We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed”
Review of Holly Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woking
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Woking B&B and Inns
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what I needed”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A clean, spacious and comfortable room. Plenty of desk space to work (with wi-fi that worked properly, too). Added touches which made it feel "extra" care was taken. All set in a nice, secluded house. Breakfast was delicious - and the spread on the table tremendous. From the time I phoned to book, and all through my short stay, Janet was welcoming and charming. She clearly enjoys doing B&B and takes pride in doing it well . And all at a fair price. I would definitely go back to Holly Cottage on future visits to Woking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozacorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
23
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I've stayed at Holly Cottage several times on business and cannot fault anything about the service.

Janet, your host, is very welcoming and goes out of her way to accommodate you.

The rooms are really lovely, make you feel immediately comfortable and at home, and naturally lend themselves to a great night's rest.
Breakfast is more than filling

I'd highly recommend this little gem

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ixos5036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were 3 couples fortunate enough to stay 3 nights at Holly Cottage, Our host Janet was a lovely lady very welcoming and friendly. The accomodation provided was spacy,clean, and very comfortable, including ensuite/bathroom facilities. In addition tea, coffee and biscuits were also provided. It was close to transport, Woking town and various small villages.Janet was very knowlegable of the area and of various sites of interest and went out of her way to help us, and also cooked up an awesome full english breakfast made to order each day. We certainly received great value for money and would have no hestation in recommending this homely establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Holy Cottage is a really nice and friendly place to stay.

I undertook a short term contract in Send (between Guildford and Woking), and initially stayed at a few other places whilst getting to know the area. In comparison to the other places, Holy Cottage offered the warmest and most comfortable accommodation by far. I stayed there for a few nights each week for four months and was more than happy with the facilities, the privacy, the off-road car parking, the area, wi-fi internet speed, and most of the entire friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

As a business traveller I have stayed in many types of accommodation. None have been as warm, friendly, clean, comfortable and cost effective as Holly cottage. I particularly enjoyed the homely nature of the environment coupled with the facilities more normally found in hotels at extra cost. This was indeed a very nice place to stay.

The high quality English breakfast included in the room price is tailored to your exact request. If you regularly partake in full English breakfast you will not be disappointed here. The range of breakfast types available easily keeps up with and betters some of the quality hotels in which I have stayed.
High speed internet is available at all times and there is a TV in every room. Many of the rooms have en suite showers and if they do not there is a lovely bathroom with large shower to use. The Cottage is located only 10-15 minutes’ walk from the main part of Woking and was ideally situated for my place of work in central Woking.

Holly Cottage performed an important part of my day in providing a quality relaxed place to stay in order for me to be refreshed and ready for the next day’s challenge.
I want to take this opportunity to thank the owner Janet for providing such a warm environment to stay during weekdays over the last 6-8 months. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilesB756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were made to feel welcome, clean, warm and comfortable. The room had en-suite, powerful shower, lots of hot water. Coffee and a choice of teas provided in the room. A good breakfast was enjoyed, the choice was incredible. It was fantastic value. A place a would recommend to anybody wanting a good value, it was very quiet, which meant a good nights sleep.
Thank-you to Janet

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

As a regular business traveller to the Woking area, I’ve stayed at Holly Cottage many times now. The welcome from Janet, the owner, is always warm and sincere and the rooms are clean, comfortable and cheerfully decorated. Each room has tea and coffee making facilities, a flat-screen TV ( I think all with DVD player) and Hi-speed WI-FI internet access . The beds are comfortable with extra pillows provided as a matter of routine and clothing storage space is more than adequate.

There is definitely the feel of a family home and Janet goes ‘the extra mile’ to ensure her guests enjoy their stay. This also shows in the small ‘extra’ touches like complimentary shower gels and shampoos in bathrooms and biscuits and chocolate mints on the refreshment trays . Breakfasts are particularly impressive, with choices including cereals, toast or the ‘Full English’. A word of advice here, you may want to start with the ‘Ladies’ option of this and slowly work up to the ‘Full Monty’ during your stay, to give your stomach a chance to acclimatise to basically 2 of everything (eggs –to order , sausage, bacon , tomato, mushrooms. black pudding.....the list goes on.... be warned !) I’m told vegetarian options can also be provided, but I’m afraid can’t comment from personal experience, as I’m firmly addicted to the’ English.’

Basically I don’t want to effuse too much about the high standard of accommodation here, since I may increase its popularity still further and might then have trouble reserving a room for future visits. But, judging by the high number of fellow guests I have spoken to, who have also stayed before, I’m not alone in my high opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woking
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Woking Central
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gorse Hill
Gorse Hill
#5 of 7 in Woking
484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
372 reviews
2.6 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Cottage

Property: Holly Cottage
Address: Holly Cottage Hook Heath Avenue | Hook Heath, Woking GU22 0HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woking
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly Cottage is a friendly Bed and Breakfast in a quiet setting just outside Woking. Ample, free off-road parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly Cottage Woking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing