We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only OK this time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Runcorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Risca, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Only OK this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

As a an IHG Platinum Ambassador I spent a great deal of time in Holiday Inns and can honestly say this us the one with the most inconsistent levels of service.

I stay at this hotel when I have meetings in Chester and the level of service varies from excellent to non-existent.

I arrived on late on the evening of 17th June to find the reception unmanned (I'd just driven in excess of 200 miles). Upon the arrival of the receptionist I was directed to my room which should have been a double but which was actually a twin. I was too tired to ask for a different room so went to my (single) bed.

The next morning the service couldn't have been so different if they'd tried - excellent customer service with the offer of a free coffee, staff at reception and an efficient check-out.

Why the massive difference in service?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Duffer M

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced -the shortfalls you describe on check in are not indicative of our usual service delivery, and as such your feedback has been shared with the Reception Manager who I am confident will take the necessary steps to review their services and prevent any such re-occurrences.
We hope to welcome you back and restore your faith in us in the future.

Kind Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    240
    177
    53
    45
See reviews for
102
195
36
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

On wanting to travel from Manchester airport rather than the local airport I needed a hotel to stay before flying rather than driving the same day. I made the booking without looking at the reviews (bad I know) but kind of in a hurry! After reading the reviews I was concerned I had made a mistake but by this time it was too late. On my arrival I was pleasantly surprised. I was greeted by lovely and polite staff who couldn't have done more for me. Check in was swift and painless. I decided to eat at the hotel rather opting for the two course option for £20. The room was facing a little stream at the back of the hotel. The room itself was pretty average and after all that's all I had paid for. The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows soft or firm. The bathroom was clean although with much of the hotel, dated. The shower was alright did the job. Before dinner I decided to use the hotels swimming pool and accompanying facilities. The staff at the reception of the pool gave me the same excellent customer service as upstairs making sure everything was okay. The swimming pool was refreshing although again in serious need of updating (tiles discoloured). The restaurant was clean and relatively quiet whilst I was there. I was met by one of the restaurants waitresses who continued the polite trend. The choice of food in the pre paid menu was limited but suited me. I actually can't remember what I had (it was 4 weeks ago!) but it came very quickly was hot and tasted pretty good! In conclusion the hotel is in desperate need of redecorating but the staff are excellent, the food is good and it won't break the bank! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend to friends!!

Room Tip: You really want a room looking over the stream...It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay6934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jay2934

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our facilities.

We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on to the team.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for one night as part of a conference being held at the hotel. The check in was swift and efficient however once up to the bedrooms the fun begins. The bedroom was tiny, the bed was a double bed, fine for one but too small for two people. The air conditioning unit was excellent and had the room chilled down in no time. The bathrooms was again very small however it was clean and generally ok (probably recently been retiled.

I used the leisure club...oh dear. The equipment is very old, covered in dust and not well maintained. There isn't a great deal of equipment or room for that matter. The pool is small.

There is one restaurant called Traders and it is terrible. We ordered steaks and they were so over cooked you could re sole your shoes with them...very poor menu, very poor food and very slow service.

The bar is fine and there is a pool table

All in all, this is a very old hotel which needs some serious thought as to what it is trying to be.

I'm sure there is better in the area

Hope this help

Room Tip: Look elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear TJBrooke

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced -the shortfalls you describe are not indicative of our usual service delivery, and as such your feedback has been shared with the relevant departmental Managers who I am confident will take the necessary steps to review their services and prevent any such re-occurrences.
If you would like to discuss this further please email me, laura.derricott@ihg.com.
We hope to welcome you back and restore your faith in us in the future.

Kind Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Runcorn hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Even the dismal room lighting couldn't hide the tired furniture and carpet edges which had clearly not been vacuumed properly in a very long time.

A miserable experience and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethegoodthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Lovethegoodthings

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced -the shortfalls you describe are not indicative of our usual service delivery, and as such your feedback has been shared with the Housekeeping Manager who I am confident will take the necessary steps to review their services and prevent any such re-occurrences.
We hope to welcome you back and restore your faith in us in the future.

Kind Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here with 10 other woman on a 50th birthday on a National Express break. We were going to Chester and Liverpool and was only £70 for two days away. This hotel is very nice and really friendly staff, We had a starter and a nice chicken dinner with a lovely desert, We went into Frodsham by taxi which just took 5minutes then went to the Bears Paw pub which was lovely very friendly people, then went on to queens head which was good as well, we ended up at Amora which was fabulous very upmarket pub and place to eat, there was a great band on and plenty of dancing went on that night. Even though the hotel is out in the sticks there is always the option of going into Frodsham, would certainly go again, and would recommend National Express short breaks, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: A room facing the river, you see loads of rabbits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Patsy77_12
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food to be of good quality.

We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on to the team.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Checked into room and there was stains on the bed and floor. Thought not much of it and went down to the gym. Once returning there was a terrible unbearable smell in the room. I founded the front desk and was immediately moved and given a free drink voucher for the bar. The next room had much better furniture and was of a higher standard. I used the gym, pool, jacuzzi, steam room and Sauna. Pool is an awkward shape and not ideal for lengths as well as being quite cloudy. Sauna felt cheap and nasty as the walls were not tiled instead it was a plastic lining. The gym was rather small and the machine were quite old. The food was OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Schpaniel,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced - the shortfalls you describe are not indicative of our usual service delivery, and as such your feedback has been shared with the relevant departmental Managers who I am confident will take the necessary steps to review their services and prevent any such re-occurrences.
We hope to welcome you back and restore your faith in us in the future.
Kind Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr London, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A large hotel situated just off M56 at Junction 12, but in tranquil and wooded setting. Good reception and rooms very clean though bathroom slightly small. Bed very comfortable. Wi-fi is charged (about £7.50 for 4 hours), and getting logged on is a bit of a fiddle, but then perfectly good for Skype etc. Had dinner in a busy restaurant, but service was quick and food good, as was breakfast. Swimming pool and spa available. Several deals available so be sure to ask.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Fennings

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food in the restaurant was good and bathroom cleanliness of a good standard

In regards to the internet, you may be pleased to hear that from 1st July onwards all IHG members will receive complimentary internet upon check in.

We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on to the team.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
2.7 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Property: Holiday Inn Runcorn
Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Runcorn Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing