We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For one night only”
Review of Woking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woking Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Woking
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For one night only”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

And never to be repeated. If your looking for somewhere to pass out after a drinking binge then
this is the place for you. I read the review by Dawn W and thought, it can't be that bad, so I phoned the hotel and the receptionist assured me the lifts did not smell and that the stairs were clean, well she was wrong on both accounts.The lifts DO smell of urine and the stairs carpet if not missing is covered in black stains, which went really nice with the ripped or missing wallpaper. The bed linen was clean but a little bit threadbare. The roof of nextdoors night club ended about 6 inches from my window sill to which the dogends and coke bottles floated by in the gutter (nice) The bathroom was clean but smelt of the lift. I must say that the two male reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast from the pub across the road was very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    14
    23
    12
    27
See reviews for
6
16
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed here for one night on business as the hotel was close to my office. The reception area looked ok however the lift up to the rooms had the overpowering aroma of urine, Therefore i left the lift on the second floor and decided to take the stairs to my room. The stairs had vomit all over them and the carpets had chewing gum stuck to them which had gone black it had been there so long.
the room was reasonable clean except for the net curtains which had turned black with age and you could feel every spring in the bed. I ended up sleeping on my coat however after a few hours sleep i woke up at 3am feeling very itchy and decided to go home.
the car park is also a 10 minute walk from the hotel and therefore would not be suitable for a disabled person.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woking hotels

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was working in Woking for 3 weeks, and felt very confortable in this hotel, since it was very close to my office. It is just 100m from the main train station, lots of convenience stores, pubs, restaurants, McDonalds, Subway, KFC around. The Peacocks mall is just around the corner. The hotel itself if quite basic, my room and bathroom were spacious, the bed confortable, a little noisy specially during the weekends. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. There was a soft drink machine in the reception area for free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
194 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I'm working in Woking and this hotel is ideally located, 100 metres from the station, but it is a place I wouldn't take my wife to.

The rooms smell of smoke, the lighting is really weak, the bathrooms whilst large, are just adequate, the public areas aren't attractive.

WiFi works only in the lobby properly, there's no bar, but the location is excellent.

The beds/bedding are fine, staff are OK, plenty of restaurants/bars around the place.

Accomadation around Woking is frightfully expensive, and I've stayed in MUCH worse than this, so bear that in mind

No food option, they get it made up somewhere else and deliver to your room. there's a Yates around teh corner which is cheap, a Thai place around teh other corner which is excellent, and plenty of cafe's in teh morning for proper food.

Goos selection of TV channels, but no comfortable chairs in the room

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shinyhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed here after a night out with friends. The location was perfect being in the main town, so meant we didn't have far to go as it's opposite wetherspoons with more bars close by. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were of a good size, very clean and good value for money. Would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireI86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed here for one night when I went out partying with my friends in Woking.

The room was big. The shower only had one setting - skin burner. The mattress reminded me of a giant slinky. But, it was £39 and right in the heart of Woking. The temperature in the room was pleasant and there was an amazing view of the skyline of Woking from the room.

My favourite thing was the soft drink machine in the reception area.

I would recommend this hotel if you're not too fussy. There are a few complaints about the noise but I didn't notice any of that- I was too busy having fun with my friends!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for one night when we went for a night out in woking. There was 3 of us in the room and it was spacious enough. Check in was easy and the hotel was in a great location to begin a night out - right opposite Wetherspoons! The amenities were good, coffe & tea making facilities in the rooms, shower gel in the bathroom & unilimited soft drinks (coke & lemonade) from the dispenser just before the stairs included in the price. The stairs could do with a tidy-up as the wallpaper was slightly peeling and not very attractive - but the rooms were much better standard. A great visit in all and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubber_Duckie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woking
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Woking Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gorse Hill
Gorse Hill
#5 of 7 in Woking
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Woking West (A324) Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woking Hotel

Property: Woking Hotel
Address: Chertsey Road, Woking GU21 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Woking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Woking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woking Hotel is a friendly budget hotel, located in the center of the Woking town center and is 5 minutes from Woking train station. We offer free WiFi, Sky Tv, Condiments in each room including kettle and we also provide a continental breakfast which can be brought additional to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woking Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing