We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for travel connections and town, but too hot in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Romford
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Handy for travel connections and town, but too hot in room”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is an easy 10 minutes walk from the rail station, which is 25 minutes from Liverpool Street. It is also just a few minutes to walk to the town centre, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel co- joins a pub/ restaurant which seemed to be well frequented during the evening. It has a good sized car park, free to guests (get a voucher at reception).

The layout of the rooms are typical for Premier Inn, and are over two floors. (Note to hotel management - a sign would be good when leaving the lift to direct guests to the correct wing for their room number).

My particular room had some defects,such as a cracked sink, and holes in the wall where shelf brackets had been pulled out.

The biggest negative was the temperature of the room. The hotel has no air conditioning. The window had been opened by the staff,and a fan placed in the room, so I guess it is a known problem, but whilst at night it was about 18-20C, the room went to 27.5C on the in-built thermometer. Hence not much sleep.

I often stay in the area, although it was my first visit to this hotel. I wouldn't return (during the summer), as there are plenty of hotels around with aircon, including Premier Inns.

Room Tip: Choose a room on north side of hotel to minimise temperature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawthorn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    148
    101
    42
    29
See reviews for
153
136
38
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to a wedding, and had a surprisingly pleasant stay. It was a very warm day, but staff had closed the curtains to keep the heat out, and left a fan running in the room to cool it down. Not as good as air-con, but thoughtful none-the-less.

The 'good night's sleep' guarantee was as good as it's word. A very comfy bed, with a choice of soft or hard pillows. Breakfast in the morning was good too - £8.95 for all you can eat is very good value. This includes a full English breakfast cooked-to-order with as many items as you like, and Costa Coffee for those like me that need their 'proper' coffee in the morning.

This is the first time I've stayed in a Premier Inn, and I came away with a very good impression. Would be happy to stay with them again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The room was clean, tidy and the beds where very well. Unfortunally there was no airco, and it was a very hot day. But that didn't break our thoughts about the hotel. We had breakfast at the Liberty Bell which is the restaurant of Premier Inn Romford Central. The breakfast was very complete and not expencive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed in room 115 no air conditioning had to have window open for some air the noise was unbearable unable to sleep all night did ask to change room on arrival but was told none available was told that I should have booked by phone and requested a quiet room












  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a nice Premier Inn, fresh and clean rooms, Fantastic Large flat screen TV, good location and good value. Meals were a letdown unfortunately. We followed the instructions from our confirmation text and text our confirmation with "DINE" etc to book our dinner table a good couple of weeks before our arrival. When we arrived we was told they had no record of this and that the restaurant was fully booked for an event and nothing could be done, however upon showing them the sent text they quickly apologized and all of the sudden were able to provide us with a buffet at a reasonable price in the restaurant. Fair do they did help but unfortunately this is not adequate when we had both been working the whole day and needed a proper meal. Obviously something had failed here and we will not be using that feature again. Needless to say we had breakfast in Romford the next morning. Possibly we will return but solely for the accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice at the end of June. The hotel is great - lovely cheeky porter and great receptionists. The problem is the restaurant. Waitress like she's on something bizarre or illegal, embarrassed us in front of all other diners about how we were paying our bill ( just via business account nothing odd) spoke to another lovely lovely waitress who sorted everything out. She offered to speak to her manager. Received phone call in room from manager, all apologetic and offered vouchers. Nothing ever received. Empty promises. May as well not bother. Will not recomend this at all. Manager what are you doing?

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The premier inn in Romford was very noisy both inside and out ALL night. No air conditioning so very very hot we were provided with a fan but this was extremely loud. Breakfast was not included so paid £66 for a room only. will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romford
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Romford
0.3 mi away
Harefield Manor Hotel
Harefield Manor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Romford
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hornchurch
219 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
633 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel
Address: Mercury Gardens, Romford RM1 3EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Romford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Romford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romford has a buzz of its own, but we're also close to the Olympic Park and Westfield Stratford City ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Romford Central Hotel Romford
Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing