We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Welcoming and Great Value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woking Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Woking
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Welcoming and Great Value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Woking Hotel was a pleasant surprise! When booking a hotel in the city center you would imagine it wouldn't be very nice and that you wouldn't get the best nights sleep, but i couldn't hear a thing from outside even though we were on the first floor, which is not what i expected with the amount of bars and clubs around. Staff were extremely friendly and the room was warm and welcoming. They offered free soft drinks downstairs in the lobby and which was a nice touch. Definitely would recommend this hotel and will be using it again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhav_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    23
    12
    26
See reviews for
6
15
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel is in the travel lodge category if not worse. I was booked to stay here by my work after the holiday inn across the road was full and boy what a come down.
There are no facilities in the hotel so you have to go out and eat in the evenings, which depending when you want to eat could be ok but for me I struggled to get seated in most places as the town is always lively. A continental breakfast could be ordered and it was delivered to you at the time you specify in the morning, but both mornings mine had stuff missing.
You are close to the train station but there are no parking facilities for the hotel. you can either park for 1hr maximum in the street or as long as you want after 6pm IF you can get a space. The alternative is a costly multi-story a couple of streets away.
Although most hotels are no-smoking now, my room had an astray in it and the corridor stank everyday of smoke. The door to the room was so bad-fitting that the light from the corridor could be seen right round it at night and this let the smoke smell in too.
My work had booked me a large double room and the carpet was stained with who-knows-what but it was nothing compared to the carpet on the stairs. The stairs were the quicker option as the lift is slow but it looks as though it hasn't been cleaned since the hotel was built, see photos.
Despite warnings of "very hot water" the shower never got above tepid so it had to be a bath if you wanted the hot water. Even at the rear of the hotel I cold hear the noise from the high street as the young boy racers came out with their big exhausts.

All in all, I wouldn't stay here again if they paid me

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to get away from any noise. I would also ask for one not next to the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woking hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

In summary, the most horrible hotel I have ever been.
First the taxi driver couldn't find the way to the hotel, so we were 30 minutes lost due to wrong address from the hotel web page.
When finally arrive at hotel late at night and went to my room I discovered a broken bed, impossible to anybody sleep there. When I called the recepcionist he told me that they were full booked and he didn't give other solution that wait for next day, so f.. you and sleep there.
Of course the rest of the room was not better, poor cleaning and low pressure in the shower.
I don't recommend this hotel neither to my badest enemy.
See pictures of the bed attached.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armandodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is situated in the centre of Woking opposite close to all the pubs and restaurants. It is a little run down and not the cleanest hotel around but ok for the money. I have used the hotel a couple of times now, so it can't be too bad.......

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

stayed here as had night out in woking.. woking is not the nicest of place's.. Hotel is right in the middle of the main drag.. next to a club, opposite a club etc.. I feared the worse.. It was booked as it was cheapest and only real one thats walking distance from station.
small entrance, polite receptionist..
room. roomy, a bit tatty.. window overlooked a prefab roof etc.. It was cold so window remained shut but noise was still heard from one of the many clubs in the surrounding vicinity..
would only recommend staying here if you are having a drink.. despite a skinful, i was woken up at 4am by a shouting match in the corridor outside room. Noone from the hotel came up to stop it and it went on, at full volume for about 15 minutes..
If I had not had a drink I would have hated the stay,, but location was convenient. room was ok, it was just too noisy and too urban for me.. if that makes sense...
but saved on taxi fairs etc so was worth it for one night..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I do not expect much for this price and I am not commenting on the state of the place. I am not picky but can not stand rude staff especially as I work myself in customer service. Receptionist - James has been rude since I came to make the booking for my family until check out. On the day of departure of my family (my wedding day!) he refused to prepare breakfast for my mum although breakfast card was hung on the door an evening before by myself so I had to rush to the hotel before my wedding to make sure I take my mum somewhere else for breakfast. James was extreamely rude throughout whole stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Really cannot see anything wrong with this place - what do others feel they should get for this price? Room I had was immaculately presented, and very well thought-out. Cleaning had been done throoughly and with care, everything laid out thoughtfully and with care. Dimensions of room and en-suite were generous, and had an excellent, comfortable night's sleep. Only thing that was a little diconcerting was the shaky wc - just need not to put too much weight on it! Did not use the lift, and yes, the staircase area is shabby. Also did not have breakfast as leaving early, so cannot vouch for that. But overall, no grumbles whatever!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woking
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Woking West (A324) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gorse Hill
Gorse Hill
#5 of 7 in Woking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Cobham M25
Days Inn Cobham M25
#1 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
3.9 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woking Hotel

Property: Woking Hotel
Address: Chertsey Road, Woking GU21 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Woking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Woking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woking Hotel is a friendly budget hotel, located in the center of the Woking town center and is 5 minutes from Woking train station. We offer free WiFi, Sky Tv, Condiments in each room including kettle and we also provide a continental breakfast which can be brought additional to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woking Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing