We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good guest house, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montrose Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Romford B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good guest house, value for money”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

stayed two nights in very clean room with ensuite facilities. the host/ owner was very friendly and accomodating although at times his inexperience let him down; at arrival he was on the phone and we were met in quite a chaotic way...breakfast was served without any question about what we would like for breakfast...but all the small hickups were delt with in a good manner and excuses were made where appropriate . All in all we enjoyed the clean room and the close proxiity to Romford Centre.
One warning; dont book a room as a present for someone else; the guest house does not trust people to stay if the card used for booking is not in the name of the person staying.. ( in our case the fact that the card was in our sons name - same family name , same address - ment that we had to arrange for payment with another card ... and dont forget to bring identification as we were asked to show this aswell ! ( we will be 50 this year and 30 years married so it can't have been for being under aged 'hanky panky' )
as said ; good clean room , good location, good value for money, with a bit of a thick skin , you will certainly enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here with 2 other colleagues on business in London from mid December 2012 through to the end of March 2013. This is a fantastic guest house in every way, recently refurbished,the rooms are tastefully furnished with the latest in bedroom furniture, fixtures and fittings and are cleaned each day to an exceptional standard. The breakfasts are second to none and you can pretty much have what ever you want . Prash, the guy that owns and manages the guest house is a top man and carn't do enough for you, making you feel very welcome and settled without being in your face all the time like some hotel proprietors. The hotel is on a quiet road with plenty of parking outside on the road and at the front of the hotel, we never lost a nights sleep during our stay. All in all an excellent place to stay, don't bother looking anywhere else .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyh236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Very happy with the room, very clean. The owner was very friendly and knowledgable about local area.
I work away alot and this guesthouse is one of the cleanest, I have stayed in, plan to use again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennish170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-baden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2013

20.Feb 2013: "We stay for one night. Good and very friendly service. Thanks to Prash. We feel us welcome.
The room are clean and have a freezer and teaboiler.
The location is quiet but central to the center. So you don`t need a car when you go to the pub. Wonderful breakfast, which was cooked perfectly. Hope we come back again. "





  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I like to stay in clean and comfy place. Here I got an extra personal attention, but privacy as well.
I appreciate that level of being professional to deliver this kind of feeling for customer.
Welcoming and friendly.
I would just recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed on Saturday 16 February for one night to attend a birthday do in the area and could not have found a better place to stay in Romford. It was spotlessly clean and very central so no need to take the car for our night out. Our room was lovely and clean, comfortable and very quiet and had everything you needed for a perfect nights sleep. I would like to thank Prash and his wife for making us feel so welcome and for the wonderful breakfast, which was cooked perfectly. I would highly recommend this guest house and will definitely be back when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The guest house is very clean and clearly newly renovated, room was a little small but I booked late and got the last room in the place. The real charm of this place is Prash the owner and his wife who couldn't be more welcoming and friendly. I was staying the weekend after my birthday and another friend who was staying there happened to mention this to them, after breakfast the next morning Prash brought out a birthday cake and everyone sung happy birthday! Bit embarrasing when you are 31 but still very nice. They were welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout,

Room Tip: Room 9 was a very small single but still adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romford
0.2 mi away
Travelodge London Romford
1.1 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harefield Manor Hotel
Harefield Manor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Romford
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hornchurch
219 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
4.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose Guest House

Property: Montrose Guest House
Address: 43 Dunton Road, Romford RM1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Romford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Romford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Montrose Guest House we offer quality bed and breakfast accommodation for guests looking to stay in Romford, Essex. Our bed & breakfast has been recently refurbished to a high standard and has modern, comfortable rooms from just £50 per night. At Montrose Guest House you can always be sure of a warm welcome. Romford is a bustling area of Essex with great transport links to London, Stratford (Olympic Village), Southend-on-Sea and beyond; a great suburban base for a city holiday or business professional wanting to stay near central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Montrose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montrose Guest House Romford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing