdale
Moss Lodge Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing