We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Havering Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Romford B&B and Inns
Romford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is my 3rd week staying at the guest house. I stayed for a week last July, and now in my 2nd week in January. I was so impressed with the cleanliness of the room, the outstanding and friendly service that I received and the extremely flexible checking in times.

It was really easy to find and close to Romford town centre. Good safe parking facilities as it was around the back. Internet signal is high speed so I was able to work in the room in the evenings. The room and bathroom is cleaned daily and tea, coffee, sugar and biscuits are stocked up daily also. If there is a problem you can ring the owner at any time and the issues are soon resolved. I have found it to be extremely quiet and a very comfortable night’s sleep.

I would highly recommend this stay and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
2
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed here in the new year , we was very happy with the service when greeted by a kind gentleman ! This experience was further enhanced when we established that place had just been refurbished , and refurbished it was. A very clean modern place with easy access to Romford town centre. Great parking facilities meant me and my partner could opt to walk into town instead of having to drive ! This was also convenient as it was merely a ten minute walk. Overall great value for money! Will be our regular when visiting the area !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ddave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Have just stayed at the newly refurbished guest house was an absolute pleasure the rooms were clean and cosy, we were able to reach the manager at the phone point located in the corridor when we needed to locate local restaurants and entertainment areas a very good customer service. The rooms are are very good for the amount charged overall a great stay. We would definitely return again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simone8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here in November in order to attend a family dinner - sorry to say we found it of a tatty & grubby appearance. Curtains appeared to need a good wash, en-suite very small and much of the chrome ware such as soap dish/tray on wall was extremely corroded. Towels, although no reason to believe were not washed, appeared very 'tired' and thus unable to bring ourselves to use them, glad we had our own. We rose early on our morning of departure and were extremely happy to head home with a vow never to return. We used to live in the nearby area and remember it as a very attractive looking property but sadly no more, it is in severe need of care and attention. It only goes to show that you get what you pay for - we didn't pay much and we didn't get much either!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Swooper2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed at this guest house while in Romford on my own, so not out to impress anyone. Just needed somewhere cheap & cheerful near the town centre.

This place has no breakfast room, so if you book room & breakfast they have an arrangement with a local cafe for the breakfast. I went for the room only option, so can't comment on the breakfast. The rooms seem to be mainly booked for people working in the area during the week, as a result it may be difficult to get a booking for short durations. Also the car park fills up in the evenings, so it may be worth arriving mid-afternoon if you need a parking space. But the place goes quiet at the weekend.

The guest house is easy enough to find from junctions 28 & 29 from the M25, I followed the directions given on their website (turn right after the second set of traffic lights), but I also checked the route on google earth, so I suggest doing the same if you're not familiar with Romford.

Check in was quick, I rang the bell, got led to the 'office', filled out a form, paid, collected the keys & was shown to my room. The room was small, but well equipped. Two single beds, so would probably have been a bit cramped for two people, but it's just somewhere to sleep. There was a shower room with WC & washbasin, a small wardrobe, TV with set top box & remotes, 'fridge, kettle, toaster, tea tray, electric heater, iron & ironing board, & a drop-leaf table fixed to the wall. Mirror & shaving point. Tea, coffee, sugar, milk & biscuits provided & topped up daily. As I was staying room only, I took my own cereal, milk & sugar with me, no problems storing my own stuff in the 'fridge. Also some pot noodles, useful as I arrived early afternoon. Wifi signal is poor, I had problems getting on line, and the connection kept dropping out. But the other rooms may have had a better signal, and it was free after all. Probably worth making a 'cantenna'. The room was double glazed, but traffic noise still got through from the main road nearby. This did ease off late at night. The building is quite small, so the sound of slamming doors travels well. Bed was comfortable enough, with an extra blanket supplied if needed.

There are no restaurants nearby, you need to head into the town centre to eat in the evening. But if you cross over the main road into North Street, there are several cafes open during the day, and some take-aways if you want to take something to eat back to your room in the evening.

Overall, a good place to stay if you're looking for somewhere cheap but functional in Romford.

Room Tip: Find out where the Wifi router is located, get a room close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romford
1.3 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harefield Manor Hotel
Harefield Manor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Romford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Romford West Hotel
4.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.9 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hornchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havering Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havering Guest House

Property: Havering Guest House
Address: 2 Havering Road, Romford RM1 4QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Romford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Romford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Havering Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havering Guest House Romford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing