We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD INDIAN STREET FOOD”
Review of RaysIndian Restaurant - CLOSED

RaysIndian Restaurant
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Raysindian brings the first authentic Indian street food bazaar experience to woking. Our food captures the vibe and tastes that you would Experience in traditional Indian street markets, We have taken influences from the famous Chowpatty beach in Mumbai, chandni chowk in dehli and miramar beach in goa. We serve you food which you would find on your travels to India and the sub continent and have recreated the authentic flavours of Indian street food right at your doorstep. All of our dishes are founded from different regions of India each have a story to tell. Dishes from Assam, Delhi, Mumbai,Kashmir, Simla and even Burma. The cuisine at our award winning restaurant is nouvelle and international with a sprinkling of modern flavours . All our dishes are hand crafted using the freshest & finest ingredients blended together to create unique flavours and tastes with a twist. You will find sizzling plates of tasty food with delicious aromas swifting through the air as you do in downtown Mumbai. We take great pride in serving you authentic Indian cuisine which is traditional & Contemporary In a setting which is magically sublime, sensuous and calming. We promise you a kaleidoscopic Indian food experience that you have never experienced before.
BERKSHIRE UK
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“GOOD INDIAN STREET FOOD”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Four of us went to Rays Indian in Woking and had various plates from prawn lamb and chicken all superbly cooked and presented. The service was efficient and friendly, and knowledgeable about all the food. We went with taste card so it was really good value for money, but even without would still be a reasonable price,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MICKFBERKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    41
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Indian food at its best”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place.we want to take it to Exeter.Food,service, everything was excellent.The choice was excellent and style of food was fab.Indian food at its best

Helpful?
2 Thank franannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raysindian, Public Relations Manager at RaysIndian Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Reviews such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our food so much. we look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've eaten here on several occasions, and always enjoyed my visit. The service is friendly, and the environment welcoming with the tables not too close together.

The food is freshly cooked, very high quality, and tasty. My only gripe is that the portions are under-sized and do not reflect good value for the prices charged.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sixtenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raysindian, Public Relations Manager at RaysIndian Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear customer ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent dining experience at Raysindian.

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. Which is why we have just won the customer excellence award 2014.

We appreciate the wonderful comments on our food and customer service and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a relaxing experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Three of us went for an evening meal to celebrate a birthday. From the minute we sat down the waitress was anxious to get us 'processed'. We were asked three times were we ready to order whilst we were making our menu choice. If you choose a curry you have to have it with rice apparently. We did ask if we could substitute a nan bread for the rice (they are exactly the same price on the menu) and the waitress reluctantly agreed 'because we aren't busy'. It seems that the chef finds it difficult to cope with making a nan instead of boiling rice, although both can be ordered from the menu separately for non curry dishes which seems a bit difficult to understand. The food arrived very quickly and it was delicious. Whilst we ate, the waitress came over several tines to see whether our poppadom bowl was empty so that she could snatch it away. At the end of the main course we barely had time to place our cutlery on our plates, literally, because one of our party was still eating whilst the other two plates were cleared away. Frankly, although the food is lovely and the decor is nice, I will not return because the overall experience was 'conveyor belt'.

Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raysindian, Public Relations Manager at RaysIndian Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We deeply regret any difficulties and inconveniences that you had on this occasion. Our staff and management are trained to the up most highest quality and always ensure the customer is happy. Our dishes come in a specific order from the kitchen and as stated in the menu most of the curry's come with rice. In order for this to be swapped a member of staff has to go to the kitchen to tell the chef and in a busy time this is not always practicable. However your party's request was adhered to on this occasion. Please rest assure that we have taken the rest of your observations into great consideration. We hope your dining experience next time will be a more pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

If you are expecting a typical Indian restaurant you will be disappointed. The food here is well presented and very tasty, not your average Indian but I've yet to find anything that doesn't please. If you've not tried it it's worth doing so, if you have then you already know so will almost certainly be back.
A great choice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Confuciousmobil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RaysIndian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing