We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of King's Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King's Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Westerham B&B and Inns
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location in a beautiful village. Lovely pub downstairs but the accommodation was very disappointing.
I had a superior room at a cost of £195 for 2 nights.
The room it's self was clean and of traditional decor. The bathroom resembled a public toilet and the suit needs replacing.
The room faced the road and all night on the first night all we could hear was the noise of loud music from the nearby other pubs and then the traffic early in the morning.
Breakfast was good but not enough staff on to tend to a fully booked hotel.
Juices weren't regularly topped up, nor were the pastries
I would not stay hear again. Over priced for what it was.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    95
    52
    38
    26
See reviews for
60
120
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the King's arms for our 10 year wedding anniversary and decided to stay in the Henry Viii (honeymoon suite). The price was £105 for the 2 of us, bed and breakfast, and all in all this was a good price. The staff were very friendly and polite and cared about our stay.

First impressions of the room, wow, what a bed, it's a Tudor style canopy bed, very romantic. The room was proudly announced as their best room but there were a few niggles that let it down, and if rectified could make this a fab stay, BUT you have to remember it's only £105 B&B and only 3 stars not 5, remember that and it's a great hotel.

Niggles were, the honeymoon suite overlooked the main road, the pub over the road had live music until late and while not a huge problem it spoilt the ambiance a little.

The light switch by the door fell apart when pressed and we were unable to use the centre switch. Also, my bedside light didn't work.

The walls could do with a decorating refresh (remember this is supposed to be the best room in the hotel) with some paint pealing off the walls buy the door.

The shower cubicle door needs a bit of attention and the light is hanging down from the ceiling above the shower.

As I said, niggles, and acceptable given the price.

Breakfast was lovely. My wife has coeliac disease, they had gluten free bread that was toasted in a separate grill and the food was lovely.

All in all, a nice stay and I would return, but I would like to see the the best room in the hotel being kept in the best of condition.

PS, considering the room was the honeymoon suite, the bed was a little noisy, but that might be TMI! LOL ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryHornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel is one off the Old English Inn booked at last minute. We have stayed at other hotels in this group, so cost & food menus are reliable and reasonable price.
We were welcome by a very nice young man who was welcoming & polite. Other staff seem ok, our room was on the second jo some very elevated stairs no lift .
Our room was ok clean but small not a a lot of room to move around the bed! Also the electrics were rather odd as the light for the bathroom was on the panel as you entered the room could be confusing.
The bar area was rather tired and had a musty smell about it.
We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was good, but most alarming was seeing then bar tender from the bar sitting on the work surfaces of the kitchen every time someone went through the door who ever was cooking didn't seem to address this individuals behaviour.
The place seem to have huge potential but currently just plodding along!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at King's Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Kings Arms Hotel. We are looking into the maintenance issues that you addressed in your post, as well as investigating the bar staff member who was sitting on the work surface. Please be assured that this will all be resolved. We are glad that you found the staff pleasant, we aim to deliver consistent excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 7 weeks due to my home being burnt out by fire!!!! The Kings Arms was amazing, we were given a beautiful room and my dog was made a fuss of and treated like royalty, it was soo lovely and it made such a difference to how we felt at such a terrible time, I could not recommend the Hotel enough, the rooms were beautiful, the food excellent, the staff wonderful and could not do enough for us as well as being warm welcoming and friendly, I cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough and I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are homely and a joy to return to
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My room was fairly small and a little too warm, but otherwise perfectly acceptable and clean. Check in and out were excellent. Service at breakfast was also excellent, with a good choice available although the cooked options consisted (bizarrely) solely of eggs, prepared 10 different ways. Location is perfect, right in the centre of the village.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badger5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at King's Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Kings Arms Hotel.We are working with repairs to try and amend the heating issue addressed in your review. The team and i are glad that we could deliver excellent customer service that you deserve and that you enjoyed the local area, we are extremly lucky to be situated in such a beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The inn itself is creakily charming. Some areas could use some refurbishment. Our room was comfortable, though a few more toiletries would be nice. It was unusually warm during our stay, so we missed having AC (or even a fan) although this would usually not be an issue in England. The full English breakfast was tasty; other meals met the standard of typical "pub grub". The breakfast room, bar area, outside patio and garden area were pleasant.

What I really want to mention, more importantly, is the wonderful staff, who were without exception friendly and helpful. We were, sadly, in town for a funeral. To make things worse, one of our party required medical attention. The wonderful lady at reception (regrettably, I didn't catch her name) walked me out the door and down the street two times, to show me the location of the nearest doctor, and also the closest pharmacy.

Westerham is a lovely area, and the King's Arms is well situated. They also have plentiful parking. Thank you for making a difficult trip somewhat easier.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The rooms were pricey for what they offered. We arrived to stay for a wedding - many of us travelling from overseas. The receptionist was extremely moody. There was noone there to help us take our luggage to our room which was on the top floor (no elevator). The room was priced as a "family room" (we were three people) but it was basically a twin room with a lumpy sofabed. There was a HUGE stain on my duvet so i asked for it to be replaced. The receptionist came to see it and replied "we might not have another one to give you"! In the end she somehow found another clean one. The bathroom was extremely run down - no complimentary shampoo or shower gel, just hand soap. The shower curtain was a little ripped and there was hardly any lighting - we could hardly see!
On the first day we arrived 40 minutes before breakfast was due to end and there were NO complimentary pastries, croissants or fruits. We asked for some and a rude and sulky waitress said she'd have to ask the chef. We asked again for a second time and she replied that she would bring some. They NEVER came. We ordered only from the menu. The food was ok. The next afternoon I went down to the reception and there was the same waitress there (not in uniform) and i sad "Can i ask you a question please" to which she replied "I am off duty".
What can I say.. I have never encountered ruder staff!
Pity.. the village and surrounding area are absolutely beautiful, but DON'T stay at the King's Arms

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westerham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerham
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hever Hotel
Hever Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hever
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
2.8 mi away
The Bakery
The Bakery
#1 of 8 in Westerham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Arms Hotel

Property: King's Arms Hotel
Address: Market Square, Westerham TN16 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your King's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King's Arms Hotel Westerham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing