We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Railway Hotel”
Review of The Railway Hotel - CLOSED

The Railway Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Stenungsund, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Railway Hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice outdoor seating. You can even bring your dog. Service is good. Its close to the railwaystation and just a few minutes from Old Town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Resepinglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The place to go”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I could not find fault with it. The service was excellent, the food was good and the beer very drinkable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 787johnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Railway Runcorn is back open again!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I am a contractor working frequently on the new incinerator and I visit The Railway a lot, staying at the Campanile hotel next door. I refuse to eat or drink at The Campanile as the quality is poor and I don't know the last time they had their beer lines cleaned, yuk.

The Railway did close down for a week due to a power debate but opened again Christmas Eve 2013 and is now back to usual with great food and great music, especially the open mic night. There is a refurb in progress which happens late at night and doesn't affect the opening times.

So glad to see it open again with another excellent brand new menu, some new staff who are great. Well done The Railway, I look forward to coming again in February 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Sorry to tell you but this pub has closed. A dispute between pubco and energy company went bad when the supply's were cut off. They ran for a while on generator but this had been shut down before Xmas and the doors closed.

If you are in the area and want a meal then the Camponile hotel behind the pub does meals or you have a 10 minute walk into town If you just want a good pint then the Lion (hotel) does real ale and a selection of lagers.


Sorry for the bad news

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent affordable pub grum”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I had been put off by the first review of this place to giving it a try. Its under new management, new chef and new menu and does it show.....the pub grub is excellent....what's more as a gimmick they do massive meals where if you eat them in 20 mins you get your name on the wall and a voucher. Very novel.

All in all good affordable pub grub, no frills but good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Railway Hotel also viewed

 
Runcorn, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing