We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable and peaceful...”
Review of Metro Hotel

Metro Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metro Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Woking
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I had read the reviews off this website and I was not looking forward to the stay (My friend booked it). When I arrived I was greeted by a nice receptionist? She showed me to my room, which was very big and appeared to be very clean! When it came to showering time, I was slightly put off, but only by a slightly mouldy drain. Apart from that it was very nice on a whole!
My advice, ignore the bad reviews! Its a nice hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazelpantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2010

I'd read previous reviews about this hotel and have to admit was a bit dubious about booking but my friend and I had decided on choosing this hotel despite the couple of poor reviews that we had read, because we were only stopping over for the night as we were seeing a show at the local theatre and the hotel was in easy walking distance to both the Woking train station and the theatre.

We found that the hotel was very easy to find and when arriving we were greeted by the receptionist who checked us in and instructed to help ourselves to the FREE soft drinks available in the lobby. Which we thought was a lovely gesture.

We a had pleasant surprise to find that our room was big and spacious, and was very clean. Although the hotel was on was situated within the town centre on a street where there were a couple of bars, we were not disturb by noise during the night and in fact both had a very comfortable nights sleep.

In all we were very happy for a change compared to hotels we've stayed in before, for the price we paid for a very comfortable and welcoming hotel. Upon leaving we did actually say if we ever need a stop-over in Woking in the future, that the Woking - Metro Hotel would be the place we'd stop at.

If I had to pick any faults, it would just be that I thought the lift was a little small and claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Okay so my girlfriend lives at home with her parents so when I come to the UK to visit we usually stay in London, but when we stayed in Woking we stayed at the Metro Hotel.
What a dump, i think the only cool thing about this place is the free coffee/soda machine in the lobby.
We have stayed at this place once before and it was said that you could not hear the night club (right downstairs) in your room. WRONG! The only thing missing in our room was smoke and cocktails and it would have been just like being there.
Anyway we were moved so that was that. The room was mad small and was not very clean looking.
Second visit we moved rooms 3 times.
The first one the window did not open and its like August so its pretty hot in the room, so we get moved.
Second room half of the lights do not work and when they came up to change them they STILL did not work, so they moved us yet again, into a room about the size of my bathroom back home, and where it was located in the hotel made opening the window for some fresh air hard to get.
So its hot as hayl in this room but i don't think they have AC in any of the rooms so it was just small, hot and miserable. I complained about it to the manager and she didn't even say sorry or offer a discount or a voucher for if i return to get a discount, NOTHING!
Spend the extra few pounds and stay someplace else. Beats having to deal with all of the shady people walking around in the hallways at all hours. Wireless internet was not working either.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davnmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The hotel had no working internet, we were advised there was.
There is no fridge in the room or even a glass.
It is hot, but my window opens on to a roof top where there are used syringes so it is not safe to have the window open.
Youths are sprawled out the front on the footpath getting breathalysed & arrested.
I have 1 coat hanger. There is dirt on some of the bed covers. I could go on.
The hotel is dirt cheap & you get what you pay for. It is not a suitable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank unhappy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Some of the recent reviews of this place seemed positive, so I decided to take a chance. What a mistake! The room had not been properly cleaned, and when we complained, we were given a smaller room. No discount was offered. Then we decided to go out for dinner: the staff refused to provide directions to a couple of local restaurants that friends had recommended. When we came in late, the hostility by the night porter (whom we woke up!) was scary. Avoid!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I wasn't sure I was in the right place to start with. A big sign above the hotel says Metro Hotel, but the sign over the door and behind the reception says Woking Hotel. Turns out the hotel operates under 2 different names.

The reception area was clean and tidy, but step foot into the lift and things go down hill rapidly.

Arriving at my room my initial reaction was fantastic the room is huge. But then I started to notice all the things wrong with it.

Firstly the carpet was shabby and dirty. Several tiles in the bathroom appeared to have been burnt with cigarettes. The toilet itself didn't appear to have been cleaned, and there was toilet paper on the floor. The main sink had no handle on the cold tap making it unusable to most people. Fortunately I had a set of pliers with me, so I was able to operate the tap with them. One of the towels had blood stains on it. Both the fan and the kettle were 6 months past their electrical safety test.

Then when it was time to sleep it became apparent I wasn't going to get much. The room was lit up green thanks to an illuminated emergency exit sign over the door. The mattress was 10 years past it's use by date with every coil spring poking up into my back. And there was the constant thud thud thud from a nearby night club.

Finally, parents should be wary that the TV offers free porn channels. One of which was on an adjacent channel to CBeebies. You may not want to leave your kids alone with the remote.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Shabby, unclean, lift broken, carpet disgustingly dirty, bathtube front badly broken, remote non working fine 69 POUND! Are we crazy???
No good! Rip off!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StockTraderReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woking hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Woking Central
0.1 mi away
Woking Hotel
Woking Hotel
#7 of 7 in Woking
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Talbot Inn
The Talbot Inn
#2 of 3 in Ripley
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Woking West (A324) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 1 Crown Square, Chertsey Road, Woking GU21 6HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Woking
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Woking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing