We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Runcorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have returned here for the past few years for my birthday.
Its a lovely hotel, staff are friendly and the pool is great.
The only issue is if you are taking children then you only have the option of an executive room as the standard rooms do not have a sofa bed and are a little small.
We look forward to returning next year

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lj060778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto this website following your most recent stay with us.
It's good to read that you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    239
    177
    52
    45
See reviews for
102
193
36
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We did read a couple of negative reviews but we were pleased with our stay this weekend. We did have a special offer room rate and we thought good value . Rooms clean and bright. Staff friendly and efficient , breakfasts good. We would be happy to stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us.
It's good to read that you were pleased with your stay and great that you will stay here again - we look forward to welcoming you back when you do.
Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely, friendly staff. Would personally recommend elli and caroline on reception for helpfullness. Visited this Hotel twice now. Caroline remembered me even though my stays were six months apart!
The beds in this Hotel are soooo comfy! I have a water bed at home so im hard to please usually but not here. I always sleep like a log.
Breakfast staff great, very attentive.
All in all a fabulous nights stay - we will be back! Great value4money too - under £50 for 3 of us with breakfast included!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sharon
Thank you for posting your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your most recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
It's good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us again and great that you recommend us.
I've shared your feedback with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back for the 3rd time - hopefully in the near future.
Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights for our 5th Wedding Anniversary. It's not far from Chester, which was where we really wanted to visit. We brought along our two year old daughter, and she loved the pool! The room was very clean & quiet, with a beautiful view outside the window (very green!) The breakfasts were fantastic & a great start to our busy days. The only complaint was when we were leaving, we were told we had watched a film during our stay, which was an extra cost. We had not watched a film (no time for that with a lively two year old). The receptionist assured us she would be in touch with the company who organises the film/TV system & we wouldn't be charged.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki-Simon-Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Nikki-Simon-Mills
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry that the final bill was incorrect, however I am pleased that the reception dealt with this efficiently and to your satisfaction.
I am also delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, that your daughter enjoyed the pool.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

No issues or problems with this Holiday Inn hotel. Rooms clean and service very good. Nice bar area to relax with pool table - If any improvement could be made, they need a local ale as the regular range standard in Holiday Inn (and HIexpress) gets tedious after several stays. The restaurant offered a good range and quality of food. Breakfast was also good. Everything I'd expect from a Holiday Inn.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mattgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mattgen
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your suggestion of a local beer to be available. This is something I will suggest to the food and beverage team.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
714 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

the receptionist was great, the entrance lobby and bar area bland, the room ok but small, wifi ok a little difficult to access but good once in.
the restaurant staff were lovely both in the evening and the morning. the evening meal was ok, the breakfast was very good.
we will probably re-visit

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mandr268
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and will pass your comments onto the team regarding their service.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the holiday inn on Saturday as part of an organised trip through a tour company.
I feel I had to place a review as at the time we didn't feel taken seriously by the hotel. Within the room the cupboard doors are clearly met to be screwed shut, although the room my mum and her friend stayed in the cupboard had clearly been forced open and as my mum open the door as you would expect to open a cupboard door the screw pierced the skin on her hand causing a significant bleed.
The cupboard was to say the least extremely dusty inside and written in the dust was a persons name and the date of August 2012, we are now in June 2014 although we can't prove it was this long since it had been cleaned it does make us question it. We do have the photos as evidence.
What concerned us the most though was the injury to the hand it was reported to reception on the Saturday night and again on the Sunday morning, on the Sunday we were informed management would be told but that was our only response luckily so far the injury doesn't appear to be infected but it could of been very difficult and the lack of response from the hotel feels inadequate.
Apart from the standard of the room everything else was absolutely brilliant and we had no further complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura282828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Laura282828

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced -the shortfalls you describe are not indicative of our usual service delivery, and as such your feedback has been shared with the Housekeeping and Maintenance Manager who I am confident will take the necessary steps to review their services and prevent any such re-occurrences. Unfortunately, Reception did not inform the Duty Manager at the time, if this had been done I am confident that you and your mother would have received the appropriate care. This I have shared with our reception manager to investigate with her team.
I do hope that your mother's cut to her hand is better, please pass my apologies onto her also.

Kind Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
2.7 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Property: Holiday Inn Runcorn
Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Runcorn Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing