We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gorse Hill
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worplesdon Place(Worplesdon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Metro Hotel(Woking)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Woking Hotel(Woking)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
149
135
133
59
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
135
133
59
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houselovely groundsbar menuwedding venuewedding receptiongood sizebeautiful buildingsunday nightweekend breakbuffet stylewedding breakfasttea and coffeecooked breakfastmarshasurrey
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We booked this hotel at very short notice on a special deal. The hotel itself was excellent, very comfortable, very quite and peaceful, our room was superb, even more so because of the special deal, and the staff could not have been mre helpful or polite. Our room was spacious and well appointed and overlooked the woods, no noise, warm and lashings of hot water in the soacious bathroom. We were on the top floor and did not experience any boiler or heating noise. I contacted the hotel beforhand about this noise issue as reported here, and was told that in fact that particular issue with some of the rooms had now been resolved. The hotel is easy to find off the main Guildford to Woking road, yet is very quietly situated away from any traffic noise. To be highly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the woods.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Teresa 985,

Thank you for your lovely feedback, the team and I work hard to ensure our guests are happy, so its great to receive such nice comments. ill ensure this is shared with the team and hope that we can welcome you back again soon?
Kind regards
Ben Bridgeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Booked afternoon tea for my mother and myself. We were greeted very favourably by Tony the F & B Manager. Originally was told that we would be seated in the bar, however I asked whether we could sit in the lounge,as it is more comfy. Was told that a meeting was going on, but that it wouldn't be a problem. Within a couple of minutes we were ushered to sit right by the roaring fire - it was lovely and warm and had a real christmassy feel, Christmas music playing in the background. Crisp white linen tablecloth, lovely white china and some Christmas novelties. Beautifully cut sandwiches, fruit cake, chocolate cake and lemon tart. Mince pies, lovely hot tea and coffee and a very welcome mulled wine with cinnamon. A really lovely afternoon tea in perfect surroundings with the roaring open fire - and all for a very reasonable price of £15 per head. Staff very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear KB 1961,

Thank you for your great review, I am glad you enjoyed your festive afternoon tea, its was certainly a hit and we continue to offer this all year round! i hope we can welcome you back again soon?
Kind regards
Ben Bridgeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Attended a family wedding at this hotel and over-all it was a good location for a civil wedding but the rooms were not of a very good standard and could have been cleaner.The waste bin in our room had not been emptied from previous guests and to boil the kettle you had to scrabble on hands and knees to plug it in behind a desk.The carpets on the staircase in the lodge were disgusting and need re-placing and the cold water in the bathroom never did run cold!

Room Tip: A room in the annex or lodge is preferable because of noise if there is a party in the main building.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneL682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Jane L682,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased you enjoyed your family wedding and hope we can welcome you back again soon?
Kind regards
Ben Bridgeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Just booked here online deal last minute for an overnight business trip. I wasn't expecting anything special. It was a pleasant surprise, the room was on the top floor, very quiet, the bed was really comfortable the decor neutral and clean even the shower was great! I didn't drink in the bar or eat in the restaurant. Modern and comfortable hotel punching above its weight! Pity staff didn't ask me about my stay when I checked out, I was ready with a few compliments! Recommend for the single traveller and would not hesitate to stay again. Thanks

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Graham 711,

Thanks for passing on your feedback, maybe next time you will get time to try the bar or restaurant?
Kind regards
Ben Bridgeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here as an overnight stop on the way to the south coast from the North.This hotel was chosen for good parking and a very good promotional price.The staff here all deserve praise, they were friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom large smart and modern. Obviously there had been some thought put into the allocation of rooms, there were xmas parties on but we were in a small corridor of 3 rooms away from all revellers.This allowed us a quite, undisturbed night. Dinner was lovely and the menu choices though limited were good and varied. Breakfast was also of a high standard and reasonably priced by current hotel standards. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 840Bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear 840 Bertie,

Thanks for your great feedback, i will indeed share this with the team and I hope that we can welcome you back again when you are travelling South?
Kind regards
Ben Bridgeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews