We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Runcorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Runcorn
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here as my works Christmas party was booked here. We got the rooms booked in advance for a great price.
The room was lovely and clean with everything you needed. The bed was very comfy and there was plenty of hot water.
We heard no noise from any rooms around us and considering there was one great party going on and plenty of free drinks we would of thought there would of been some noise. We didn't have the breakfast so i cant comment on this but the only thing we did not like was house keeping knocking on the door around 9.30am and again just after 10ish. As we was told it was a 12pm check out the last thing you would expect is someone knocking on the door at this time. Other members of our party all said the same and we have complained to the manager and this has been dealt with as i received a email back from them.
We would stay here again and have stayed here in the past without any problems.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear AnneRuncorn
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the room to be lovely and clean and that you were not interrupted throughout the night by party goers.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and I can assure you that the issue with regards to the housekeepers has been addressed.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    239
    177
    52
    45
See reviews for
102
193
36
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

got a late deal paid 35 quid for 1 night room only..hotel very impressive from outside very clean inside , good location for overnight stopover on way to wales.. did not use dining area but looked very busy..however we did use the pool which was much bigger than it looks on website and is free to all guests great bonus for us ..will use this hotel again if the price is right....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear judith m,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the hotel to be clean, that you were able to enjoy time in our Spirit Leisure Club and that you would stay with us again.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on to the team.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

All inclusive party was a hit at the holiday inn 2012 so good I ended up spreading the writers this year and ended up at three all inclusive partys, different nights.the food was lovely no complaints about that and the room looked very festive.unfortunately I didn't like the diva tribute act, it was very poor, no presence on stage, and the mike kept cutting out.I also didn't like the going up to the bar with your glass for another drink, last year was much better, bottles were replaced during the night on the table, giving us more time to dance or relax.this year too much queuing at the bar which has put me off for next year.shame as it was a great reasonable offer

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holidays070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear holidays070,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry to hear that there where certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the Diva tribute act and the all inclusive bar process.
Following guidelines from the drink aware policy and discussions in our Christmas debrief 2012 regarding certain incidents we felt the new process for the all inclusive bar was the responsible cause of action.
However, we do appreciate the feedback and I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that your comments will be discussed during the Christmas debrief 2013 where hopefully a solution can be reached.
The Diva tribute act will also be discussed in detail with the entertainment provider as these are not the standards that we have come to expect over the years and indeed not what we will be selling in the future.
I am sorry that this experience has deterred you from booking with us again, I do hope that in time you may change your mind.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had a 1 night stay. The room was clean, tidy and fairly well appointed. The furniture should signs of age though everything worked as it should and more than met all our needs.
We used the restaurant for the evening meal. Food was served hot and was well cooked. Restaurant prices were a little on the high side. Towards the end of the meal my wife had a funny turn and all the staff were very helpful and very kind. I can only say a heartfelt thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Ian H,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience during your visit and that you found the room to be clean and the food hot and well cooked.
I do hope that your wife is feeling better and that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was a one night stay because of attending a function in the area. We paid £74 including breakfast. Excellent value.
The room was spotless but fairly small. Very quiet outlook. The room had been refurbished but the old wooden furniture remained. It was a little knocked about and a bit too big for the room. We had to ring reception to find the hairdryer - it was hidden under a secret panel!
Bed was only a standard double, I would expect a king size really. However it was very comfy and pillows were good.
Tea making stuff was meagre - four cartons of plastic milk and two teabags plus four sachets of coffee.
The hotel was clearly hosting several groups, but these never disturbed us as the rooms are in another block to the function rooms.
Breakfast was excellent. Lots of hot tasty stuff and a pancake maker! Lots of choice.
The price made it very good - over a £90 would make it average. We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin but zipped together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathKmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear kathKmidlands,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found your stay to be excellent value for money with a spotless room, excellent breakfast and that you were not disturbed by any of the other guests attending the function.
Your comments regarding the bedroom furniture has been highlighted with the Maintenance Manager who I know is already in talks with regards to refurbishing the bedroom block.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends as part of a coach group. Check in was quick and efficient. It was a warm, comfortable hotel with friendly staff and good food. The room was clean and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithB277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear KeithB277
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be very helpful, the room clean and the food good
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on to the team.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently stopped here with a National Holiday trip.Rooms were spotless staff were friendly check in was easy.Staff were very busy has they had a wedding party in,so our evening meal was a little bit slow.One lady from our party complained about the food was flat cold she was served first and us second admittently ours was warm not hot but it certainly was not flat cold and it was nice.The breakfast next morning was very good so there should be no complaints.We will definately use this hotel in future if we are in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wezer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear wezer123
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the rooms to be spotless, the staff friendly and the breakfast enjoyable.
I am sorry to hear that your meal was a little slow and one member found their food to be cold, these comments have been passed on to the Head Chef to discuss with his brigade to ensure they do everything they can to prevent future complaints of the same nature.
I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
2.7 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Property: Holiday Inn Runcorn
Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Runcorn Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing