We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and friendly”
Review of The Bakery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bakery
Ranked #1 of 7 Westerham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for one night whilst visiting friends. Room was spotless, bed was very comfy. Breakfast (full veggie) was delicious.
would definitely stay again if in the area and will try the restaurant soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    18
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
61
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

From the moment I was greeted by the host Andrew , on my overnight business stay, I was totally impressed .. This guy has amazing customer service qualities ..if he's not the owner , then he's an amazing ambassador for the establishment .. The room was perfect .. If I had a tiny criticism I'd say it was a tad too warm, and in Summer may be a little issue, but overall , for the full package , room cleanliness , comfort, service .. This place is totally amazing l
We ate in the restaurant for dinner ..it was a £30 set menu for three courses,,and fabulous food ..my steak was top quality ..they obviously care about every aspect of the customer experience .
It's 5 mins from our office and I didn't know it was there ..I stay at the Selsdon Park usually on my monthly visit , but this night there was a conference and they were full, the Bakery we found on the Internet ..and I'm so glad we did ,. In future I'll only stay at Selsdon when the Bakery is full ! Well done to the whole team for impressing a nonchalantly jaded traveller with such great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Situated in the village of Tatsfield,nearly 700ft up on the North Downs.Five bedrooms overa restaurant. The rooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard. A large comfortable double bed.very nice large shower.Flat screen TV.Free Wifi. Building is a narrow triangle.Ask for room 1, which is at narrow end of building, with windows on both sides.No noise heard from restaurant underneath, and double glazing effectively hides the little traffic noise.Rooms are spotless.Good choice of breakfast. Very convenient having a restaurant serving a nicely cooked meal, situated at the bottom of the stairs. Not far from Westerham. Lots to see locally.

Room Tip: Room 1 has windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stumbled upon this accidentally and very glad i did, amazing place. Rooms = AMAZING, food = AMAZING, service = AMAZING, a real little hideaway gem in a sleepy village. The breakfast is one of the best I've ever had.
If your after a romantic stopover or a getaway then the comfort, location and the building are all perfect. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucky222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This restaurant with rooms provides 5 fabulously furnished & spotless ensuite rooms with everything you would require for a very comfortable stay. Newly furbished to an extremely high standard with a massive flat screen tv. (The largest we have ever seen in a bed & breakfast).
The staff are very friendly & helpful, providing jugs of fresh milk for our tea supplies in the room.
One night we ate in the restaurant which proved to be fabulous. For a Wednesday evening it was very busy and the menu varied. Smoked haddock with a welsh rarebit top was wonderful and the further 2 courses did not disappoint. Another evening we ate in the bar & had home made bacon & cheese burgers which were the best I have ever had!
Re an earlier review & problems with the small glass panels in the bathroom door, I would suggest this could easily be remedied by placing a towel on the door hook.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasbag999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

What a gem this place is. It is an unusual building on the peaceful village green and opposite the Old Ship pub. When we arrived mid afternoon the owner interupted his lunch to show us to our room (number 5) and gave us a key card for it which also opened the back door to the property so that we could come and go when the restaurant was closed. Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished apart from just a hanging rail for your clothes. In fairness though this is a temporary measure as the wardrobes are in the process of being built. Everything was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, expensive looking linen and towels. Having been out in the evening we arrived back to find both the bar and restaurant busy and there was a lovely comfortable buzz about the place so we stopped for a couple of drinks rather than going straight to bed.
In the morning when we went down to breakfast we were again greeted by the owner (I don't think he goes to bed!!) and a nice hot cup of strong coffee. We were told that there was no breakfast menu as such - just tell him what we'd like and we'd get it, which we did. And it was georgeous - beautifully cooked and presented quality ingredients. Even our fruit juice came with ice and a slice! Having also booked in for Sunday lunch we then had to go for a walk to try to get an appetite up by 1300.
The lunch was just a good as breakfast. It was a 3 course menu (with around 6 options for each course) for £24.95 but we couldn't find room for desert and gratefully our bill was adjusted accordingly.
All in all, I can't find fault with this place. The owner and his staff were all really nice and friendly and we immediately felt at home. All we need now is an excuse to go back...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We really loved The Bakery! Situated in lovely Tatsfield, on typical village green, an ideal starting point for our tour in the South of England. The building is remarkable and the room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. We were welcomed by the owner who showed us around. We also booked a table for dinner in the restaurant. The food was delicious and well prepared. There were a lot of people in the restaurant so the service was somewhat lacking behind with long waiting times. Breakfast in the morning was good but again the service was a little bit moody. We were not asked how we would like our eggs, or if we wished some toast. Once we finished our plate, the waiter took it away without asking if we would wish anything else. All by all, I would recommend this B&B for the quality of the room and the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maago070873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerham
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.0 mi away
7 Hotel Diner
7 Hotel Diner
#1 of 1 in Halstead
373 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakery

Property: The Bakery
Address: The Bakery Westmore Green | Tatsfield, Westerham TN16 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bakery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bakery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakery Westerham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing