We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, poor host”

Clevelands Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clevelands Guest House
Ranked #13 of 16 Woking B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place, poor host”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights last year, as he had a work trial in the area. The accommodation (double room) was lovely and clean - just like a hotel. However, the lady who owned the house didn't make us feel like guests at all. When we arrived, the very first thing she asked was that we pay in cash. I noticed that her children's clothes were scattered on the stairs and floor. She showed us to our lovely room, in which we stayed for a few hours, during which we could hear her shouting to her family. I think later they had a family party, and we were the only guests, so we felt that rather awkward - upstairs listening in on the loud merriment. At breakfast the lady said "You won't want a cooked breakfast?" to which we protested that we actually did. It was a nice full-english, but again she didn't seem very warm. I don't know if it's because we are early twenties but we felt that she spoke to us as teenagers rather than respectfully, as adults. During our stay we felt like we were staying at someone's house where we weren't really wanted. It's a shame as it's lovely accommodation, but rather unprofessionally run. Good potential!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This B&B is in a nice quiet location with ample parking, but it was very unfriendly; not welcoming. The bedroom is spacious - but the fittings are tired and broken. The rear garden is messy. The dining room is small, dingy and windowless, and there was limited choice for a continental breakfast. We found it expensive and poor value for money.
The owners need to try harder; it could be so much better with a bit of effort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jclema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were looking for lodging for our family of 3 just outside of the City. Our requirements were for a queen size bed, an actual 2nd bed that wasn't a sofa bed, and room for our luggage. This was not easy to find. I found it in the Clevelands Guest House.

We had a room with a queen size bed, a twin bed and a sofa. There was room for 3 large suitcases plus room to walk around. The room has a single french door which overlooks the back yard. There is no air conditioning, though with the door open, as well as opening the windows in the room there was adequate ventilation, even with us staying in the midst of a record heat wave. The bedding is comfortable and the shower provided plenty of hot water. The room is very clean and we were given fresh towels during our 4 night stay. You should be aware the rooms are upstairs and one has to take their suitcases up one flight of stairs. Our bags weighed 50 pounds each, and my husband was able to lift the suitcases up the stairs as the stairway is fairly wide.

The lodging is difficult to locate at night, as the driveway requires a sharp turn off the street and there is no signage to indicate the home is a Guest House. It is about 1 1/2 miles to the train station, and depending on the train it takes 20-35 minutes to get into the City. For 3 of us the rate into the city was 25 pounds. Make sure you have coins for the train station's parking structure!

There is parking in the driveway, though it is a bit awkward. One night someone had parked along the edge of the driveway and had not pulled back far enough, taking up two potential spaces. We had to figure out where to park so that we didn't block the small parking area on the side of the house.

Unfortunately the hostess was on holiday, and while there was a sweet Slovic girl preparing and serving breakfast we didn't get much help on directions, wi-fi code, and there was no conversation, all of which we are use to when staying in a Bed and Breakfast. We only saw the host briefly. Breakfast consisted of toast and cereal on Sunday and the remaining 3 mornings we were given one sunnyside up egg, toast, cereal, and 2 slices of bacon. We were never asked about preferences or allegies. I would have like a little more variety, but the egg was expertly prepared.

I have given the lodging only 4 stars, as there is no way to give 4.5 stars. Without the hostess present I can't justify 5 stars, but the lodging certainly has this potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

me and my partner stayed her for 1 nite, we shocked at how brilliant the room was it was just like home, shower was amazing very very clean, we will be definatly staying here again. very good for the money and the owner was very nice and freindly too. Axxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woking
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
Gorse Hill
Gorse Hill
#5 of 7 in Woking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Woking West (A324) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands Guest House

Property: Clevelands Guest House
Address: Clevelands | 78 Woodham Road, Woking GU21 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clevelands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Security gated and off street parking. Large, modern and stylish rooms with a spacious garden to relax in. Bed and Breakfast in a quiet wooded pocket of Surrey and only 0.7 of a mile from Woking town centre and station with a 22 minute ride on the train to London Waterloo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clevelands Guest House Woking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing