We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I pity the staff......and anyone else that stays here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Runcorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Runcorn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I pity the staff......and anyone else that stays here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place is by far the worst 'hotel' I've ever had the misfortune to stay in (including 32 years of military accommodation!!) First impressions are that its a multi storey motel, second impressions are that its a multi storey motel that needs knocking down! Its far more suited to student accommodation than paying customers. The rooms are tiny, the bench/worktop that the tv was on fell off the wall when i put my bag on it. The bedding looked like it had been cleaned but was stained and the towel was just grubby!
I did venture into the 'restaurant' but didn't risk eating!
The accommodation looks like something from an Eastern Bloc country from the 60s and the Restaurant is more like a transport cafe.
The one plus point is the staff, they were very polite and helpful and did all they could but tehy couldn't make this place anything other than awful!
If you cant find an arch under a railway line or a cardboard box to sleep in....stay here, but make sure all your inoculations are up to date!!

Room Tip: somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevster269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia B, General Manager at Campanile Runcorn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kevster269,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of our hotel following your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us as it gives us the opportunity to review areas of the hotel that require immediate attention.

Firstly, let me apologise for not fully meeting your expectations. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the condition of the room.

However I am glad to hear that the team was accommodating and helpful.

Having taken all of your comments into consideration, I was surprised by your comments regarding the restaurant as this is not indicative of the usual feedback we receive from Tripadvisor reviewers, I would like to inform you that Campanile Hotel Runcorn complies with H&S regulations.

Again, I extend my apologies.

Kind regards,

Sonia.B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    48
    62
    33
    43
See reviews for
26
67
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Why do so many people complain about a budget hotel/motel...
After staying there a week, there was no faults at all. All the staff were very friendly, house keeping would go beyond there means to make you feel welcome. Reception was spotless, with a kind greeting.
I met a few staff, everyone of them, were really nice people.
Don't believe the rubbish that people write on here, this is a budget hotel/motel!

It's clean, the staff are friendly! What more do you need!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shotty_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia B, General Manager at Campanile Runcorn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Shotty_j

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Campanile Runcorn.
We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your visit, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

I have shared your kind comments with the team here and we are all delighted that you had such a positive experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Sonia.B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile


Booked here last minute visiting family, trying to find our room walking up dirty concrete steps something out of a horror film! I instantly felt unsafe walking next to people hanging outside our room, music blaring, walked in our room and wanted to leave (but had nowhere else to go). Bed was comfy that's about i..paid £90 for two nights not including breakfast! Feel completely ripped off for the hell hole we stayed in! would never stay here again! only upside is that there's a pub next door and next to the train station! x ps: staff could try smiling x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia B, General Manager at Campanile Runcorn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jodenalex,

I was really sorry to read of your disappointment following your stay with us and I am especially sorry not to have known of the elements of disappointment during your time with us. It really matters to me that my guests have a comfortable night’s sleep and I cannot stress enough the importance of guest safety in our hotel.
A member of the team is all the time available and in each room you have a phone number in order to contact him if you do have an issue. Also, the hotel is covered with CCTV. Thank you again for your feedback and once again please accept my apologies.

Kind regards,
Sonia.B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Runcorn hotels

Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was visibly lacking a coat of exterior paint,deco was shabby and indoors was exactly the same,very dirty looking,dated and very enclosed,window barely opens and very Hot in the room with no air con,but the price at £29 p room you can't beat in this very busy area,plenty of car park facility ,with food available and breakfast,although not the best we have sampled,beer was flat and very costly

Room Tip: bring sleeping tabs very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia B, General Manager at Campanile Runcorn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Caron R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us, I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us and for this please accept my apologies. I was surprised by your comments regarding the breakfast as this is not indicative of the usual feedback we receive from Tripadvisor reviewers. The hotel prides itself on delivering quality in all areas of service. On this occasion I am sorry that the breakfast did not meet your expectations.
Once again, please accept my apologies.

Kind regards,
Sonia.B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We checked in on Saturday 5/July/2014 , and directed to our room on the first floor , I asked if there was any ground floor rooms as I can find stairs difficult at times and was informed that they didn't as they were full , I accept that was my own fault as I should have requested this when booking .
On reaching the room we found that there was only one towel , I went to reception and informed them that there was only one towel the receptionist told me they had just finished drying them and would get some more , as he was telling me this a girl (Rosie) shouted from the other end of the bar " have you checked the wardrobe" I replied yes she then shouted again "yes but have you looked in the wardrobe" , the other receptionist then gave me ONE more towel , I would suggest Rosie needs a course in customer relations .
As we had just driven over 300 miles we had a nap and later started to get ready to go to a family reunion.
That is when we noticed more problems - the riser rail on the shower was broken so couldn't be used which didn't matter as it was then I noticed the tiles where filthy and obviously hadn't been cleaned in some time so I wouldn't be using the shower anyway . Oh well I thought , I would just get a good wash down using the basin - What a joke ,whoever fitted the tap was useless , the angle of the tap meant most of the water went straight down the overflow . A sign in the bathroom asked people to conserve water ? .
We had earlier been told they were full so requesting a room change was useless , had we noticed the problems earlier we would have tried to find another hotel .At least the bed was clean and comfortable . And maybe a little money spent on decorating would not go amiss .
Our first and last stay at a Campanile . NEVER AGAIN .

Room Tip: Goto another hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia B, General Manager at Campanile Runcorn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Keith L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was not what you expected.

I will certainly share your feedback directly with the Front office team for immediate consideration.
What you have outlined does not reflect the training given to our team or the level of service they are trained to extend. I will need to look further into these matters.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback which enables us monitor and improve our service.

Kind regards,
Sonia.B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A one night stay was quite enjoyable. Staff in reception friendly and helpful. Room clean and more than adequate for a one night stay. Situation acceptable and convenient for an evenings entertainment in Widnes. Ok, the first impressions don't bode well. Looking tired and well worn with need of ' brightening up' . Breakfast ok and sufficient to put you on. Overall good value for money for a one nighter. Would think twice before booking for anything longer.

Room Tip: Rooms on front give view of reception and car park. No picture postcard setting that's for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elloello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia B, General Manager at Campanile Runcorn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Elloello,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share with us your feedback.
I am glad that you found the location suitable for you and that you enjoyed the breakfast.
It was also great to hear that you found the room to be comfortable and the team helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sonia.B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night as in the area for cricket. All I can say is at least it was clean. Heard everything from adjoining rooms and outside. Bath was half size so glad I'm small!
All I will say is you get what you pay for.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanWarne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia B, General Manager at Campanile Runcorn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear IanWarne_12,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry to learn of the noise disruption you experienced during your stay. It really matters to me that my guests have a comfortable night’s sleep. A member of the team is all the time available and in each rooms you have a phone number in order to contact him if you do have an issue. Still, despite these measures we cannot always prevent the noise.
However I am glad you appreciated the cleanness of the room.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Sonia.B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Runcorn

Property: Campanile Runcorn
Address: Lowlands Road, Runcorn WA7 5TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Runcorn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Louvre hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing