We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay apart from rowdy guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
halifax uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Okay apart from rowdy guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed her before and always been okay . Good location for Chester and Cheshire oaks. Check in was good with friendly staff. Also we were given a goody bag for being gold card members. Never had this before in all the years we have had our loyalty cards. We booked a standard double but were given an executive with 2single beds. Didn't have a problem with this so we kept it. There was a stocked mini bar in the room however there was no price list or instructions on how to pay for items so we didn't bother. All was well until 2am when ignorant rowdy guests decided to have some sort of party with music playing doors slamming and women laughing. This went on until past 3. With the disrupted nights sleep it wasn't the best we have had so checked out at 8.30. The corridor outside room 405 was strewn with takeaway pizza boxes, slices of pizza, and broken coat hangers. What a disgusting mess and I am guessing this was were the party was. I reported this at check out and the nights before party. The guy I told had a couldn't care less attitude and just said its not good is it? It isn't good and what's also not good is that obviously there are no security patrols in the night, as if there was the noise would have been noted and the mess would have been cleaned up, or I would hope it would.

Room Tip: Ask for one near reception as less chance of getting disturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Yorkshire
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry to hear that there where certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the disturbance you encountered throughout the night due to guests partying into the early hours of the morning.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment and I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that your comments have been passed onto our Nights Manager for investigation and further training to be scheduled for his team.
Without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do.
Yours Sincerely
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    242
    183
    55
    45
See reviews for
103
199
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed her on bank holiday weekend in aug, booked through booking.com it was a last min booking so paid a little over odds £249 for 2nights. Arrived all seemed well friendly check in staff. Room nice and clean lovely bathroom and a mini bar well a fridge with items in. The first morning we was woken by someone knocking asking if we had taken anything from the mini bar? Once up after been disturbed we had so bad news and couldn't stay the second night, so I called down to reception to cancel my second nights stay they told me as I booked it through booking.com I could not be refunded for my second night stay. I wasnt happy about this I stay with premier inn on a regular basis and book through bookin.com and have canceled before and been refunded this has put me off staying with holiday inn in future

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzaxmx S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear lozzaxmx S,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry to hear that there where certain aspects of your visit that were unsatisfactory, in particular the wake up call to your room and the confusion upon your early departure.
I have passed the issue regarding the disturbance to your sleep onto the Housekeeping Manager for investigation and for this I apologise.
Unfortunately due to you making your booking through the booking.com website we were unable to cancel your 2nd night. However our Reception staff should have advised you that you could have cancelled your 2nd night through your booking on the booking.com website. Your account would have been charged a £50.00 early departure fee as per their policy. As this information was not passed onto you I would like to offer you a free upgrade to an Executive room next time you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here at creamfields 2012 for one night. Can't remember the exact price of the room but around the £100 inc breakfast for two. Was a ideal hotel was clean and breakfast area was lovely good spread and choice. two annoyances couldn't get the pancake machine working. :( and we were unfortunately seated next to a sket from Essex who sat in her pants and tshirt. :(( felt like telling her to put some clothes on but i wish the breakfast staff had. had a great nights sleep. Exactly what we needed for creamfields. Wouldn't stay here if on a break but a fab hotel for a stop over. The staff were helpful and friendly at reception, called taxis for us when needed and they even allowed us to order out pizza from the local takeaway. ;)) will be stopping again here creamfields 2013 ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear claire c,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding the helpful and friendly staff on Reception and your comments regarding Breakfast have been passed onto the Breakfast Supervisor for her to discuss with the Breakfast staff.
I look forward to welcoming you back for Creamfields 2013.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

I use the word manners as the two staff at the front of house were in short supply of them, unhelpful and rude also comes to mind.....fortunately when we did eventually get the key to our room an hour late which caused my cousins wedding to be delayed the room was clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryj1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear maryj1999,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry to hear that there where certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular your experience on check in. Your comments have been passed onto our Reception Manager for investigation and I can only apologise for the service you received.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment, without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do.
Yours Sincerely
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

My partner and I stayed over and booked the wine package. This was the first time I'd stayed at a Holiday Inn and found the website quite hard to navigate to book it. However, that aside, the room was comfy. Far and away the best part was the breakfast which was really good. I have stayed in equivalent places and found breakfast a real let down. I'm pleased to say not so here. Very welcoming staff.

The swimming pool is good, but not so great if you want to do any actual swimming lengths as it's quite small and very shallow up one end. Changing rooms perhaps a little tired, but adequate.

My only gripe was that the wine tasted very much on the cheap side

Overall a good impression and I suspect we may well be back

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownLongEaredOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Iaoangel,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to hear that you found the breakfast to be the best part of your stay and the staff welcoming. Your comments have been passed onto the Restaurant Manager to share with the team.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with a coach party. Rooms lovely & clean, as was the bathroom.
All staff were very friendly. Plenty of variety for breakfast but don`t bother having dinner here.
The main course was put out before we had the starter (choice of two items) so when we went to help ourselves the brocolli, which was beautiful cooked was stone cold. Carrots were hard & looked as though they had been cooked in a microwave too long.Chicken breast looked like the soles of shoes & very dry.
I did have a large glass of Rose one evening which cost £7.09!! RIP OFF.

Room Tip: We were in room 505 which was quiet,(unless you had noisy neighbours). Unfortunately there was only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear magsym,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to hear that you found the rooms clean and the staff friendly. I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience during dinner. I have passed your comments onto our Head Chef for investigation.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment as without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do.
Yours Sincerely
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

my husband and I booked this hotel because it was closer to my brothers place
parking is good,plenty of spaces,staff on reception were not friendly at all,although they were efficient.room was good, bed really comfy,bathroom clean bath was on the small side but did the job.breakfast was brilliant loads of choice of juice,cerials,fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast,staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: twin rooms are a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Janet c
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to hear that you found the breakfast choice to be brilliant and the staff at breakfast friendly and helpful. I am also delighted that you found the Reception staff to be efficient but will be passing your comments regarding their friendliness onto the Reception Manager for investigation and would just like to apologise for this first impression you encountered.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
2.6 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Property: Holiday Inn Runcorn
Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Runcorn Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing