We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a university open day with a friend. Receptionist was very friendly at check in and we purchased 2 dinner vouchers for the restaurant. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and down to earth and the food was lovely!
The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. The shower was fantastic!
Had breakfast the next morning and the choice was good.
Would stay here again definately! On check out our bill was wrong but the staff sorted it out straight away. Did the job and enjoyed my stay!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TylerKateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear TylerKateP
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the Reception and Restaurant staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed your dining experience during both dinner and breakfast. I am also happy to hear that you found the room clean and comfortable.
I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back if you are ever in the area again.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here with my wife 4 anniversary. Rooms were shabby and dated. Things seemed ok until early hrs of morning when my wife noticed something just under the bed. To my horror my wife had found a used bottle of lube/sex toy which had been left from the previous guests. When we arrived home we rang and explained exactly what had happened, how my wifes anniversary had been ruined because if basic cleaning hadnt been done what else had not been cleaned! We were offered a £20 refund which considering what my wife had found was a complete insult. Our night had been ruined. After several phone calls we agreed on £30 refund which is still an insult but they made it clear they werent going 2 give us a full refund. Worse hotel I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear joanne c
I am saddened to read this review on the Trip Advisor website.
I am deeply sorry for the item that you found in your bedroom and after receiving the complaint via our guest relations department I investigated the issue personally.
The Room Attendant is very upset and shocked that she had missed this item under the bed but has assured me that the cleaning of the room was to our i-clean schedule.
Our Reception Manager confirms offering you a £20 refund after your initial phone call and then also confirms that you called again to state that you did not feel that this recompense was appropriate. After speaking with the accounts department and verifying your details Vicky then processed the full refund and called you back to advise. Unfortunately there was no answer but Vicky assures me that she left a voice mail confirming the full refund. In the mean time you had contacted our guest relations department who offered you a £30 refund. I e-mailed yourself yesterday (06/10/13) to apologise once again and I had hoped to clear up the confusion.
I am sorry that you feel that our hotel is the worst you have ever stayed in, that we ruined your anniversary and that you feel we made it clear that we were not going to give you your full refund, this was not our intention.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having booked an Executive room I was extremely disappointed to find :-
1. The bathroom was so small it was not possible to move around without banging into the toilet bowl
2. The lock on the room door did not work. The plate had been screwed on at an angle so that the bolt could not go through.

Also, the Steak, Kidney and Taragon pie was very poor - small with hard pastry and hardly any meat. But a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Headboy
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry to hear that there where certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the lock on the door and your dissatisfaction with the steak, kidney and tarragon pie.
I have passed your comments onto the Maintenance Manager and Head Chef for further investigation.
I would like to once again thank you for raising these issues with me as without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I booked this hotel.. because the offer was to good to refuse. It is in good distance to chester zoo, cheshire oaks and large food and drink outlets. The hotel was ideal out of the way from main roads etc, our room backed on to the woods which was really nice. The rooms are nice, clean and well presented. The receptionists where welcoming and extremely helpful. There was only one downside.. noise.. the room had a door leading to the next room.. which wasnt the best for keeping the noise out.. we ended up using a towel and the bottom of the door.. most of the day and night we could hear word for word what the other guest where doing.. i dont think this is any bad reflection on the hotel. i think it all depends on the guests that have booked...it was abit fustrating but i would go back there again and recommend to others.. just as a base to sleep if you are gonna be active during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatecoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear chocolatecoke,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and well presented, the reception team to be welcoming and helpful and that you would stay with us again and recommend to others.
I am sorry to hear that the noise from the adjoining room was a problem. I appreciate you taking the time to raise this issue with us and I can assure you that this will be discussed with the relevant Heads of Departments to save further complaints of the same nature.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here recently for a work conference. This hotel has a lot of good points - the pool, spa and gym are nice, the communcal areas are really smart, the breakfast was excellent and there is plenty of parking. Its also nicely situated just off the M56. The conferecning facilities and service were brilliant too.
We ate in the restarant the night before the conference - the food was really good. I think most of us had steak - no complaints here! The 'seasoned wedges' are amazing!!!
We also got lunch during the conference which was also really good.
The staff on the desk were friendly and helpful at check in and check out.
The room was small but clean, the thing which let it down was that I paid £104 for it (then had to pay £10 for breakfast) and it was very tired, dated and had a lot of wear and tear. having siad this, it had everything I needed, the air con worked and the bed was comfy. I cant help thinking i'd have got a better room at the preier inn for half the price. If I was on a leisure stay with my partner I think I would have been really disappointed with the room.
I did note that some areas of the hotel were being refurbished, so hopefully that will extend to the rooms.
Overall a good hotel and a good stay, but rooms need some work to make it more than 3 stars for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaz105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Shaz105
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly, the food excellent and the spirit health club top be good.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment as without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do. I am also pleased to confirm that a capital plan is in place to refurbish the bedroom block in the very near future.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We Stayed here last night, the room was clean and the service friendly. We Didn't drink here but the bar seemed to be buzzing. Would stay here again, cheap room and they even throw in a brew! My friend used the gym and said it was pretty good. Just wish I'd had more time to use the pool!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear steffiweff,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to hear that you found the room to be clean and the service friendly. I am sorry to hear that you did not have chance to relax and unwind in our Spa facilities and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future and hopefully you can squeeze in a dip or maybe even a drink in our Hub Bar.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We celebrated our Wedding on July 6th 2013 at the Holiday Inn Runcorn ceremony, wedding breakfast 100 guests and evening do 200 guests. We highly recommend Sally Jones the Holiday Inn Wedding Coordinator she was truly outstanding a cool, calm and collected lady who made sure every detail was perfect. Sally ensured everything was in place ready for the big day nothing was too much trouble and she catered and tailored the wedding to our specifications. Having 14 bridesmaids Sally also managed to provide an additional room for hair and make up this enabled 'Eye Candy' from Liverpool to set up the salon. The ceremony was perfect and the room dressed beautifully (thank you Richard) Audrey was on hand for the big day to offer her full support she coordination the day to day running, friends and family. Audrey was very calm and assertive (thank you Audrey fantastic leadership skills). The meal was lovely, being a vegetarian I had the choice of choosing my own meal and it was delicious. Sally managed to attend our wedding ceremony even though it was her day off, this truly shows her commitment to her job and the professional relationship she builds with customers 'newly weds'. Sally went above and beyond the call of duty, it was so very kind of her and made our day feel more special. We can't thank you enough Sally for everything you did for us, considering you only had 12 weeks to put everything together it was absolutely magnificent. You are a credit/asset to the Holiday Inn and we both valued your knowledge, expertise and hard work. Each visit we had you made us so very welcome and I would recommend you Sally to every new bride and/or groom they would not be disappointed. I didn't manage to note all staff names but if you helped or contributed to the day in any way thank you. Top Marks Holiday Inn but that's thanks to Sally xxx

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear yvonne s
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent Wedding here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to hear that you have such praise for Sally Jones and I know that she too will also be thrilled to hear such feedback. Your compliments regarding Richard and Audrey’s support throughout the day will also be passed on, along with the comments regarding all staff who assisted yourself and your wedding party on your special day.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your experience with us and wish you all the happiness for your future together.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
2.6 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
1.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Runcorn Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing